No More e-Sports in France !

in Hive Gaming2 years ago


image.png
Source

France just recently came out with something that in my opinion is kind of questionable. You see there is a Council in France that has been in the works since the Millenniums and its Sole objective is to preserve the French Language. Now I do get the importance of preserving their own Language but this seems kind of excessive and unnecessary as well.

Recently they came out with the new terms for different eSports-related stuff so now eSports will be called as jeu video de competition while pro gamers will now be called joueurs professionals, Streamers will be called joueur animateur en direct, and so on. I do apologize if I misspelled anything wrong but you can guess that it's going to be weird to pronounce some of those words for us.

I hope you get the complicacy this will create as of now but what I am wondering is quite different. You see these changes were made to their Journal of French Language and it makes the words eSports, Streamer, and Pro Gamers banned words. So I am now wondering what are the repercussions of people from other Countries uttering the same words in FRANCE. eSports hosts various LAN events all around the world so what happens when a CS Major is hosted in France and somebody utters these words. You might say I am overreacting, but when it comes to the Law it's better to understand everything before reacting as it could go good or bad pretty fast.

image.png

Sort:  

These kind of restrictions will be coming in more other sectors, there may be some kind of electronic scale attacks developing and I think you are not exaggerating. Success @arunava