Trying to Visit an Island By Walking There - Getting Attacked By Birds

For a long time, I had wanted to visit an island named Kuradisaar in Estonian, in English I can translate it to Devil's island. It is possible to go there by foot because there is a shallow line over the sea that leads to the island. Of course, the sea level needs to be shallow enough. On that summer day in July I checked out the sea level and it was low enough for me to go there. This is located in northern Estonia, near the small town named Käsmu. I drove to the location, had a short walk to the tip of the peninsula where I could start my walk over the sea to the island. Let it be noted first away, that I failed the mission.

DSC_0167.JPG

Boulders are everywhere on the tip of the peninsula.
DSC_0168.JPG

So why did I fail the mission of going to the island? I didn't do my research enough before and It turned out that during this time period it was forbidden to go there due to the nesting period of many bird species on the island. There was a sign indicating this. Of course, there was no fence or anything and you could still go there if you really wanted to but I think it's important to leave the birds alone at this time and not bother them. You may also accidentally step on the eggs and nests that are in between rocks and reeds. There is one more aspect of why it's very hard to go on this island at this time, I'll get to it shortly.

This is the island you can see from the peninsula. You can also see that it's possible to walk there but you will still get your feet wet.
DSC_0170.JPG


DSC_0171.JPG

The far-away island named Mohni Island, this one can be visited by ferry only.
DSC_0172.JPG

The reason why it's absolutely hard going to this island even if you didn't care about the bird's welfare is that they are war birds at this time. I didn't even try to cross to Devil's island but the birds that were nearby were already trying to attack me. Doing several close calls over my head, was a hint to fuck outta here. I tried to get a couple of shots of the birds.

This seagull was the angriest with me.
DSC_0175.JPG

This is a swallow, it's an Estonian national bird. A really beautiful bird if you ask me. This one dint want to kill me but it circled me higher above a couple of times.
DSC_0177.JPG

But this goddamn seagull... Just look at the expression on that face. This bird definitely wishes me DEAD. It was definitely plotting another attack on me so I thought it was better to be gone from this area. I will be back next summer, outside the nesting period and hopefully, then, I will be able to cross the water and visit the Devil's island.
DSC_0176.JPG

Since I failed the island visit I didn't want to drive back home yet. After all, it took me over an hour to drive there so I took a walk around the town of Kunda and its seaside. It's a very peaceful small settlement. Here are a couple of shots I took there.

DSC_0178.JPG

Lemet's boulder.

DSC_0183.JPG


DSC_0184.JPG




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

So now we know where Hitchcock got his inspiration 🐦😁

Exactly 😄

Ahahahha that’s hilarious. Seagulls those damn flying rats, they don’t give a shit about anyone else.

Seagulls need to learn some manners of how to behave around humans!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

funny experience you had in there haha this is the kind that convert into good stories after it passes...

those cute birds were only protecting their eggs

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp