You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Global API Node Infrastructure DHF Proposal

in HiveDevs3 years ago (edited)

I'm considering it.

Estimated profit margin?

Also I'm not a fan of the portion of funds being set aside for emergency, though of course I do understand your reasoning. But it does say, in so many words, what's being offered could be done for that much cheaper. With no 'emergency', ever, over a long period of time, that's wasted money. I'd feel more comfortable supporting a proposal requesting the actual cost of emergency, in the event of an emergency, after the fact, once the emergency and costs have been established.

Sort:  

Profit margin?

If you're talking about funds I might be using for myself, it is the 300 HBD specified for maintenance and misc costs. Even then, since I am planning to use a CDN, GeoIP and load balancers assisted with extra smaller servers for monitoring. (and any additional costs, mostly recurring, that needs to be covered). The "profit" part for me is the remaining part of the "maintenance" budget, if I understood your question correctly.

Regarding emergency funds, I would like to note that it is not "solely" emergency fund. It's more of a "long-term" fund that will be used in cases of emergency. If the proposal gains enough support and is funded for the next 6 months, that'd be 1800 HBD in savings on the side. (Potentially accruing interest in savings account on Hive as well) Hopefully, these funds then can be used in actually purchasing a strong and performant enough to run a populated API node. As a result, the only thing that would be "outsourced" is the colocation in a datacenter.

Yes, the portion you've planned to place in savings in order to earn interest on immediately stood out in my mind as something that can be deducted from the cost of the services you intend to provide. Had a 'hunch' long before you even mentioned it here in your response, money moving to that fancy new savings account would be the case, since it's right there, hidden in between the lines like that, looking all cute.

Someone else now can come along and offer the exact same thing for much cheaper, and probably still take home a reasonable profit percentage (which is normal and totally cool with me if it's reasonable). So if I had a choice, I'd choose them, especially if I was offered precision when it comes to these numbers, since those numbers/costs are the only thing that matter.

Wouldn't it be great if we saw more competition like that here when it comes to these contracts? You know just as much as I do someone could come along and give you the ole undercut.

Don't take this personally though, please. Strictly business.

This is not a, "No."

I'll think about it.

I like the idea of having a more decentralized infrastructure. I have no idea how much this type of operation actually costs to run. Unfortunately I can’t comment on whether or not you are asking for too much HBD. I guess it’s only too much if someone else offers to do the same thing and asks for less.

As of now, which nodes are based in USA?
I guess I’m asking which one would be the best for me to use in terms of latency

api.hive.blog is the only one I know in North America(its in Canada). Don't know of any in the US.

Ok thanks a lot for the info!
That’s pretty crazy to think about.

US based hosting is extremely expensive. I've been looking for a good cheap provider so I could start my own US node for a while and the price always comes out to 3x what I'd be paying hosted elsewhere for something similar, or the network speed is insanely bad.

LOL. Sup daltano. Was this response intended for someone else?

Yup. After some digging and sleuthing, along with some careful consideration, fuck yeah, I'll support this.

Good luck with your proposal.

Thank you for the support, and regarding your comment about other people doing it, even for cheaper... I hope they will.

More people hosting public nodes all around the world, accessible for people and projects that are unable to generate revenue (and afford a node thereof) can freely make use of the nodes closest to them provided by witnesses and/or apps they trust.

More nodes are always better, different people operating them, is also better.

Yeah. I speak the language around here and know exactly where you're coming from.