1987 Pope John Paul II silver round

I remember the visit of then Pope John Paul II, now St. John Paul II, to California! I was 10 years old.


I still have the umbrella that has Totus Tuus. It is a Latin greeting written in Latin, meaning "all yours". In recent history Totus tuus was used by Pope John Paul II as his personal motto to express his personal consecration to Mary.


Depicted on this round is Mission San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo.

Mission San Carlos Borroméo de Carmelo, popularly known as Mission Carmel, is the second mission in California's series. It was named after Saint Charles Borromeo, a 16th-century archbishop of Milan, when it was founded on June 3, 1770.


This 36 year old round is 1 ozt, .999 fine silver souvenir of St. John Paul II visit to California.

I love him most of all, maybe because he was head of the Catholic Church and sovereign of the Vatican City State from 1978 until his death in 2005. He was later canonized as Pope Saint John Paul II.

John Paul II will undoubtedly go down in history as one of the greatest popes in the 2,000 year history of the Catholic Church. His ministry walked a narrow path between sterile traditionalism and facile accommodation to modernism in the pejorative sense. Neither conservative (opposition to death penalty, speaking truth to powerful dictatorships of the left and right, sophisticated critiques of unbridled capitalism) nor liberal (opposition to women priests and married priests, affirming the dignity of homosexual persons without blessing sodomy, eloquent spokesman for the rights of the unborn and the cognitively disabled), he challenged both extreme tendencies in the Church while reaching out to Jews, Muslims, Buddhists, and secular humanists. In an age that saw the collapse of totalitarianism in its Communist form, he accelerated the process by defending the rights of the workers to nonviolently challenge the "workers' paradise", but then refused to become an apologist for heartless capitalism. Of course, he will not be the last great pope, but he will indeed be a hard act to follow. -- Tom Haessler


😍#ilikeitalot!😍

All photos were taken by me with my iPhone.

Gold and Silver Stacking is not for everyone.
Do your own research!

If you want to learn more, we are here at the Silver Gold Stackers Community. Come join us!


Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos, precious metals, and money share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos, precious metals, and money.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!



I post an article daily. I feature precious metals every other day, and on other days I post articles of general interest. Follow me on my journey to save in silver and gold.

@silversaver888

.

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/silversaver888/re-leothreads-2pydrrfrx
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( silversaver888 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

That's a really nice round, and you tell it has a little age to it. Very cool!

Yes, it is! I have a few rounds of him. A real treasure!

It's good to have these silver coins ;) I'm pretty sure you will get beneficial in the coming future.

They are mementos, for sure!
!invest_vote

@silversaver888 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@silversaver888 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I believe JP II visited Vancouver to open the 1986 Expo, there was a big turn out for that opening.

Always, with love 🤗🌺❤️

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@stokjockey, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kerrislravenhill and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Did you get to see him? You must be young too, hehehe!
Wait! Then you have souvenirs silver too!!! I check Ebay!!
xoxo 🤗
!LADY😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kerrislravenhill and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

On TV, I think, or maybe video tape. I bet there is a 1986 JP Commemorative coin.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kerrislravenhill, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @silversaver888 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You received an upvote of 99% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Nice memory

I remember seeing lots and lots of people. We went to most places he visited in California... busloads of people!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 158 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

Thans for the rehive!

Pope John Paul Il was one of our greatest and most loved Popes @silversaver888!😊
Too bad we weren’t anywhere near where he visited, I’m sure it was very memorable for you!😊

John Paul II will undoubtedly go down in history as one of the greatest popes in the 2,000 year history of the Catholic Church. It was memorable, @silvertop !
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@silversaver888 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @silvertop.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I am glad you have the opportunity to catch his visit to the United States @silversaver888!🤗

Once in a life time, @silvertop! 🤗

Ms. Saver @silversaver888
Thank You I got my Hive Silver Rounds in the mail today......... Just Awesome and Thank You Again Young Lady !
I Know you probably Saw This One and Yes I know You will order it from APMEX since it is the Second Round of the Series, King Charles is on this Piece too.......
image.png

image.png

!LUV

Ms. Saver I am Grateful that You Really !LUV These Rounds of Pope John Paul, Sweet Memories for You as a Child I am Sure.
Forgive me for Asking but did You want to Add a Reverse Photo for the Second Silver Round in this Post ?
I Just enjoy our California, Arizona Connection ..............

!LOL
Silly me......

Oh, I forgot to include it!!! That is why I showed two to start!
Well, I am distracted again. When did I post this?
I'll do another one in the future.
!LOL

Seagulls were God's third attempt at creating birds.
The A-gull and B-gull weren't quite right.

Credit: reddit
@stokjockey, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @silversaver888

(4/8)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

It's OK Honey we Can all be distracted when lots of Things are happening............ @silversaver888
Just Keep Positive and moving Ahead, You inspire many People with your Dedication.

!LUV

Why did the farmer dress his pig in an apron?
Pretty soon he would be bacon.

Credit: reddit
@silversaver888, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @stokjockey

(2/6)
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!

A lovely silver round and a Pope who will always be remembered! Thanks for sharing sis! Much love to you!🤗😘💕🌸 !LADY

Ahhh... as one of the greatest popes in the 2,000 year history of the Catholic Church and my favorite!

I have several memories of his visits!
xoxo 🤗
!LADY😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @elizabethbit and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (6/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

That must have been awesome!😘🤗🌸💕

View or trade LOH tokens.


@elizabethbit, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @silversaver888 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/19 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Lmao, he looks so sketchy here

I'd love to see a round of his visit there!
Did he visit Greece?

Very nice round and some great memories to go along with it

For sure!!! Pope John Paul Il was one of our greatest and most loved Popes !

Great holy man 👌🏻from my country 💪🏻

You are a lucky people, @peter.goki .
God bless the Polish people!!!
!LUV

That is such a beautiful silver round, made even more so by your personal experience. If you ever decide to part with it, I can trade you a faux-silver round of Princess Diana and Prince (now King) Charles that I got when they visited a mall in Northern Virginia back in the 80's ;)

Hahaha! These are precious rounds, and I don't think I'll part with it! But we can think of other trades for Princes D and Prince Charles, okay! How about a US Constitutional Coin, @kunschj ?

Thanks for that generous offer, but the Princess Diana coin means too much to me. I keep it with my Princess Diana Beanie Baby :)

Great round with some nice history behind it.

Very popular Pope, it was with interest when we traveled and walked the Vatican City in September 1978 little did we know John Paul I, newly elected would only lead for 33 days, the very next month John Paul II would be elected.

With newly elected Pope at the time many stalls on the outskirts of the city sold memoirs in abundance of which there were coins if I remember correctly.

John Paul II a very fair man in his outlook in life, nice part to a collection with so much history to enjoy should anyone read his story.

!LUV

All these coins looks so beautiful. You are to have this type of unique coins. Those who have accumulated silver will earn very good profits in the coming period.

It is really cool to have these rounds and the memories to go with them.