A Birthday Rifle Story

in Outdoors and more3 years ago

My birthday was this month, and I decided to get myself a new rifle. I had originally planned for next year, but given the Covid weapons rush and unsure climate for next year with gun stealing (or attempting) democrats coming into political power, I decided to jump a year early. My work, like many others, is cutting our unused vacation days. At least they are "graciously" paying me for a few days of what they are cutting from carry-over amount, so that is helping with costs.

PXL_20201229_175621275.jpg
Gun sales are at an all-time high here in the U.S. In March, over 176,000 were sold PER DAY. Over 19 Million were sold thru November, and still counting. This has resulted in shortages, shipping delays, and also a surge/shortage in ammunition available.

I started my search in October, planning to replace one of my favorite rifles I was passing along to one of my sons. I started off knowing what caliber I wanted (.22-250), but undecided about which rifle. I really love shooting the .22-250, I has great ballistics, meaning that it shoots very flat compared to most rifles. A 50 yard zero results in about 1 inch high at 100 yards, and return to zero again at 200 yards. Maximum effective range varies depending on who you ask, but is typically considered very solid out to 600 yards, or even 800-1000 if shooting special heavier than average bullet weights and faster twist barrels. This is perfect for my uses, which is typically shooting targets out to 600 yards (my local range limit) and occasional small game/varmit hunting.

I initially had the search narrowed to three choices that I felt were good value for the money.
Choice #1 was Browning X-Bolt (Because I have an older A-Bolt in 7mm Magnum that I love).
Choice #2 was a Savage BTCSS varmit (because I have a Savage .338 Lapua Magnum that I love, and option for 1/12 twist barrel).
Choice #3 was a Tikka 3x (just because so many people seem to love their Tikka's, and good reputation for accuracy, plus had options for tighter twist barrel).

I found a place with the Browning in-stock, (so they claimed). I placed my order, waited patiently for 3 weeks or so, then they just cancelled my order. No explanation, no apology, just a cancellation notice. A bit discouraged, I went searching again. No joy.
As I was expanding my search parameters to other weapons of this caliber, I ran across the Savage BTCSS in stock (again so they claimed). Only to be contacted 2 days later by the store owner claiming that his vendor had the wrong skew number listed, and the one they had in-stock was for a different caliber .243, which I was not interested in. A fine caliber, just not what I wanted.

PXL_20201229_173404858.jpg

Totally frustrated at this time, I started searching for TIKKA or others and still struggling to find ANYTHING in this caliber available, I talked to my brother who said he had found a SAKO model 85 in-stock and had I ever considered that. I confessed I really hadn't, I knew SAKO's were expensive and didn't really want to spend that kind of money. I then started doing some research on them and was surprised at what I found. The cost wasn't much more than I would pay for the others after I had upgraded stock, trigger, etc. (Yes, I am a bit of a trigger snob). And best of all, it was actually in-stock and could ship that week (Yes, I confirmed this time!)

PXL_20201229_172304691.jpg

Some Interesting Sako history:
SAKO is an acronym for Suojeluskuntain Ase- ja Konepaja Osakeyhtiö, which translates to Firearms and Machine workshop of the Civil Guard. It is based in Helsinki, Finland where it has operated since 1921.
They will be celebrating their 100 year anniversary next year, in 2021.
The top sniper in the world during the 100-day Winter War Simo Hayha, AKA "The White Death" used a SAKO produced variant of the Mosin Nagant to kill over 500 Russian Soldiers.
SAKO and it's sub-company, TIKKA were bought by well-known Italian company Beretta Holding in 2000 and still owned by Beretta.

Specifications:
Model: 85 Varmit Laminated Stainless
Caliber: .22-250
Action: Short (S)
Bolt: 3 locking lugs, control round feed, mechanical ejection
Rate of twist: 1/14"
Weight: 8 5/8 lbs. (3.9 kg)
Overall length: 43 1/2" (1105 mm)
Barrel length: 20" (510 mm)
Magazine: Detachable 5 + 1 (also can top load)
Trigger: LAM set trigger 2-4 lbs adjustable, Special .75 lb set trigger mode.

