You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are Your Top 3 Favourite Video Games?

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

Wing Commander, I had to up my system from a 386 to a 486 to get it to work at a decent speed.

I always liked and still play a lot of Civilization, I started with the first game, and still go back and play some Civ 5 and Civilization Beyond Earth.

I have also enjoyed my time with the Bethesda Morrowind Saga/series. Currently still playing Skyrim a lot.

So many games throughout the decades, it is hard to honestly narrow it down to a top 3. I don't know if it is because of my time, my age or what, but new games today have just not caught my attention.

Sort:  

I haven't actually come across those games myself but when you have to upgrade your gear to play a game, you know that's when it's gripped and consumed you haha!

I do agree with you that the games now haven't quite caught my attention either or made me want to invest in the latest generation of consoles to play on. Can't justify spending £££s just for 1 game when I have all the ones I want to play right in front of me!

Why do you think these new games aren't quite the same?

I think the game industry went through to much consolidation. A lot of the games became cookie cutters of other games. I used to play a ton of Microprose games, then they were bought up by I think EA, not sure. I liked a lot of Origin games also, but they kind of lost their independence, I bought Diable 3 way back when it was first released, at the time I did not understand it was an online only game, and 7 years later I finally got a chance to play it, I ran through the single person with kicked off the server issue over a two week period, I think it took 11 minutes for all the credit crap to run through, and it was only half the fun that Diablo 2 was.

Independent game makers just do not have the reach they once had.

Yeah you're right and I have to say, after watching a documentary about the history of the Crash Bandicoot games, they really couldn't match up to the original 3's concepts of simplicity. Spyro the Dragon managed to keep it's roots from what I can tell but I'm only going off the remastered trilogy I'm playing at the moment.

You're right about these games losing their independence once they get mopped up by the bigger corps. Don't blame the small gaming companies at all actually, it's an opportunity for them but it comes at a cost hey...