The High Desert of the Mojave

in Outdoors and more11 months ago

I have always loved the scenery of the high desert of the Mojave. There is something about the openness of the desert that has always attracted me and made me feel less anxious and not trapped like I do sometimes when surrounded by the concrete jungles of man. Regretfully I even feel that way in the woods sometimes. The open desert and ocean has always made me feel free.

IMG-1697.jpg

The complete silence you can experience in the middle of the desert is like no other. Then the wind can start talking to you but pray it does not scream at you for it can be unforgiving in the open desert. Being sand blasted is not an enjoyable part of the desert experience. So like any excursion, you should always be prepared and dress appropriately.
IMG-1698.jpg

They call it the high desert for a reason, so the high elevations mean the temperatures can get very cold in the wintertime, especially at night. Don’t let the term “desert” fool you at all. Even in the summer, the sudden temperature drops at night can be chilling.
IMG-1699.jpg

The morning sunrise and evening sunsets are especially beautiful. I used to enjoy grabbing a cup of coffee, if one was available, then taking in the sky and landscape. Occasionally you would catch one critter or another scurrying from its burrow or from under a rock to start its day…or you might catch one heading home from a night of hunting. Those are usually the ones you want to avoid.
IMG-1700.jpg

Since this is about nature and natural resources, I have included a bonus photo of one of my old military buddies “P” atop a rock outcrop making a deposit and giving back to nature.

HiveDivider.png

Note: All photos are mine and were taken at some time with some type of camera that I can't recall, think it was a Nikon of sorts, because it was a long time ago. I could not scan them, so retook a photo of them using my iPhone.

100% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png

Sort:  

Ahhh the Mojave. I love that place. Cindercones, dunes, and the Hole in the Wall are my favorite spots. I wish I could just travel all the time so I could go there more often. Thanks for the memories.

You are very welcome.

Beautiful pictures and I wanted to give you my first
!PIMP

Hold up , I might be missing something playa 🤣

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Thank you very much.

I've spent a lot of time in the Mojave when I lived in the Southwest. Used to go metal detecting for gold out there outside of Yuma. Very cool place but very hot in summer, winter is the time to visit! Beautiful place!
!BBH

@coinjoe! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/1)

Yes, winter is the best time to be there. It seemed like most of the time I was always there closer to late spring and early fall though, so it was always hot.

Thanks for entering the scenery contest with 75 Hive in prizes in the Outdoors and More community - follow the link for how to enter if interested.

you be a cunt.jpg

I have made my post. I checked and believe I followed all the rules. Best of luck to all entrants. Thanks for putting this on and to all who are supporting it.

It looks good mate, I'm glad you got involved and hope to see some more posts here from you over time.

Congratulations @coinjoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP