1908 Great Britain Gold Half Sovereign Edward VII

in Silver Gold Stackers3 years ago (edited)

Hello Hivers and #silvergoldstackers.


I picked up another coin! This time it's a sovereign.





Benedetto Pistrucci created the reverse of this coin in 1817. It features St. George riding on horseback slaying the dragon.





On the obverse of the coin is the portrait of King Edward VII facing right. The translation of the legend is: Edward the Seventh by the Grace of God King of all the Britain's Defender of the Faith Emperor of India. This side pf the coin is engraved by George William de Saulles




The Great Britain Gold Sovereign is one of the most significant gold coins ever struck due to its longevity of production and its global recognition. First issued in 1489 during the reign of King Henry VII, the gold sovereign has been struck regularly by the Kings and Queens of England since 1817.

Fractional gold beauties!

😍#ilikeitalot!😍

This year, I have shown you these gold pieces:


Source: Apmex, JM Bullion, Numista



Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos and precious metals share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos and precious metals.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!


Join the Ladies of Hive Community and the Ladies of Hive in discord.

Would you like to support The Ladies of Hive Community?

Consider giving a delegation!

25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 150 HP - 200 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP - 5000 HP



Sort:  

And we're not talking just Cabernet Sauvignon of any vintage.
Another fabulously awesome acquisition of what I call vintage real money.

Always, with sisterly Love 🤗 🌺 💖

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is like the US Constitutional coins and US silver dollars.. real money, sis!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!

The British Gold Sovereign was standard issue to paratroopers back during the war. That way, if they needed money to get supplies or help or whatever, they had a coin that was recognized around the world and accepted. A very cool gold coin! Thanks for sharing!

It's a cool coin alright!
I wonder if American coins were a standard-issue too for our soldiers? I know they were given money.

Hugs and Kisses sis 🥰🌺🤙!!

No, they gave our soldiers the British Sovereign because of it's international recognition as a currency.😎👍😘

They went to Europe... it made sense to give them British Sovereign, LOL!

A Sov is always an awesome addition! Nice pickup Saver!! Have a great Sunday!

Yes, indeed! A classic!
Thank you for your leaving a comment👍😀😘, @fat-elvis!

Ms. Saver !LUV for possibly Your Highest Paying Post Ever ? @silversaver888

I wish it was like so every day, @stokjockey!

You Know Ms. Saver that SteemMonsters is Like Christmas for Me Everyday Now @silversaver888

It Only Gets Better and Better !

I am liking it @stokjockey! So much worth playing👍😀😍😆😜

Honey and You thought I was just some DUMB Guy in Arizona.............. @silversaver888
Even DEC Token is Awesome !

Hahaha!!!
For the record, I don't think that of anyone, @stokjockey 😀!

LUV

Connect

Trade


@silversaver888, you've been given LUV from @stokjockey.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (3/3)

Is it called a sovereign because its about a king?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It can be a female, like Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth.

Another super cool coin you have an amazing collection

Just consistently saving, @tattoodjay.😜
I'm glad you are liking it!👍😀😍

That’s a great way to be 👍

👍😀😆😍

how are you dear friend @silversaver888 good night
admirable in the beautiful things that you invest your money, I appreciate very much that you teach us this beauty. Congratulations

The coin is beautiful.. and real money too!

Thanks @jlufer👍😀😘😍

You're Gold saver,
the gal with the Midas touch,
she knows so much....
(paraphrase form the theme song of 007 Goldfinger movie)

PD

Hehehe, you can sing me a song anytime PD, @punkysdad😜-
Especially if it motivates me to save and keep on saving 👍😀!!!

I love it @silversaver888 ... One of my all time favorite Gold coins!!!
Did you know U.S fighter pilots had these sewn into their flight jackets, on the off chance they were shot down so they would have money to barter with!😀

I love it too.
I didn't know that detail.
Thanks for telling me @silvertop 😀

I also read that during the War, old French men carried their wealth in Sovereign's hidden inside hollow walking cane's! Did I say I love Sovereign's @silversaver888 !😇🤗

That makes sense!
I love it too!!!

The sovereign is really an iconic gold coin. As far as I know it is still legal tender in the UK. For geopolitical reasons at the time, Britain was not in the Latin Monetary Union. This is reflected in the fact the sovereign has different weight to the coins of the LMU. The study of coins is fascinating, they are "pieces of history".

Thank you for sharing part of your collection.
Do you always keep your coins in capsules ? I know this is a common practice in the USA.

Sovereign coins are iconic, and soo are US gold coins!
I use capsules to protect them from the elements because most of the coins I get are brilliant uncirculated.
Thanks for checking this out @nenio!

Certainly, uncirculated coins has to be stored with capsules.

I'm glad you agree!
Actually, if they are not in a tube, I put them in capsules or flips.

It's really quite crazy how many coins there are out there and how many you have hehe
Till ~~steem~ HIVE, I didn't even know it was a thing 🤦‍♀
But it is always fun to see what's out there and the story behind it

I was clueless too a while back! Until I came across a stacker on Youtube. A life changer for sure!!!
Now I save on gold and silver, @kaerpediem!

Interesting

Hahaha... interesting alright!
Thanks for checking this out, @iasmi!

Thanks for showing the real money, @silversaver888. The War to End All Wars was approaching, (WWI), a 1908 Great Britain, Gold Half Sovereign holder, was about to see a lot of change, in the world.

Yea, real money @cve3!

Congratulations @silversaver888! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @silversaver888! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank you, @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @silversaver888, that's a real pleasure 😊👍 We hope you had a happy buzzy week and a nice weekend! See you soon 😄

Yes, I'll see you soon, okay 😆!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 67 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Congratulations @silversaver888! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.