I am a firm believer in the adage, "There's no such thing as coincidence, only synchronicity". I like to think all the previous difficulties were so I could end up with this particular rifle, which actually seems FAR better than any of the others I was considering. I am VERY pleased with this rifle so far, but haven't had it out to the range yet. Some of my favorite pros (and cons) are:

PXL_20201229_173424993.jpg

Pros:
Visuals - The stainless, fluted barrel, recessed crown, and wood grain laminate stock look great and will hold up well.
Accuracy guarantee - SAKO guarantees less than MOA - 5 shot groups at 100 yards. I am anxious to test this out with real ammo!

PXL_20201229_174600000.jpg
(My 2 lb. 8 oz. trigger setting after quick, minor adjustment)

The action and the trigger are incredibly smooth, more so than any rifle I own by far. The trigger is also adjustable for over-travel, although I didn't need to touch it. They claim the trigger is set to around 3 lbs from the factory. I found my to be just under that at 2 lbs, 13oz. from the factory, which I lowered just a bit to 2 lbs., 8 oz. I usually go a half pound lower on most of my target rifles, but this one is so smooth, I left it here.

PXL_20201229_174122963.jpg
(Single Set 6 oz. trigger, wow!)

The single set trigger. This was actually what convinced me to "pull the trigger" (pun intended). I generally end up replacing the stock trigger in all my rifles, but this one came not only with the 2 - 4 lb. adjustable trigger out of the box, but also the "magic" LAM single set trigger, which provides a claimed 7 - 9 oz. target pull. I actually found the Single Set trigger on mine tested at 6.2 - 6.8 oz.! This is achieved by simply pushing the trigger forward when cocked to "set" it, ready for the feather touch, similar to a "Quigly" style double set trigger, only it's a single. I am itching to test this mode for benchrest shooting!

PXL_20201229_172325766.jpg

Removable Magazine - I like a removable magazine. While I don't expect to be speed swapping 30 round bananna mags, I do like the ability to carry a spare magazine in my pocket when hunting. This one can be top-loaded as well as removed for those that prefer it. I've seen some folks complaining on forums about the fact that you have to push up on magazine in order for it to be released, but I don't have a problem with it, makes it much harder to accidentally dislodge and lose in the field. I found it easy to do with one hand after a few practice attempts.

PXL_20201229_173740843.jpg
(Dovetail mount with factory 2lb, 13oz trigger setting).

Cons:
The only con I see so far is the scope mounting. They use a dovetail system that is tapered to hold the mount, and want to sell a proprietary "Optilok" two piece mount for this. I'm not confident that these will hold securely, even on this light recoil rifle. I'm choosing an aftermarket picatinny rail mount, made by "Recknagel" instead. It will have a 20 MOA rise to it, to allow for greater distances to be dialed into the scope before running out of adjustment. This can be done via certain model rings as well, but I prefer the rail method. I may also want to swap the normal day scope for an ATN X-Sight Day/Night Vision scope occasionally as well, which only has a picatinny clamp, not rings.

Other info:
You may have noticed there's no scope on it yet. That's because I'm waiting for the mount to arrive. I have the scope and the rings, just waiting on that custom picatinny mount. I'll upload pics in another post along with some targets soon! Weather is below freezing here all week, but hope it breaks next weeked a little bit and that the mount comes in. I'll be mounting a Vortex Strike Eagle 5-25x56 on this. It's my new favorite scope, I just can't quite bring myself to spend over 2K on something better or bigger brand-name yet.

PXL_20201229_172637121.jpg
(Blackhawk Picatinny sling swivel adapter, awesome!)

PXL_20201229_173219704.jpg
(Atlas quick release bipod)

Other additions:
Blackhawk Picatinny rail sling swivel adapter - Of course, I'm not a fan of sling swivel bipods any more. I added a Blackhawk Picatinny rail adapter. (I love these!) This way, I can quickly swap my Atlas Bipod between rifles, or quickly fasten a light to the rail as desired. I don't really like using sling swivels for slings anymore either. If I am going to use a sling for a long hike, I prefer to use "shotgun slings" which just have a loop at either end and don't require the swivel studs, or to be dedicated to a rifle. I can just quickly slip them on and off any rifle or shotgun that I choose.

