2020 Silver Phoenix of South Korea for #WorldCoinWednesday

Continuing on with the 2020 World Mint Coins, I am happy to show you a beautifully designed first year-issue silver medal.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

The phoenix is a mythical bird from Ancient Greek folklore that is believed to have the power to cyclically regenerate over the course of time. The bird ages from a hatchling to old age and famously bursts into flame before regenerating again as a younger bird. Known as the Bong Hwang in Korea, the phoenix has a deep history in Korean culture and is part of national symbolism for the modern Republic of Korea.

2020 South Korea 1 oz Silver Phoenix BU

1st year issue release of the South Korean Silver Phoenix minted by KOMSCO, the official mint of South Korea.

31.1035 g, 1 oz .999 fine Silver, 40 mm

The use of the phoenix in Korean culture dates back to the 14th century and has long been used in other Asian cultures as a symbol of the emperor reigning as a monarch. The phoenix is considered a noble creature. Since 1967, the government of the Republic of Korea has used the phoenix in a motif to represent the office of the President of South Korea.

The obverse side of 2020 1 oz South Korean Silver Phoenix Medals includes an artistic depiction of the phoenix in its full glory. The bird is in flight in the air with its talons reaching down, its long tail feathers flowing down underneath its frame and its wings spread out wide. The 2020 date of issue and name of the new series Korean Phoenix.


Also visible on this side of the coin is a new security image that KOMSCO has produced in a different manner. Rather than creating the security feature on the medal after striking using resins or other visual effects, this rigid, lined feature is struck into the coin. As you adjust the angle of viewing, the Korean language terms for Bong and Hwang appear.


The reverse face of the 2020 South Korean Silver Phoenix features two phoenixes facing in toward one another with the Taeguk found on the flag of South Korea in the center. The emblem motif is based on the presidential seal for South Korea. It includes the nation of issue- Republic of Korea, weight of 1 oz, metal content and purity of .999 fine silver.


Numista

😍 #ilikeitalot!😍


Acquiring the current year release of bullion silver (and fractional gold) coins from the different world mints is a fun way to save in precious metals.

These are the 2020 world mint coins I have shown in my blog:

Sort:  

Hmmm, cool. If it's anywhere close to the quality of the tiger, I'll have to get one and see it first hand in person to really appreciate it so until then we'll have to wait.
Always with Love 🌺 💝 🌹 💓 🌸 🌼

This one has a smooth edge, not needed. The quality of work is the same as the Zin Sin series, but I think that the obverse shows more detail on better struck than the images in the pieces fn the Zin Sin series. Waiting is always good. That has always been the case for us unless it is a coin that we know may be out of stock due to demand, such as in the case of the Black Flag and the Swan that peeps try to acquire as soon as it is released, especially if the early release price is reasonable.
You must be excited about your upcoming vacation! I am thrilled for you. Have a fabulous week, my lovely sis @kerrislravenhill 🥰🌺🤙, lots of love💓💝 and a million and one Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!
!tip

I must go to Canada to have this beauty! As soon as possible...

Posted Using LeoFinance

Hehehe... I say something similar when I see you commemorative coins: "I must go get that one... as soon as possible!".
Have a great evening, my friend @ronavel, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

That is one fabulous piece of silver! I love the detail of the Phoenix and the security feature is cool as well. Thanks for sharing this @silversaver888! Take care my sweet sis and have a lovely night!🤗❤️🌸

I love the obverse with the Phoenix in the air looking like flames.. very much like the mythical stories! I like the fact that the security feature on this coin that does not require the use of another tool to check authenticity. I certainly look forward to the next coin in the series for 2021.
Have a lovely day, my sweet sis, @elizabethbit. Take care 🥰🌺🤙, lots of hugs and love 🤗💕.
!tip

🤗🤗😘🤗🤗🌸

🎁 Hi @elizabethbit! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: A Feel Good Challenge: #Alphabethunt Letter J Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

So beautiful @silversaver888, I love this!!😀 I do not have any South Korea Silver, and this is the first I have had a look at their silver! On the Obverse the new security image that KOMSCO had stamped/minted into the coin is much nicer than a uv light reactive coating. The Silver Phoenix really got my attention, thanks for sharing with us, a very nice coin!!
Have a nice night my friend!!😍😍😀

The phoenix mythical stories are incredible, about it being reborn from the ashes of its ancestors and goes up in flames, with the color so vibrant and firely red orange like the sun... and that is why I appreciate the design of the obverse with the phoenix looking like flames. The reverse is just like any other government bullion which shows symbols iconic of the country... we have the eagle and shield, this one has the phoenix and the Taeguk.
Have a great Thursday, and OMG... it is the weekend! The days are too short! Take care, my friend @silvertop 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

The weekend..... That was certainly quick, and I have so much to do LOL!😳
What a powerful mythical story the phoenix is, how fitting to have this as their symbol on their coin! I don't know how I missed this coin on my radar, maybe the LCS just didn't carry them. I will start doing some research on their coins now that yours has caught my eye!
Take care my @silversaver888, thanks for sharing this new coin with us all!!😍😍😀

The Phoenix is one of my favorite mythical birds, always has been since I was a kid. I guess the idea of being reborn from fire fascinated me. lol

This is a cool looking silver round I like the obverse phoenix much more then the two on the reverse.

Phoenix to you is like Dragon to me, LOL! It is fascinating, really. And that is why I like the obverse design... doesn't the phoenix look like flames?
Have a wonderful evening, my friend @maddogmike, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Nice pick up personally i don’t Ike the design

I like the obverse design which speaks to the mythical stories about the Phoenix. The reverse is just like any other government bullion coin.. symbols of the country, but so cool that it is also a Phoenix!
Have a wonderful day, bestie, and take care 🥰🌺🤙 Thanks for stopping by.
!tip

I have one coin from this mint, they have really nice coins

You mean one design but two coins, LOL! You always have 2 of each! As for myself, I really just get one government mint bullion coin per year from different countries. It keeps stacking boredom at bay.
Enjoy the rest of the week, my friend @djohan, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Hi @silversaver888 good to see your still collecting these wonderful silver coins you always come up with the most amazing designer coins.

Hope your doing well my friend i see America is still out of control with this covid-19 you take care and stay safe ❤️