Bozzlife: Worst Gaming Experiences

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

image.png


I have seen several people post with this tag now and as I was reading those posts, there are two games that always comes to mind for me when I think of my #worstgamingexperiences.

When I was a kid the very first gaming system we had was something from sears that could only play pong. From there we graduated to an Atari 2600 and then we were strictly PC gamers until I was able to somehow talk my parents into a Nintendo.

I specifically remember the Raiders of the Lost Ark game for the Atari being extremely difficult. I can remember one very very late night where my dad was actually able to beat the game, but it took many many tries.

One of the most annoying things about the game was the fact that although it was single player, it took two controllers to play it. The player had to keep switching back and forth between the two controllers.

There weren't a ton of actual game screens, in fact most of the action took place in one of five screens if I remember right. It was just mind numbingly frustrating. The worst part was trying to "parachute" to the right location in the map room. I remember having to fall into a "hole" in the side of the screen.

The reviews of the game at the time were pretty decent, but for me it is a hard pass.

The other game that quickly comes to mind is the one that I have pictured above "Conflict in Vietnam". After the Atari we moved on to a Texas Instruments computer where we needed to program all the games ourselves using TI BASIC. From there we bought or built several DOS machines.

I don't know if it was because he served in Vietnam when he was in the Navy, but my dad thought it would be a good idea to buy this game.

I have to admit, I have never been the best at games (even back then), not like some of my peers who seemed to have a knack for it. I enjoy strategy games, but this one was absolutely miserable. We couldn't even get past the first scenario.

It was a recreation of the French being overrun at Dien Bien Phu. True to life, we could never hold out long enough for the reinforcements/supplies to arrive. I am not sure if they expected you to be able to change the outcome of this battle, but after trying a few hundred times we finally just gave up.

Good news for you, if you want to check out this game and see if you can fare better than we did, the game is available to play on archive.org.

An honorable mention for me would have to be the Age of Empires games. I love them, don't get me wrong. It just always baffled my mind how even on the easiest level the computer was able to build so quickly. You would still be chopping down your first tree and they would be sending a full squad of archers to attack you.

My dad and I used to create our own maps and enclose the AI in a huge forest so that they had no choice but to cut their way out before they could expand at all. This gave us plenty of time to build our civilization and be prepared for whatever was coming our way.

Man, I loved that game even though it was absolutely the worst at times!

There you have it. Those are some of my worst gaming experiences.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Sort:  

I didn't play those games but they made me remember one that i had a great time playing. It was super difficult and based on Gulf War 1. I played it on Genesis... so i doubt you would have tried this one but it was fun piloting the helicopter. Great post brother! You can read about the game Desert Strike here. =)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0490883/

I had a sega game gear but my friend had a gemesis. Never played that game....

Game Gear was what GameBoy should have been from the start! You should check out this game. I may even play it tonight just for the sake of nostalgia!
https://www.retrogames.cz/play_1261-Genesis.php?language=EN

I will check it out for sure.

I don't know what AOE game you are referring to. I never thought it was that tough. There are lots of them though, so maybe you played the super difficult one that I have never even seen. That's a pretty creative way to give your side a tactical advantage though!

No, I am sure we were playing the same one. It was mainly AoE and AoE 2. I think the key was to build as many workers as possible right from the start. Like I said, I am not that gud :).