You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25th update of 2021 on BlockTrades work on Hive software

in HiveDevs3 years ago

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but the change to a 30% haircut ratio will have an impact on when the HBD part of the reward is replaced by HIVE. So this will print more HBDs that will end up in the market, which will make it more difficult to stabilize when the price is below $1, no? Ultimately, it's a question of which one we want to focus on, HIVE or HBD.

Sort:  

So this will print more HBDs that will end up in the market, which will make it more difficult to stabilize when the price is below $1, no?

No, the amount of HBD on the market doesn't impact the price of HBD too much as long as the haircut doesn't threaten the convertable value of the HBD.

Ultimately, it's a question of which one we want to focus on, HIVE or HBD.

No, I completely disagree with this idea. IMO increasing the utility of HBD increases the utility of Hive as well. And we've already seen dramatic benefits to Hive price from a more stable HBD.

Thanks for your answer 👍

My needs for some of my projects include a stable HBD price, so I wish you're right even if I remain skeptical about the method (I think that you don't take enough into consideration the effects external to the eco system that may result).

I am not saying that an action on one has no effect (good or bad) on the other, I just think that depending on the choice, the degree of effect is different and therefore the time needed to wait for our objectives are more or less long.

We don't always agree on the methods to be used, but regardless, our goal and care for HIVE is the same, that's why you have my trust, so go for the 30% and let's see what happens.

 3 years ago  

As long as the haircut limit is not reached, the internal conversions will keep the peg in place. Regardless of the market volume.