Officially a Minecraft Noob

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

2021-07-21_12.33.35.png


I'm probably about a decade too late, but better late than never right? For the longest time we have been hearing about Minecraft. It has proliferated social media and popular culture to the point that it is probably a common topic in many households across the world (especially those with kids). It is probably fairly safe to say there would be no Fortnite if it weren't for Minecraft.

Honestly, I was a happy individual, contently going about my life with hardly a care in the world without Minecraft. I was never really drawn to it the way that many people have been. I think for me the biggest hold-back was the graphics. I know that is part of the schtick of the whole thing, but having spent my teenage years playing games like Quake 2 and HalfLife, I was happy to leave the 8 Bit Nintendo world behind me.

And then The Uplift World came around...

image.png


Probably, more specifically, RPlanet came around. I had spent some of my WAX earnings from Alien Worlds and RPlanet to purchase some lands in RPlanet. Just recently RPlanet added a burn feature where if you spend 5 million of your in game token Aether, your RPlanet land will also be mapped to a land in The Uplift World.

I saved up some Aether and upgraded all four of my lands to make the plots available in The Uplift World. My only problem... I had never played Minecraft before.

It is a pretty cool concept... The Uplift World is running their own private Minecraft server and if you pair your WAX account with your Minecraft battle tag or whatever it is called, you can interact with your land(s).

Every time someone visits your plot(s) or walks across a piece of land, that owner earns Upliftium. I think the idea is that you want to build up really cool things on your land so people come and visit and then you earn more crypto. Seems like a pretty cool passive income stream if you have the skills to draw the crowds.

The really cool part is you can "delegate" your lands to other users. So if you want to pay someone to build stuff on your land, or bribe your kids/nieces/nephews to do it then all you need to do it add their battle tag to your land. Up to five or seven other accounts if I remember right.

Not wanting to be a total slacker, I went ahead and purchased Minecraft for $26 or whatever it is and tried to get started on my own.

image.png


This is the world that I own my four plots in. One of them is in the middle of that lake. The other is where I am standing. Another is to the far right middle of the map and the fourth I haen't even bothered to track down yet.

The spawn point is in the middle of the screen and trust me when I say it takes forever to walk to any of my plots. The cool thing is at least two of my plots are right next to the grid lines and in the future I think there will be a rail system that will take people quickly from one point to another. So basically, my two plots are right off the rail line which might equal more traffic for me.


image.png


I loaded things up the other day and holy cow does this game have a steep learning curve (for me anyway). I think my biggest issue is, you can't mine materials on other peoples land, so if you don't have what you need, you are either stuck or you have to go to this place called "The Nether" apparently and get stuff there.

My one plot is all sand with not a tree in sight. Like I said, that other plot is in the middle of the lake, and the other plot I found is all mountain with no trees. Since wood is pretty important to get started I think, I was kind of stuck. Thankfully another user helped me out and gave me a bunch of starter stuff.

There seems to be a prebuilt temple on my northern most piece of land which is kind of cool. It is all underground and I thought it was pretty safe until a skeleton showed up and killed me. At the time I didn't have a bed (and I still don't know how to use it) so when I died I had to make the long walk back. Thankfully, I learned how to sprint, but that takes up a lot of food.


image.png

If you are familiar with the game, you are probably busting up laughing at me right now. I was talking to my nine year old niece last night about Minecraft and she was beside herself that I was so clueless. I would ask her a question and she would start with "oh boy" and put her hand on her head like she was trying to house train a puppy.

At one point she said "so there is this term for people who aren't very good at the game, and I don't want you to be offended, but the term is "Noob", you are kind of a noob uncle J". I just started laughing because as painful as it was coming from a nine year old, she was absolutely right!

I asked her about the Nether and the portals to reach them I had heard about in passing. She promptly got out a piece of paper and colored pencil and drew me pictures of how to create my own portal using some kind of rock and fire or something like that.

Part of me feels like I should just buy her some cookies, attach her account to my land and let her go to town.


image.png

She suggested that I watch some YouTube videos to learn how to "git gud" at the game, but I just don't think I can do it. My nephews watch YouTube videos on Minecraft incessantly and I honestly find the majority of the personalities annoying. Like annoying to the point that I want to shove sharpened pencils in my ears and gouge my eyes out with teaspoons.

Besides my lack of skill, my other big concern about the game right now is the fact that there just doesn't seem to be that many players wandering around. Perhaps because it is still a closed alpha? I hope that is the case... If not, it is possible that they are too late to the Minecraft game (like me) and don't have the hype. While kids may still be excited about the game, it kind of feels like the age group that would be into crypto and Uplift World in particular have already moved along.

Another issue I have is the fact that you have to run an old version of the game for it to work properly with Uplift World. I think the most current version of the client is 1.17, but Uplift World requres 1.16.5. Not a huge deal, but it does make you feel like you are "downgrading" just to be able to play the game. Not a great look in my opinion.

It is an awesome concept though, and I really hope it catches on. I'd love to have droves of people walking across my land earning me that sweet sweet Uplifium!

What do you think? Is there hope for this noob?


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Sort:  

I attended MineCon 2012 MineCon . For me, it was a great trip to Paris... for my son, it was amazing!!!

The part that I liked was an exhibit where they were using Minecraft o actually allow the people of small villages to design parks. Once the folks had their design ready in Minecraft, a group of architects and developers actually built the park!!! From imagination to reality.

Seeing Minecraft pairing with crypto is pretty awesome!!

That sounds like it was an awesome experience! I think I could get into it, I just really wish the graphics were better. That is the main thing that drives me nuts about it.

I think the younger generation thinks that the 8 bit graphics are "retro".

While the older generation (of which I count myself a card-carrying member) think, "Been there, done that - we moved on from NES to Sega a long, long time ago". :-)

I totally agree with that! My dad really digs this stuff, he spent countless hours playing No Man's Sky. If I can get him past the graphics and interested I might have him build on my land.

That's PRIME real Estate !!! Your generosity is boundless. :-)


The first two video games that I can remember playing as a kid were Sopwith and Bouncing Babies.

These games are now so basic that you can play them within a browser now.

image.png
image.png

Yeah, those are my kinds of games. I love the archive.org old DOS game library!

My kids earn a lot of crypto playing mine craft.

Oh really?

Mostly on Theta. ,… and other streaming video platforms.

Ah, okay!

They were posting their gaming videos here on Hive too, but didn’t earn much so they moved on.

My granddaughter loves Minecraft, and often plays it on my xbox when she is here, which no doubt happen this afternoon when she is here, she has been teaching me about the game but till now I only play it when she is here

Perhaps I need to look into RPlanet

That is pretty cool. I think you can only play this server with the Java version, so it might not work on the XBox. I could be wrong though.

I will look into it out of curiousity

So cool that a game like Minecraft can be implemented in the world of Blockchain gaming. It could prove to be huge to have a name like Minecraft advertising Blockchain games. It doesn't sound so bad either. Get rewarded for your creativity. Awesome!

Yeah, I think there is a lot of potential there. I just am severely under-skilled. Once it is out of alpha and beta and in full production I think enterprising individuals could make a decent passive income by hiring a small army to build for them. Unless you are creative enough to build yourself. That is definitely not me though!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.