My new contributions to the Hive Condenser

in HiveDevs4 years ago

It has been a while since I've posted the list of my contributions to the Condenser and Wallet apps. I've been (still am) having some health conditions so I'm reducing computer work time as my day job is already me making sitting in front of one too much. However, I'm still trying to pick some issues and work on them when time and health allows.

Below is a list of issues I've worked on since last update.

Notable changes:

  • Adding noreferrer noopener for links that open a new tab. It was reported that the way the Condenser is generating some external links would have opened the platform to tab nabbing, a phishing technique where the malicious linked website can change the location the parent page without the user knowing it.
  • Replace the default cross-post message with the summary of the original post. In my initial implementation of cross-post rendering on the Condenser, I've missed the post preview that was still showing the default cross-post message instead of the summary of the original post.
  • Wider posts and editor. The Condenser was original created a long time ago and nowadays, with wider computer screens, the narrow post body seems a bit too skinny. It had been agreed that we should allow for a wider component. This code changes the post body and editor from 640 px wide to a more standard 768 px.
  • Allow toggling of side-by-side editor. Some people were not big fans of the side-by-side editor, especially those who have computer screens that has a resolution that are not wide enough to enjoy the side-by-side benefits but that are still wide enough to trigger it. This code change improves the behaviour of the side-by-side editor and adds the ability to enable/disable it.

Minor changes:

HardFork 24

At the moment, the dev team and witnesses are very busy with the preparation to HF24, which is initially scheduled to kick off today but there might be delays and it will kick off when we will reach the supermajority of witnesses running it.

I'm pausing my Condenser/Wallet contributions until things settle down a little bit.

My witness node is ready for HF24 (hived v1.24.2) and my backup node is still running HF23 just in case.


Vote for my witness
Support @quochuy Witness.jpg
On Hive, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Hive blockchain. Vote for me via HiveSigner to support my work for the community.

Sort:  

I hope the health issues are the kind that clears up eventually D:

Either way definitely mind them :D

Thanks dear

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @quochuy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 600 posts. Your next target is to reach 650 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day