PXL_20201229_174744979.jpg

Burris XTR rings: I like Burris rings. The xtreme models have three screws on each side for maximum holding power without over-tightening (Always use a torque wrench!). This XTR model only has two screws on each side, but their 34mm size tube options still a little limited. It does however offer the ability to raise / lower by 5, 10, 15, 20, 40 MOA inserts. I'm generally not a fan of this and prefer the rail, but got this just in case I end up having to go back to the Optilok mounts. I can still add 10 - 20 MOA of rise to allow for more scope adjustment.

PXL_20201229_211536254.jpg

Ammo: I'll be starting with factory ammo, Hornady Superformance 50 grain Vmax going at a blistering 4,000 fps. This should stay supersonic at further distances than the regular 55 grain Vmax, and I'm hoping stay accurate out to 500 or 600 yards. My previous Ruger model 77 liked them, so that will be my starting place. I will be saving the brass, and may start handloading it later, really depends on how well it does with the factory stuff.

Superformancefps.jpg
(Graph courtesy of Hornady Superformance website).

Congrats if you made it through this whole post, I think it's the longest one I've ever done. I hope a few find it interesting!

Sort:  

A fine choice, and whilst those other two would have handled the job well also, I'm pleased you went for the Sako. I'm a fan of the Tikka, although don't have any currently, and loved my 22.250 which, as you say, is a great multi-use calibre. I haven't been able to afford a Sako yet and have gone for cheaper options...I have my eye on a Sako TRG M10 in .308 currently but... $18,000+ (AUD) so...My eye might be the only thing on it...No hands.

I used the 55gr VMAX with devastating effect in the field at ranges to about 500m (546 yards) and simply loved the ballistics. In fact, the 22.250 was my trainer rifle for a while as it's cheaper to send 22.250 rounds than 6.5mm creedmoor rounds in practice.

This is a great post mate; Talking through your choices, pros and cons. Nice work mate. I hope you post here some more, eseciually when you get this rifle into the field.

I saw that TRG and it caught my eye as well. I'll bet that is a super sweet shooter, but won't be ending up in my safe either.

My Ruger model 77 liked those 55gr VMAX, and also shot these 50gr Superformance extremely well. Basically the same bullet shape, just 5gr lighter and "special" proprietary powder in the superformance that gives them an extra 200-300 fps. My thinking is that will do better at 500 yards to keep them supersonic, but we'll see what the testing proves out. Yes, I'm itching to get the scope mounted and get this one out to play. I'm guessing will become my new favorite for short to mid-range fun.

I've had trigger time on a TRG as one of my mRes has one..he's a gun dealer and so gets all the good stuff and I get to shoot it all. I have some pictures somewhere which I will dig up. It's a nice shooter. One of the best I've operated to be honest.

I'm looking forward to some in-field testing of your new system and knowing you it'll be comprehensive, relevant and interesting.

That’s amazing. What a great looking rifle! I’m looking to buy one and I’m not looking forward to the search difficulties I’m going to have to find one lol. I love the look of the stock and the inward end of the barrel is cool!

This past week I tried to visit my local gun store where I bought my 9mm and was very sad that he closed up shop because of the China flu hysteria. I wanted to buy a few boxes of 9mm ammo while I can buy I have to travel a lot further than I wanted to get some now.

I think I’m going to visit another bigger store for my purchase of a rifle. I’m looking to use something for hunting which I want to get into next year or the year after. I don’t want you to make too much effort but what would a decent caliber be that you think I should go with for hunting deer?

Thanks, yes you may need to shop around a bit. My LGS has a good number of rifles and pistols in stock, but I was very particular in my choice for this one. Lots of varied opinions for deer hunting. My personal favorite for deer back when I used to hunt them was 7mm Magnum. I generally recommend .30 caliber or higher for deer, and many states have restrictions on caliber and some even caliber, bullet type, and velocity. Some states also restrict to shotgun (slug) use only. Be sure to check your local conservation dept. where you plan to hunt before you spend your money. Other popular choices are .308, .30-06, 6.5 creedmore (I prefer PRC). The 7mm shoots a little flatter than those, which makes range estimation less critical. It can also be used later for Elk, should you decide to go larger later.

