Did you hear that noise?

Heeeyho Readers! Let's talk about bicycle maintenance!


I get dressed in cycling shorts; my white skinny butt all sexy and ready to go. There's a cycling trail circuit just around the corner that's ferpect to warm-up. Also, now that multi-phase competitions are over, training can resume to just spinning the legs for fun — I wish.

Once into the trail, I run over some eucalyptus branches and hear a crackling sound. {Shit}. There goes something expensive as I see my derailleur (the gears mechanism) dangling.

20221128_181538.jpg

Something broke

Thank God only the mech hanger broke. It's still annoying considering a new part will be delivered only on Thursday and I have a race on Sunday. At least a new hanger is inexpensive compared to a new derailleur.

A mech hanger, or simply hanger, is a small aluminum part that attaches the rear derailleur to the frame. A hanger is designed to break under certain circumstances (crashes, branches jamming the system, etc), that way sparing the more expensive parts.

20221127_170012.jpg

The mech hanger did exactly what it was designed to do — break! Mech hangers on older bicycles were super sturdy and part of the frame. That way, if you crashed you'd not only destroy your derailleur, but also lose your frame. It was absurd, so engineers came up with a cheap disposable part (that I should have a spare at home).

Well... that's the mountain biking life. One day you win; the other, the trails get you. At least the crackling sound wasn't my leg this time {sigh}.


Pro tip: Don't be like me. Get a spare mech hanger and store it somewhere so you don't need to wait for the mailman. There's nothing as infuriating as not being able to cycle because of a 8 USD part.

20221128_181618.jpg

Gone


Hopefully you fella cycling enthusiasts learned something from my mishap. Meanwhile, I'll just wait 'till Thursday.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Thank you

Your intro made me laugh, but I so enjoyed the post. I'm so sorry the trail got the better of you, but I'm not a mountain biker so I know sweet buggerall about bike parts and today I learned something knew and good to know if I ever get into it.

I'm glad it wasn't the expensive part and that you can get one relatively cheaply, but it's not going to give you much prep time before your race. I'm also glad it wasn't your leg 😁

Exactly, no prep this week other than swimming and weight lifting =/
Maybe that was a sign from above that I needed to rest, who knows

thanks for stopping by ^~

I think it was - at least it didn't break while you were at the race, that would have been MUCH worse.

Have a fab day 😁

Don't be like me. Get a spare mech hanger and store it somewhere so you don't need to wait for the mailman.

In that case, I hope you ordered two of them so you will have a backup next time this happens ;^)

Errrrrrrr.. I didn't hahahah
really really short on money this time and I still need a new chain =/

@tipu curate

!PGM
!LUV
!LOLZ

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @elikast

remaining commands 7

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444



The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mrprofessor ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.