More first-time mechanics for vanlife

in Outdoors and morelast year (edited)

Back at it again, learning from zero experience how to fix a problem on my car.

I had a reconditioned PCM arrive which is the cars computer because the symptoms were that of a faulty PCM. I fitted it yeaterday evening when it arrived and it didnt fix the issues.

After further research I found that the ticking noise is the hydraulic lifters - which no mechanic wanted to work on.

I was dreading it thinking it was going to be really hard work but I found 2 vids on youtube explaining it and its quite simple.

Im going to do this post as I go along otherwise it wont get done haahha


I already had the air filter out and battery from taking oit the computer.

the electrics look much neater!


The new hydraulic lifts!

Spacers for colabaration

New gaskets


The first step I remeber from the tutorial video, was to take off the windscreen wipers and the whole front bit under the windscreen.. lets see how this goes!

I already had to stop because I dont have my drill or anything to open some screws but a mate will pass by with it soon. There are 2 different places that I need to swap the lifters on so now I have started on that.

Theres 8 bolts that I need to undo but they seem to be really tight! Afyer opening them the part holding the lifters in place was able to come out. I took out each one by lifting up the arms

None of them had any movement like they were suposed to, and one was stuck in position, and 2 of the new ones have no movement and so I will have to go back later

With one half of them replaced, they needed holding with tape so they dont fall out.

I lost one of the pieces, and 2 of them dont work new from the shop, so I am on a combi to go get new ones.

..They happen to have no more in stock so I am waiting for a delivery to the shop. Its hot!
I went to find water and food but ended up only finding a place for beer. I dont drink hardly at all but I couldnt wait outside of the shop in the sun.

It took ages to get the parts and now on the way back to the van, I stopped off to get food.

The live photos didnt upload!


I have placed the top back on and placed the bolts back in just so nothing falls into that part of the engine and had to now start getting access to the other 6 lifters. Once I have swapped the lifters I still need to borrow a torque wrench and tighten to 35lbs.

The start..

By taking out this whole section I dont need to take out the main part of the engine. I guess all the previous 20 mechanics didnt know this trick and had refused the job.

This morning I got that piece oit and next I need to take out the alternator to have enough room to get to the other cover of the other 6 lifters.


It took a while to work out how to get it out because i didnt want to force anything. Turned out, it needed forcing!


Now I should be able to get the other side off and get to the place.


I found out why it was making noise, one of the lifters was upside down!


I will do the next part once i have a tool I dont have!

Big love @movingman

Sort:  

Wow good work and yeah an upside down lifter ain't going to work well.

Its strange though because i have no idea who did then last lol

Yeah it's a bit strange.

Probably a 'mechanic' lol