You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prepping for Food

in Outdoors and more2 years ago

This is something I've not done much of. I've done some pickling, (pickled blood eggs are awesome), but canning, no. I will though, for the cost saving and enjoyment of it as well.

I know a few who do it here and they get great results so my idea is to do some trade as well as make stuff for myself. I'm planning a big tomato crop currently, (aztec tomatoes), so will do some sauce. Last year I ate them all before I got to sauce them. 😊

Sort:  

Tomato sauce is definitely on our list this year, waiting another month or so for prime tomato season to be in peak. We did get 26 ears of corn today so shucking and canning corn is next up!

I was so pleased with my tomatoes last year and will double up on the plants this year to accommodate for sauce-making.

Also, I love sweet corn!

We were just thinking the same thing on tomatoes. We had so many last year that went to waste, we only planted a few plants this year. Now that we can make our own sauce, we will definitely be doubling up next year.

Tomato sauce means pasta and pizza...I'm all for it! 🙄