!ENGAGE 30

Appreciate the tip, see my reply to Galen!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago (edited) 

If I may...Just do your research man, know what you're going to hunt, where, the regulations and so on. That will dictate what rifle you start to look at. Then consider also if you will use factory ammunition or make your own ( I would suggest you start with factory) and then look at accessories, like the scope, mounts, bipod, trigger etc. You need a rifle that can be set up as you need and want. Too many people buy something because it looks cool and then find out it can't take the accessories...Then it's sold and another is purchased. Buy once, cry once , meaning wait longer to get the right thing and pay more if you have to. Avoid cheap shit. @ksteem will back me up here...Look for quality over cost.

I agree with @ksteem on the calibres for deer...(.308, .30-06, 6.5mm creedmore). There are others but these are good. I shoot a 6.5mm creedmoor out to a mile or more and it's a very accurate calibre...I'm a little biased here, but that's the way I would go, but I have also shot .308 a lot and whilst the trajectory is not as flat it can be placed on target at great range. Any mentioned in ksteem's comment will work though...Just get the bloody scope right! That's what lets most guns down. People go and buy cheap shit then wonder why they can't hit shit. Scopes need to track correctly. You can read about my box-testing if you scroll back in The Pew. It's is critical.

I use the Kahles 6241-24-56 with the SKMR reticle. https://www.kahles.at/us/sport/riflescopes/k624i-6-24x56i (First focal plane, zero stop, amazing optics etc.)

Anyway @cmplxty, just research and ask questions of the right people. You'll make a better choice.

EDIT: Box test post: https://hive.blog/hive-139358/@galenkp/the-box-test

Thanks man, I'm doing some of the research now for it. I'm not ready to pull the proverbial trigger, pun intended, anyways because if I buy the wrong thing the wife won't ever let me live it down hahaha. I was looking at the 7mm mag @ksteem mentioned and there are some that look decent but until I get things in a more focused place I won't know what I'm really going to get.

I'm not trying to jump into anything until I have what I want planned out. I saw that there were some rifles for like 300$ but like you say, you get what you pay for. If you buy a Walmart gun you'll get Walmart quality.

I would like to have it multi purpose, if I can hunt elk with it too that would be good. There's elk and caribou in northern Maine you can hunt, a good friend of mine and my dads used to go hunting up there. It's almost like Alaska, no roads. I think somewhere in Maine or Vermont is where we will end up, given our choices and lack of desire to be in a hardcore liberal state. I looked at both of their laws and rifles are allowed. Mass is only shotgun so not something I’m interested in at the moment.

I appreciate the direction you guys have given me! It's helped at least give me something to look at, tips for things I need to make sure work with it like the accessories. It will just take some time and effort.

I think you're on the right track. $300 rifles will give you $300 quality and performance.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I'm not a gun enthusiast but i find this cool ! it's well crafted too amazing !

Thanks, I am of course very much an enthusiast :) I am impressed with the quality of the build. Looking forward to testing!

looking forward to seeing you test it, if you happen to post it ofc.

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

Thank you for helping the Papillon Foundation by participating in the Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.

Your support to "create better tomorrows from the ashes of today" is much appreciated!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Congratulations @ksteem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 500 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 4 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Project Activity Update
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

A lot to know in choosing a caliper & rifle for the purpose you want.. I see a lot of research must go into finding a good fit. I know little of the technical end of guns but enjoy reading your posts. I have a mess of rifles and pistols inherited from my father sitting in my safe.. Used Strictly for target shooting.. Haven't used in years..

A lot of research, or just ask a friend that knows a lot! Lol, that's how I started just asking others, then starting off with a few, then gaining my own experience. It's kind of like women with shoes, while one pair of sneakers "could" be worn for any purpose, there are different weapons suited better for certain situations. Like maybe high heels for a business meeting, or sandals for the beach. I just like using that reference, because it helps me justify all my "choices" with my wife! lol

Ha ha .. you better delete your reply before your wife holds it as evidence..

That is a sweet Birthday gift @ksteem! It was probably a very good thing that you got it when you did with everything going on and the shortages. Ammo was scarce here for a little while unless you wanted to mortgage your house (lol) but it is becoming more available and affordable now. 🙂
Tip

Thanks! Yes, my wife has great taste when I give her hints ie: buy it for myself from her :) Very unsure what the restrictions, taxes, or prices will be next year with the change in politicians, and wanted to be sure I was able to replace this one!

You're very welcome! These are indeed uncertain times.