Lane Creek, Oregon to Spokane, Washington

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

Family in the Time of Covid

What can I say about Lane Creek Campground? This is the 3rd time I've used it, and I seem to like it better each time. Well, except for having the creeping crud that is covid. That wasn't the best part.

A Lane Creek New.jpg

I had spent 2 nights right here. On the third morning I felt a lot better and headed out to find a Covid Test to confirm what I already knew.

Lane Creek to Spokane.png

I tried to get gasoline in Ukiah, Oregon. There is one credit card only gas pump in Ukiah and it was broken. I figured I could make it to Pilot Rock, OR with ease. I made it, but I cut it pretty thin. I ran out of gas as I pulled up to the pump block in Pilot Rock. Been a minute since I ran completely out of gas...

I did find a test in Pilot Rock. Not one for sale, I masked up and the gas station lady told me to check at the grocery across the street. They didn't have one for sale but the guy that owned the store had one in his pickup AND HE GAVE IT TO ME. An act of human kindness in the extreme.

So I pulled into the dead end street and took the test while sitting on my trailer. It took about 2 minutes to get two bars, I had it for sure.

My plan was to go back to Lane Creek and stay another day or two until I didn't test positive. I texted my brother in Kennewick WA, my next scheduled stop. He called before I'd even stood up and told me to come to his place.

A Kennewick Deck 2.jpg

Turns out he and Joan had both had it less than a month before, and also that their house had closed since I'd had cell coverage. I wasn't allowed to stay until the contract was signed. So that's where I went. Pretty nice view of the Columbia, you think?

A Kennewick Deck.jpg

I'm going to miss that house. I've stayed there at least 10 times and they had a room they sort of considered mine. Direct access to a bathroom and the kitchen so I could get up at my normal 0400 and not bother them at all. That deck was a great place to drink coffee and watch the world go by.

I can't express how grateful I am to Randy for having me come stay there. As it turns out, I tested positive for better than a week, though I was convinced I wasn't contagious and spent a bit of that week at my sister Robin's place in Spokane. With complete disclosure, of course. We spent 4 days cooking (she's really good with a wood pellet grill) and just visiting.

Randy is the brother I was raised with. Robin is one of the three I 'found' in 2020-my birth family. After 4 nights with Robin I went to sister Julie's place for another 4 night stay.

A Rabbit.jpg
Julie's far back yard

My birth family are old car freaks and gardeners-among other things. My BIL Hal spent the whole time I was there trying to catch this little rabbit. Reminded me some of Elmer Fudd and Bugs.

Hal and Julie are also way into yard art. It's a seriously peaceful place to hang out. Even with 2 long haired Dachshunds to carry on with.

A Bird House.jpg

Here is a bird house Hal made-it's on the way back fence, their property continues to the trees, but they have the excess leased to their neighbor. Works out great for both of them.

A Pelican.jpg

I spent a full week with my brother Larry. The Pelican was made by a fairly famous sculptor neighbor who Larry did some work for in trade. Said it was the only way he could get the bird :) This is their 'private' back yard, a just wonderful space.

A Larry Yard.jpg

This is the more public part of their yard, where they host friends and family on a regular basis. Larry's garden is straight through the structure, Kristy's is frame right. They get along better after 45 years if they have their own garden spaces. :)

I was sad when I left Larry's. Not just for the obvious reasons, but from there on I was on the way home.

I know this has gotten long, and not too outdoorsy, but bear with me for one more picture.

A Chainsaw.jpg

What? Miranda (Larry's oldest daughter) had decided she wanted to get a chainsaw for her husband for their anniversary. She recruited Hal (BIL) and Larry and I to price saws all over north Spokane. Through it all Larry decided he needed a new saw so gave his son-in-law his bigger, heavier saw. The first day he had it we took it out and he knocked down 12 trees as part of a yard expansion project. No big deal you say?

He also saved his daughter from buying her husband an appliance for their anniversary. She had to go find something a bit more romantic than a chain saw.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse.

Sort:  

Haha, that is pretty funny about the saw. I don't think guys mind getting "appliances" as much as women do :) That was a beautiful view! Yeah, when I was testing students here they say 15 minutes, but usually if it is going to turn, it does it right away. I mean you pretty much know within a minute or two.

That was my first home test-I waited at least 20 minutes hoping that the second line would go away :)

Well, Miranda (my niece) had originally asked my BIL and I to check prices as we were on our way to get supplies for a small building project. By the time I got to my brother's place it had become a THING. Larry (my brother) really wanted a lighter saw and I think the trade was way more about that than saving his #1 daughter from herself.

He bought the saw and 15 minutes later we were at the edge of his yard where he's adding fire protection and a bit of landscaping. Half an hour later he had 12 trees down ranging from 6 to 16 inches diameter and up to 40 feet tall. He left one marked tree for his son in law (the landscape guy, not the saw guy) because he has a bucket and he wasn't sure he could control the fall adequately. I can't believe how quick a new saw and an experienced operator could be... The landscape SIL is the one that did the lawn and pavilion in the photo.

Very nice. Makes a lot of sense to wait. I have heard that bringing a tree down is the single most dangerous thing you can do on your property. I saw it on one of those homesteading shows I think!

I've taken a few down, basically when I lived way out in the country and had lots of room. I've hired an arborist for any work I've had done in town :)

I should tell the rest of the story, I suppose. Larry went in right after he dropped the trees and built enough of a road for the landscaper to get his equipment where he needed it. Used nothing but a loader because all his equipment is out on site. I could have done what he did with a dozer and loader and a few hours. He was only about an hour at the job. Amazing.

On one hand, you didn't get to camp for the planned days, but it ended up being a chance to spend time with your family. So a nice twist in my opinion. And as far as I can see, fortunately, you didn't have any severe symptoms.
Oh, and I liked the Pelican sculpture :)

It turned out just absolutely great. I got to spend serious time with all 4 siblings, and it was really pleasant for me. After I got over my guilt for exposing Randy and Joan to Covid. Randy is newly retired so we got to spend several hours together every day. Robin is rehabing a full knee replacement, Julie and Hal are fully (sort of) retired and Larry and Kristy are rumored to be retired-they aren't :) But it was a wonderous, fortunate time.

The Pelican is a few years old, the sculptor has died and it's now way more valuable...

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you for your support. I appreciate it!

Glad you're feeling better Tom! Sucks when you're traveling and get under the weather like that. You took us all over the place with this one hahah it was nice. The visiting of family must be nice, even if it's been most of your life you didn't know 'em!

Sorry for not getting back to your comment! I appreciate the support from you and I'm sure your nephew I think it is, will learn the ropes around here when the time comes!

My original plan was to leave Spokane and ride the 'going to the sun' highway through Glacier National Park then I had several places I wanted to see in Idaho on the way home. As you will see, that plan didn't make the final cut :) Next year!

I can't believe how close I've become with my birth family. We genuinely like each other and enjoy spending time. It is truly a miracle.

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I believe you must have been a bit nervous spending the night there at first right

I was so conflicted. I offered to wear a mask full time and Randy said he figured they were immune due to having recently had it. I have to admit it was a LOT nicer recovering at their place than in an unused campground...