You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10th update of 2021 on BlockTrades work on Hive software

in HiveDevs3 years ago

Sort of off topic from this nicely illustrated dev update, but have you got a ball park on when your team will begin rolling out decentralized bytecode execution for testing and whatnot? Quite interested to build bridges between all of the different already existing and future side / sub chains here on HIVE. I think that when HIVE has the capability to emulate EVM in a secure and properly decentralized manner we're very likely going to see a massive influx of outside interest and capital currently being tossed around on crap like BnB as the digital gold rush of new crypto users seek out alternatives with stronger fundamentals.

Sort:  

I don't have any firm estimate on timing of smart contract processing yet, as we won't be diving into the design phase until we complete the modular hivemind work that it will be built on top of.

My best guess now is that we will have modular hivemind tech ready relatively soon (in a month or two). But I don't have any real estimate on the smart contract processing code itself yet, as that task won't be fully scoped until we start (and complete) the design phase. A lot depends on how much functionality we decide to incorporate into the initial release.

Oh man, bah. I was under the impression that you guys were getting along on a working prototype already.. 0_0 That's ok though I guess. Just means as a community we're a slight bit behind where I thought we were on getting industry standard smart contract execution going here on HIVE.

The modular / plug and play style hivemind will be cool, a bit too hardware hungry for my budget sadly (I have the server, just not the storage) but for those with existing setups that step of allowing modules to be dropped in as necessary should really bring hivemind into the greater communities awareness.

I guess one more quick question, are your guys going to be supporting multiple languages compiled into bytecode or WASM for your setup or will it be in C, solidity or some other language you support contracts wise?

Trying to figure out what holes I need to cover to have HIVE end up with complete coverage / ability to run any sort of smart contract out there between the small number of planned projects on the horizon, basically whatever you guys aren't doing I'll try to pick up and implement into mine so we're effectively able to offer the same contract capability as any current tech out there. In the next few months I think things should be looking extremely bullish for HIVE as these things start to roll out and we collectively start offering alternatives to the overly expensive or questionably decentralized systems out there.

Modular hivemind is being designed to be pretty light on hardware, that's one of the primary goals. The others are scalability and ease-of-development.

Ah, this is music to my ears. Thank you for filling me in on it and answering my questions man.