Colt Bought, Important or not?

in Outdoors and more3 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I saw an unfortunate headline about the American weapon company Colt being sold.

233D905207954FFD9F6FB1D38577846E.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

American Reduction

So I was browsing some news earlier and this one caught my eye. I'm not a dedicated fan of any particular manufacturer of firearms because I'm a noob at it myself and don't have a preference as of yet but it's challenging when you see that an old American brand, Colt, get's sold to a foreign competitor.

source

One of the things that seems to be a trend is the race to the bottom in many regards. Once a household name, Colt is just one of the recent examples of how we can't keep this process up of selling off American companies and have a decent future prospect for jobs and the like. I'm sure there are lots with far more knowledge than I in the matter but it's sad when I see companies going through this process. Are there reasons outside of what's on the surface? Absolutely. Some weapons companies are doing pretty well so clearly there was something wrong with the product that Colt is selling but these mergers and acquisitions are usually not a good sign for the future of a robust market full of companies looking to get you to buy their products. It could also be that Colt got a lot of fame due to the American western movies and TV shows and wasn't a good product to begin with but I am trying to remember if my dads AR-15 is a Colt. I think it is but I will have to ask him when I talk to him this week. Whichever manufacturer it is, that thing was accurate and really fun to shoot!

233D905207954FFD9F6FB1D38577846E.jpeg

I think the headline and article caught my attention because I was finally able to find a gun store locally that wasn't closed and was actually doing pretty well! I visited one 20 minutes into the Live Free or Die state (New Hampshire) and was pleased with what was going on in there. The other part that I really cherished was that I brought our son with me and he was exposed to all of it for the first time. I want to break him in slowly to the environment and have him get accustomed to being around firearms and the things that go along with that so he gets more comfortable and understands how important it is. He was looking around at all of the different guns and recognized the difference between some like handguns, shotguns and rifles. He was interested in the bullets as well since there were many different sized ones. He also was able to point out things like holsters, knives, machete's and some of the other gear in the store which surprised me a bit. He's one kid that loves survival shows and has been really enjoying a couple families on YouTube that put out shows of that nature. It's going to be a really special day when we go make our purchase and I'm able to give him a much better idea of what goes on with them!

Sadly as Galen has mentioned previously, the ammo was on the shorter side for what I was looking for. They had zero boxes of 9mm ammo which is the only caliber I currently own. I was happy to see the huge selection of guns they had in stock though and available for purchase! I will definitely be going back there for when I decide and make my purchase. The store isn't too far from us and I have been meaning to drop in there for a while now but the wife wasn't too keen on it. With our son's interests though, I will be able to bring her in there myself and not have to defend the position I think. She doesn't dislike firearms, she's just nervous and for good reason. We all have to have a healthy respect for them which is one of the reasons I want to own and use them as a family.

One of the things my dad has been saying is a lot of former military weapons are being sold in decent quantities and I should take a look at those ones. I'm not specifically sure which ones he is referring to but one of the draws for those is that often the bullets are perhaps easier to find compared to the more common ones like 9mm and other handguns are. Is there any truth to that? I'm sure you will give me some tips on that one! I am getting to a place, one step at a time, where we are going to be able to acquire another firearm or two. I haven't been diving into the depth of research I need to for which firearm I choose but just scratching the surface. The first step of getting acquainted with the gun store nearby was an important first one!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,206 PRE tokens, with a market value of $182.47. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

One of the good things about this particular purchase is that at least it was bought by another well-known and respected gun company, CZ. CZ actually has a large factory in Kansas already. While it's a shame that another long-term U.S. company is selling out, at least it's a decent one that makes quality products.

Yeah that's good to hear. I think I remember you mentioning CZ in some comment in the past but you know more than I do in that regard! Going to another good company is certainly better than going to a shitty one or to dust altogether.

The article mentioned they were building a factory I think, so it's good to see they might have two places!

I run CZ handguns, among a few others, and have always been happy with them. Whilst Colt's sell-out is lamentable I agree with you at least it didn't go to...

  • Skymen Cleaning Equipment Shenzhen Co. Ltd
  • Ningbo Yosec Industrial Co. Ltd
  • Huachenyang Technology Co. Ltd

...And the like, over in China.

Yup, in the midst of an economic war. If only people realised and the government stepped in. Free market enterprise has opened the door to this.

However, not much a government can do when private parties give up their assets for $$$

The long term effects are massive. Governments should be stopping it

The government (I mean the Australian government here) is probably far too busy cashing in themselves (let's just call it selling-out) along with the private sector to give a crap. Sad but true I think.

Selling off farms, ports and vast tracts of land to the Chinese...Point in case: The Landbridge Group, a large private company based in Rizhao city in Shandong Province in China operates Darwin Port. And...The Merredin aerodrome in Western Australia leased for 100 years to the Chinese, Southern West Australian Flying College owned by China Southern Airlines (PRC).

Just two I could mention. Enough said.

One day when no longer confidential I will shout you a !BEER and tell you more.

Id like to tell you about a recent story where a friend of a friend whose cousins with the bloke next door I know got something stopped and things are escalating. It was as I was told the first time this company had a no.

They will fight it in court and who knows what will happen but the message was sent clearly. Straya first, if straya can't then we don't.


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @melbourneswest for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I think it's smart to expose the little tacker to firearms a little, responsibly of course. It's dumb when people give kids large calibre firearms to shoot for the fun factor of it. I was talking to @eveuncovered about this very thing last week. It's stupid.

What is smart though, is you exposing the E-dog to DIY, the outdoors, firearms, reward for effort and so on...That's how it was when I was a little rugrat and I don't know where parents lost the momentum on it...90's? 2000's? Anyway, it'll open the little munchkin up to a wider variety of things so he can select what works for him as he gets older...Also, it's more experience which will only work in his advantage.

I'm not sure about the thing you mention about the ex-mil firearms...Here the ex-mil stuff is not legal for civilian ownership so it's not a thing. There...I think maybe there's something in it...Although maybe it's harder to find because the military stockpile the ammunition? I don't know.

What I do know, is that you need to select calibres that are (usually) readily available and one might find in every second household. No point picking up some obscure calibre because it's cheap or has better ballistics if the ammunition or ammunition-components are not readily accessible. Just my take on it.

On the sell-off? Happens here too...I hate it.

Keep stepping forward mate, you'll make a better decision and can pull the trigger on the right system(s). Pun intended.

On the historical side this is absolutely unprecedented and absolutely iconic loss of manufacturing intellectual property.

Where the United States is regulating guns out of existence other companies are actively involved in research development manufacturing and marketing their products.

Yeah dude it's crazy I don't like it at all. I will spend some time to look into what happened to the company and why they went under. They filed for bankruptcy in 2017 when I was reading the article, that's tough. They also got some really good contract in 2013 that saved a big piece of the company so I'm at a loss as to what happened with them. Not sure if internet searching will help but I'll try lol

Follow the money buddy that is the surest way of finding out the truth.

Hahah that's how we gotta do it, safety with the crazy people nowadays!

I know what you mean and gun safety is high on my list of priorities. You'd think for someone who handles guns so much, almost daily actually, standards could drop...But to me it's like breathing, firearms safety is like breathing to me.

Good work.

Kinda sad when they offload local businesses to foreign countries. We've lost alot of farms and businesses in Australia and it only puts the people at risk of job losses and food scarcity.

Not a good day unfortunately, I'm sorry for your loss