Dread Templar - First Impressions ( Slick 90's Style FPS )

in Hive Gaminglast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Greetings Gamers

In this video and post, I am taking a first look at a game which released on Steam about a week ago called Dread Templar.

I was browsing the new releases section and happened to watch a few minutes of someone streaming this title which was enough to get me curious. Right away this game looks like a first-person shooter from the 90s, like Doom or Duke Nukem.
My Video-4.gif
All gifs and screenshots in this post are made by me from the footage above

I loved playing those games back in the Playstation 1 era so I figured paying the current sale price of £15.29 for this was probably a good investment.

I wasn't wrong, this game rocks! This is a 1 min highlight reel I made for Youtube shorts....it sums up everything you need to know about this title in 1 glorious blood and gore-soaked minute.

The game starts with a brief 5 min tutorial where we learn the basics of the game. The first weapon we acquire is the dual katanas
Snapshot_197.png
These can be combined into a throwing weapon which does a lot of damage but has a long reload time.
My Video-6.gif
Gif by me - From Hell's heart ,I stab at thee!

Our main ranged weapon is these dual pistols...
Snapshot_200.png
They make mincemeat out of the hellspawn that surrounds us...
My Video-7.gif
Gif by me - Do ya feel lucky punk!

Throughout the level, there are plenty of breakable items in the form of these vases and crates which hold extra ammo.
My Video-5.gif
Gif by me - Smashy smashy! I use the katanas to smash the boxes to save bullets

Each of the stages has secret areas. In the first stage, I only managed to find 2 of 7 secrets, this hidden health kit is one of them.
Snapshot_208.png
Snapshot_209.png

Weapons are upgraded at an altar, to upgrade we need to acquire these bloodgems and runes...
Snapshot_212.png
Snapshot_210.png

Golden runes can change the appearance of our weapons.Im looking forward to making more progress to see exactly how this upgrade system works.In the video I only completed the first stage which didn't allow any upgrades.
Snapshot_211.png

In the room next to the altar we acquire the shotgun which is a lot of fun to use, one well-aimed shot will cause the demons to explode....
Snapshot_218.png

My Video.gif
Gif by me - Ouch! Thats gotta hurt!

The environments look suitably impressive and very much remind me of doom.
Snapshot_216.png
Snapshot_222.png
Snapshot_230.png

We have a slow-motion bullet time meter which is built up by killing demons.
My Video-10.gif
Gif by me - The blood splatter effect here reminds me of the House Of The Dead games

The story seems more influenced by the Evil Dead movies which is certainly a very cool thing. As we progress through the campaign, we unlock small pieces of the storyline.
Snapshot_225.png

That's pretty much all there is to explain about the game, it's slick and a lot of fun, and if you ever enjoyed a first-person shooter your gonna love this.
My Video-9.gif
Gif by me -Opps , mind the step!


▶️ 3Speak

Snapshot_235.png

Sort:  

Hi @celticheartbeat,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @celticheartbeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!