Retro Gaming Blogging Challenge: Day VII - Bugs I met in some Retrogames

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

https://www.nintenderos.com/2017/08/un-glitch-en-zelda-ocarina-of-time-permite-usar-todos-los-objetos-siendo-nino-o-adulto/

Greetings. Due to my bad internet connection lately, I haven´t be able to continue with the challenge but today the internet connection it´s a bit more stable so I´ll take advantage of it and continue which I already started. This is day VII, at least for me, and today is about bugs I´ve met in some videogames. Remember that if you want to participate in the challenge, you can read @marcoquin post about it, you´ll find the rules there. Before starting this post, I´d like to comment something, I thought and thought but no bug came to my mind, to be honest, so this post will be of glitches instead since I do know many of them, I apologize for it but I think I never in my life found a bug in a retrogame and I personaly prefer not to talk about something I haven´t found.

https://peakd.com/hive-140217/@marcoquin/retro-gaming-blogging-challenge-join-us

To try to compensate that this is about glitches and not bugs, I´ll show you some glitches that are a bit complicated to do, at least for me. These glitches took me a lot of time to do so I really hope you enjoy it.

http://rebloggy.com/post/legend-of-zelda-glitch-ocarina-of-time-legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time/42808168240

Let´s start form the begining, literally. The first glitch I want to show you is on the Forest, the place which Link lived on, there´s actually a way to skip all the forest from the begining and go to Hyrule Field, we can do this glitch by evading the forest kid that won´t let us go before completing the Deku Tree and obtaining the first Spiritual Stone. Take into account that these glitches can be done only in 1.0 version of the rom of The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

To do this glitch, we´ll need both our Deku Shield and sword which are obtained in the Forest. The first thing we´ll do is to break the sign, it´ll hinder us the whole time.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we break the sign, we´ll have to be as close as we can from the kid, after being sure, we´ll use our shield and sword without pressing Z, we´ll have to look for the best possible angle, the idea is to hit the wall and at the same time not being too close of it. To do so, we´ll press R to use the shield and B to hit the wall, both buttons must be pressed, once the sword hits the wall we´ll have to press A as fast as we can.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

If we did it at the right timing and the right angle, everything should be fine. Getting into more detail, when we hit the wall like that, this will make an impulse into Link which will make him to go down, we press A to talk to the kid and if we did this right, both Link and the kid should look mixed once they are talking, like they are the same person.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once they finish to talk, we´ll notice that we are almost in the exit but the kid is kinda blocking us with full speed as he were Sonic, this means we´ve done well until now. Last thing we´ll do is to make the kid disappear while walking slowly in one of the edges, doing this will make our little friend to disappear. Take into account that once we do this, we can´t get outside the Forest and we can´t even get inside until we make this kid disappear, since the kid we´ll be blocking us both the exit and the entrance.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once the kid disappear, we´ll be able to leave the Forest, all of this withouth getting the first Spiritual Stone.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

I know I´m not the best explaining this glitch so I´ll leave this link right here if you didn´t understand anything I said, this guy explain it a lot better than me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EecpfS11rQ4

The second glitch I´ll show you is how to skip King Zora as both child and adult, first let me show you how you can do it as adult Link.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

When you skip all of the dungeons as Young Link, King Zora will block us the way, if we want to skip him as an adult, you´ll only need the Master Sword and getting into the right corner.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we get the right angle, we´ll do a Jump Attack, you know, that attack he does with the sword while he jumps for a short time.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

When we do the Jump Attack, Link will overstep the textures of the wall, just a little bit. Right now, you have two options, the first one being making another Jump Attack to get fully into the wall, you´ll get the risk of falling down to a full emptiness, or you have the second option that is to walk fordward as fast as you can but not too fast in order not to fall.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

If we did it, we´ll see how Link is outside of the textures of the wall, like he is floating in a big and empty space, the reason Link keeps floating is because in that zone without textures there is actually a lot of water. What we´ll do is simply to advance fordward.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

If you do that, you´ll see Link will fall but fear not, once he starts to fall, he´ll raise again thanks the flow of water which is going up, Link will get to the surface thanks to the water.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we get to the surface, we´ll be behind King Zora and that´s how you actually skip him as Adult Link, I think there are more methods to do this but this is the easier way to me. I´ll leave another video of how to do this glitch, now let´s explain how to skip him as Young Link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giNUV5hFjZ0

What we need to get in order to skip him as Young Link is simply your Deku Shield, Kokiri Sword and Bombuchus. I didn´t have a Kokiri Sword at that moment so a Deku Stick will works as a sword.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

We´ll have to go into the same corner as we did as Adult Link, but this time we´ll look to the front with the exact angle I´m showing you in my screenshot, this has to be exact or the glitch won´t work.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we got the angle, we´ll do two fordward rolls without moving the joystick, keep in mind that this isn´t mandatory but it´s a bit recommendable. If you don´t want to do two rolls, just walk fordward a little bit calculating the distance but don´t move to the left or right, just fordward.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we do the rolls, our position will have to look something like this, personally I preffer not doing the rolls, just walking as calculating the distance.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

We´ll do one backflip, not two or three, just one. This is the tricky part and kinda annoying.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

While Link does the backflip, we´ll have to use the bombuchu, this is while Link doest the backflip, not after that. In the screenshot I´m showing you with red arrows where the bombuchu is.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Basically, when we do all of that, we have to press R, this will make Link to use his Deku Shield, all of this you have do it as fast as you can, it has to be a perfect timing.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once you see Link touches the ground, press Z while you use the Deku Shield, if you did this right, the explotion will make you to overstep the textures of the wall, once Link starts to fall in the full emptiness, you gotta be fast and use your sword with B or the Deku Stick I´m using.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Finally, the easiest part is just to swim to get behind the King Zora, do it carefully, one tiny mistake and you´ll fall.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

This is it, this is how you skip King Zora as a child. To be honest, I always have a bad time doing this glitch, it´s hard to me, I had to try a lot of times to take the screenshots. When you think about it, this is an easy glitch comparing with other hardest glitches. Anyways, I´ll leave a video of how to do it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch/QpBMpWHQZe0

I´ll talk about the last glitch which is the easiest to do. It´ll be about how to skip Mido in order to enter to the Forest Temple as Adult Link.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

If you played the game, you know that Mido only let us to procced if we play Saria´s song with the ocarina, this way he´ll allow us to enter. The thing is, I don´t have Saria´s Song with me right now so it would be impossible keep playing the game.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

What we´ll do is to get as close as we can from Mido.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

Once we do this, we´ll have to look fordward, looking for the best possible angle.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

What we have to do next is a backflip, normally this would be impossible since whenever we try to do a backflip being close to a character, the action icon will let us just to speak.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

When we are about to do the backflip, we´ll have to press start, this way, the action icon will let us jump instead of talking with the character, I think this is due to the pause lag between closing the menu screen and the game, this way we´ll be able to skip Mido and going to the Forest Temple.

screenshot taken by me while playing via emulator

If you didn´t understand me, I´ll leave a video here from Youtube if you want to get into full detail about this glitch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmgEGIGPbiM

This is the end of the post, sorry if it took forever. If you think I did something wrong while doing the glitches or something please tell me, I´ll be glad to read it, see you next time.