Baldurs Gate 3 First Impressions from Dnd Nerd

in Hive Gaminglast year (edited)

Baldurs Gate 3 First Impressions from Dnd Nerd

Greetings, friends. Today I will tell you my first opinions about the Baldurs Gate 3 game I played on steam. I have been playing dungeons and dragons for many years and having fun with my friends by playing on the table is like a therapy for me. This time it was different for me to see this knowledge combined with a computer game.

All photos are screenshotted by me.

Opening

The entrance of this game surprised me. Because there is no adventure about Mind Flayers in any other Dungeons and Dragons game. In fact, if you look at "Dungeon of the Mad Mage", there are a lot of Mind Flayers and there is a colony, but I never thought they would make it so detailed.
The scene with the tadpole impressed me a lot, it's really nice to have something so high-tech in the world of dungeons and dragons. But it's dangerous for the board games we play at home, and here's why;

  • When technology starts to enter into games, the medieval feeling is lost.
  • It's hard to adjust the power balance. The damage done with a bow and arrow needs to be different from the damage done with technological weapons.
  • You are torn between playing realistically and ignoring some things and the believability of the game deteriorates.

That's why I was surprised that they chose this genre. I didn't expect to see a Mind Flayer, even though it's a monster I like a lot. As a DM, it's one of the creatures I fear the most because it's very easy for the party to TPK against them.

Character Creation

I rolled the dice for Character Creation and if I got an odd number I would create a male character. If I got an even number I would create a female character. I got an even number. So I decided to create a warlock character because I knew that the Eldrich Blast spell was very powerful early in the game and I knew that I could use it as much as I wanted because I didn't need a spell slot to spend it. Let's just say that I had the knowledge from years of playing dungeons and dragons.

By the way, I haven't watched any youtube videos, guides, etc. about the game beforehand.

Characteristic Statistics. Charisma is the most important thing for a Warlock. This is how she casts his spells... That's why this is the ability score that should be the highest. Then comes the constitution so that we have good health. You can distribute the others according to your character's history. I also gave points to dexterity because when I cast the Mage Armor spell, the bonus that will be added comes from there, and many saves are made with Dex Saving Throw.
Her name is Wrath. Just for fun.

The Adventure Begins

At the beginning of the game, we meet a Githyanki. His name is Lae'zel. This is a race that a friend of mine plays in my current game and I know a lot about it. I don't want to give spoilers, but there is a war between them and the Mind Flayer race. A race that has risen up against the oppression that has been done to them for years. In the game, they ride dragons and attack the ship where we are captured and we fall to Avernus with the ship.
The scene here was incredible because Avernus is my favorite dimension. It was amazing to see the war machines there. I also felt at home because I was playing a tiefling character.
I liked that they added dragons because in the lore of dungeons and dragons there is a pact between the leader of the gith and the leader of the dragons. Especially between the red dragons. It's great that they added that.

What happens next is also enjoyable. We rescued a High Elf woman. We had to make a strange psychedelic tectological connection to save her, but we did it. Her name is Shadowheart. She's a cleric. Every party needs a cleric or it is very difficult to survive and I could foresee that there were big battles ahead. Our ship was being raided by devils and Giths were attacking from one side, so there was chaos.
Then we had a big battle in the control room to teleport the ship. In this battle, I thought I was glad I chose warlock because I kicked almost all of them against the incoming Imps. Even without Agonizing Blast Invocation.
I love this class.
But during the teleportation, the ship could not stabilize with the attacks of the dragons and took a lot of damage. By the time we reached the Material Plane, the ship was already falling. And our character couldn't hold on.
The scene here was a bit interesting, just as we were about to fall, we magically stood on the ground. I didn't fully understand this, but I think it was due to mental power. Because we have some powers because of the tadpole they placed on us.

But I started to refuse to use them in the game because this parasite will probably get stronger as I use it. That's what I would do if I was a dungeon master or if I wrote the game.

Then we started to do research to get rid of this parasite in our heads, the tadpole. We were traveling with 3 people. When we landed, I saw a cocky guy on the road, but I didn't like him at all and I didn't let him into the group.
Up ahead we realized that there was a druid place where tieflings had taken refuge and were treating them very badly.
They ostracized them as people of demon blood. This was realistic for the universe of dungeons and dragons, but the druids offered to help us because we could get rid of the parasites in our heads.
I had a dilemma here because I thought that since I was a Tiefling, I would stand against the persecution of people of the same species. But if I did that, I wouldn't be able to get rid of the parasite in my head. So it was a nice touch and I'm glad I chose Tiefling.
It's very good to have a dilemma in these kinds of games, and as you follow the dialogues, it's very difficult to see that both groups are right and decide accordingly.

Final Thoughts

I am very happy with the game so far. We left Druid Grove and went out to look for a lost druid and when we met goblins on the way I decided to close the game because it was too late.
People I recommend this game to

  • If you are someone who loves dungeons and dragons I recommend you to try this game,
  • If you want to discover a fantastic new world,
  • If you like RPG games and want to try a new flavor,
  • If you don't get bored listening to and reading dialog and play to understand the motivation of the NPCs,
  • If you care about the story of the game instead of Hack and Slash,

I recommend this game to you.

Thank you very much for reading.

Sort:  

I'm looking forward to playing this game but gonna wait for them to finish it first. Good to see a stamp of approval from a fellow DnD nerd.

So far I would say it is positive. Let's see what changes when it's fully released. 👏

Congratulations @arduilcelebren! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

You tell us all the details of the game. I like this game. Maybe I can play too. I am surprised when I see your FEMALE character, but it's okay, the dice rules ahaha

Thank you love 😁😁

I have considered Baldurs like a Light planetscape with some add ons, this came like years ago and Im gonna stick to it, because baldurs is still missing DnD elements that should be there for it to be perfect... Yet there is still hope for the game to expand in further instalations, anyway, great to see it around, hope to see you again soon :)

I think the game is very enjoyable and I hope it will be even better when it comes out by the end of summer. Thank you for your comment, see you soon 🤗🤗