Ruger Mark IV Pistol at 50 yards

in Outdoors and more4 years ago

Ruger Mark IV .22 Rimfire Pistol at 50 Yards. Well, some of you may remember I built a little Ruger Mark IV .22 a short time back. After having such good results with it at shorter range, I decided we needed to push the limits a bit.

IMG_20200718_102523.jpg

IMG_20200718_102442.jpg

So while sighting in some rifles at the range today, I decided to give this little gem a go at 50 yards.
IMG_20200718_102337.jpg

Yes, that's 20 shots at 50 yards, shooting off my range bag for a little support. That center red cirle just a little larger than a quarter. For those of you that are not familiar, most folks shoot pistols at 7-15 yards and sometimes 25 yards. This is half a football field away, with a little rimfire .22 cartridge, typically not considered as accurate as center-fire cartridges.

I could barely make out the red center at this distance and really was just aiming at the middle of the black. At this distance some folks struggle even with rifles. I can't express how impressed I am with this little sweet shooter. Shooting CCI Mini-Mags. Now if I can just get that damn tax stamp for the suppressor!!

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Man that is accurate.. I just ordered some Co2 cartridges & pellets for a couple of German air pistols I got at a yard sale last year...you have given me the bug...😊

Ha, the bug is contagious. That's how I got hooked into it. I helped my son shop and buy the "lite" model. That got me looking and starting to shoot one of my old .22's that I hadn't shot in probably a decade. Decided it was time to upgrade and tweak a bit.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you

You're very welcome.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That’s some crazy accuracy for that thing! I will have to keep the Ruger style in mind when I’m looking to get another one. I like how it’s a .22 as well so you don’t break the bank with firing a few boxes of ammo.

Yes, I love this newer model so much because it not only shoots well, but it is extremely simple to take down and clean. I've had some others that require watching a youtube or pulling out the manual just to get them apart and together. This one is literally a few seconds and very intuitive, no books needed! Also like all the aftermarket tweaks and ability to quickly and simply swap entire uppers should I decide I want longer barrel or sight options to quickly swap out.

Excellent job! @ksteem

You're quite the skilled marksman with those bullseye hits and props for not even one of the 20 bullets shot missing the target from half a football field away! Brushing up for a Secret Service or sniper job? 🎯💯

Thanks. I don't think I could pass the physical these days. In another lifetime before or after perhaps. I very much do enjoy the challenge of working for that super tight group, and tinkering with the little weapon and ammo tweaks to keep improving. One of the healthier outlets I still enjoy to deal with my recovery from perfectionism. lol

Good accuracy at that range mate! You've got yourself a good shooter there for sure!

Thanks, just doing my part to pass "the bug" along. You may start to feel a tingle, that tingle becomes an itch, that itch becomes.... lol

Yeah, we have to do our but huh?

I really like that shooter man, you have it zinging along and it looks tits! I want one.

Nice grouping! I'd say the limits were successfully pushed! My Ruger (SP101) is wicked jealous of your Ruger... 😂

Sending lots of good tax stamp vibes your way. 😊

Your SP101 is my favorite revolver. I don't have one, but has been on my list for awhile now. They are sweet! Thanks for the vibes!

Wow nice one