[Acid Plays] Let's take a look at Alien Worlds

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

A friend of mine has been telling me to check this game out for a while, I've been quite busy but today I figured was a good time as I've had more free time to look into these and post about them.

Alien worlds is a game that uses the Wax blockchain, which is a fork of EOS and known to be focused on gaming projects and assets. When you're trying to log in it quickly prompts a Wax Cloud Wallet window and asks you to use it to log in, I myself don't have one so I decided to sign up, the process was pretty smooth, you could choose any of these ways to sign up through. Hopefully more games and those here on Hive will make it possible in the near future with diverse guest account options before people get their Hive account.


image.png

After verifying an email I didn't spend more time into basic info and connecting a public wallet to it yet as the game let me login after that. I'll postpone that til later if and when I need to either use or withdraw some funds from this Play 2 Earn game.

This is the window I got to after the Wax Cloud Wallet setup:

image.png

Now here's some gameplay after I got in!

As you can tell there wasn't really a lot I could do at first look. I thought there would be when I started writing this post and playing my way into it at the same time, so I'm gonna go and look for what there is to do in the future. :P

Okay so apparently they have a different site for whatever you want to be doing in the game. I went over to alienworlds.io and clicked on the packs tab to get to unbox.alienworlds.io and find out that everything was sold out, seems like a common theme these days in the crypto world (except for Gods Unchained season 1 packs ;()

image.png

I then found out that Alien Worlds is being built in stages and you can check the roadmap here, wish Hive had a roadmap (or each dapp in it one that would be easy to find for outside investors).

Similar to our popular dapp here @splinterlands they're also selling land in batches (which are also NFT's) and over time different NFT packs with more ingame items such as tools, avatars, minions and artifacts (which currently were sold out). They are also introducing an ingame currency called Trilium which will be capped at one point and only attainable by playing and planets, more info on Trilium here.

These were some things from the FAQ I also found interesting with Alien Worlds:

Alien Worlds is the only cross-denominated project running on Ethereum and WAX. Trilium, the metaversal fungible token, is both an ERC-20 and a WAX token. The other game mechanics, and the NFTs, are smart contracts on WAX.
In technical terms, our layer 1 protocol is Ethereum with a layer 2 protocol on WAX.

Planets are DAOs or decentralised autonomous organisations. Each Planet gets a daily allocation of Trilium, as described in the Technical Blueprint, and can decide how to allocate that Trilium – to stakers, gamers or anyone else.

Another cool thing is that there are no "middleman fees" to Trilium, owners of planets set the cut themselves for miners and both earn their share of Trilium, nothing goes to the creators of the game.

There are also minions in the game and there is/will be fighting involved as far as I could make out. I'm assuming this is still not implemented yet but hard to say as I haven't been able to play it more.

Will be loading my wallet up with some Wax soon so I can explore the game a bit more hopefully while I'm waiting for my first mining attempt to conclude.

While I was checking their main website a bit more my curiosity made me check if I was eligible for a claimdrop. I haven't really used my EOS wallet for anything except for logging into that Prospectors game a long time ago and being disappointed so I didn't even try that one but I have had quite a bit of NFT's from other projects on ETH so I figured hey maybe. To my surprise I was eligible for 1 Promo pack:


image.png

I was still not in the safe zone though cause if claiming this meant I needed to pay an ETH transaction fee these days I would've not bothered but luckily I didn't have to! I was curious to know if I could sell this pack, was difficult to find an exchange related to Alien Worlds assets as I couldn't find one in the tabs on the website, after a while of digging I found this site called Alcor and they had a listing for these promo packs there to my surprise. Unfortunately the volume was pretty dead (not sure if this was just for this exchange or for the packs in their entirety):


image.png

so I decided to not list it at all, even if it would sell for 1000 packs which there was one sell order there for (but recent sell according to the chart indicated one had been sold for 35 wax which is like 80c) it would just mean $38 at current Wax price. Anyway, I think I'm just going to hold this pack in case they get pretty scarce later on, so you should check if you're eligible to claim as well (and thank me later with a lambo).

Only thing that annoyed me a bit so far was the frequent need to refresh the browser cause the game kept getting stuck in loading screens and the lack of tutorial on the play page. Some simple mouse over info would've gone a long way to let me know what mining really does, why I should do it, etc, instead of having to go over to the FAQ page and just have to sit and wait around for the first mine to conclude to figure out what even happened and what I gained from it to know how I should continue in the game. Everything still a bit unclear to me but maybe there's other Hivers deeper into the Rabbit hole who can give you more info. I think @enjar had a post about this as well which I should've probably read before trying this game out. :D Was hoping there would be more things to do for me to record the gameplay of for this post, but maybe more for another post!


Sort:  

This is one of those games we are still so early despite missing out on whatever they were selling planet packs for that a lot of items dropping from mining have no use at the moment.

When you claim your TLM you have a chance at getting NFT items. So far I have only been getting abundant items but there is a very small chance it could be a higher rarity.

You could increase your chance at getting an NFT by getting tools with higher luck. From what I could tell it has no impact on the rarity of the item. As such I have just been focusing on Trillium Mining Power, for now, to build myself up.

I started with nothing on Wax and from this game, I worked my way up to 3 common tools in Alien Worlds and a couple of bucks worth of Wax. While not insane there is at least play to earn in this game that even the starting players can join in on.

I’ve just been staking my low-valued NFT drops in a different game that still in development earning some passive coins in that game. Which is kind of crazy to think about.

Gratz on getting an airdrop. I had no luck myself.

Il send u a card whats your wax account

Ill buy a alien worlds card for everyone here

https://t.me/AlienWorldsOffical

They made an ackza axe inspired by me

Screenshot_20210201-094143.jpg

And i got an app called TOKENHEAD you can use to WATCH your cards in your HAND with just an account name no key !

Screenshot_20210201-094430_Google Play Store.jpg

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.alohaeos.tokenhead

Screenshot_20210201-094123.jpg

Screenshot_20210201-094207.jpg

Screenshot_20210201-094222.jpg

I've never seen a comment of yours with this few words. :D

Usually he writes words that have nothing to do with our posts lol

Pity...
image.png

But thanks for sharing the link to the roadmap.

I'm mining since two weeks but hardly found any NFTs (only 2) and no tools. Slow start, but will keep digging.

Yeah there's a bit of a learning curve with this game. It took me a while to figure out the mechanics. I've been mining for a few weeks and have found well over 100 NFTs! I never have a problem with loading screens freezing. Also, if you didn't know, you can combine 4 cards of a kind, which burns them and mints a new one with a gold shine. You need 500 trilium to do so though.

I will thank you later with lambo xD

IMG_20210202_013226.jpg

I do love these games. Is wax hard to setup I remember messing with it a year ago and kind of just never took to it.

this amazing content from @acidyo you always bring new Games Thanks have fun

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 252000 HP as payout for your posts and comments. Your next payout tagret is 254000 HP. The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day

So, can you share your setup?