PS Remote Play is even more accessible now thanks to the new Backbone One PlayStation Edition

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


PlayStation Backbone.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

The closest thing to a new mobile PlayStation 🎮

If you're like me and have been wishing that Sony would bring back their mobile console options, then today you are getting at least a tad bit of relief from that stress. This may not be a new PSP or PS Vita, but it should get the job done for your mobile PlayStation needs.

PlayStation unveiled a surprise collaboration with Backbone this week.

https://playbackbone.com/playstation/

This is the same Backbone One that many gamers have come to know and love, except this one is tailored to fit in perfectly with PlayStation's white and black aesthetic it has going with the PS5 hardware. It comes with different buttons and it even has a PlayStation logo on the back.

This thing is downright sexy, which made it very difficult to avoid purchasing. Even at the $100 price point, I ordered one as soon as I saw they were a thing.

backview.png

This version is for iPhone only right now, with an Android version coming later in the fall.

anglednophone.png

The controller will be aimed directly at mobile gamers of all types. It works especially well for PS Remote Play.

frontnophone.png

The controller runs off your phone's battery, but luckily there is a charging port so you can charge your phone while playing. There is also a 3.5mm headphone jack for audio (and maybe chat too).

ports.png

This means you can control your PS5/PS4 from anywhere that you have a WiFi or cellular connection.

sideview.png

A minimum of 5mb/s is recommended and of course, you need your console at home to be on a very stable network.

withconsoleandtv.png


Watch my video today for even more information and footage of what the new Backbone One PlayStation Edition is like. I will be doing a full review on this thing once it arrives sometime next week, just in time for me to go on vacation.


If you are looking for a cheaper alternative to make use of PS Remote play, check out these DualSense phone mounts.




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

My NFTs: https://inji.com/@daltono/nfts

Daltono Ocean God.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I'll never forgive Sony for neglecting the Vita they way they did.

I agree, the Vita was so underutilized. Everyone seemed to love that thing except for PlayStation. If they would come out with another mobile PS like Vita/PSP, I'd buy it in a heartbeat.

It makes me laugh that Sony have multiple times been ahead of the industry, only to fuck it up and throw it all away; just as the industry starts to take a turn into that particular area. I don't play games much now, but I've really noticed how Sony has somewhat been left behind as other companies have really pushed to do new things, and if anything Sony has only lost areas of the markets.

  • Ignored multiplatform games and backwards compatability
  • Abandoned handhelds (then Nintendo immediately took over, now Valve and other companies entering)
  • Closed down famous well-established studios; every other company increasing their ownership of studios.
  • Crippled indie growth on the platform (only option is the PS5 which few can actually get).
  • Did get into VR but have mostly done nothing to support it.
  • Panicked and began releasing titles on PC, making the already limited and hard to get PS5 less enticing.

It seems like they just have no idea what they want. And most of their decisions end up being the worst ones as the industry turns against them for it. Everyone else is taking this rapid growth approach to expansion where they jump into every possible market, whereas Sony are just leaving them and then realising several years later that they're now bhind and are struggling to catch up. Should just release a new Vita, backwards compatability, multiplatform games, full connectivity and features across their services (like PS+ and whatever their subscription service version of GamePass is called) products.

I must agree that they have fumbled the bag quite a few times. I used to be hardcore into Xbox but switched over to the PS4 when it launched. As a current PlayStation gamer, I'm still satisfied with my experience and think they have quite a few things to offer in terms of competing with other platforms. They are lacking in some of the areas you have mentioned though, no denying it. I really hope they find a way to nail VR with their new PSVR2. It seems like this might be where they finally learn from all of their mistakes in the past and push themselves to the top again.

This looks so cool. I may have to pick one up for when I am traveling but still need to get my Dark Souls fix.

Literally impossible for me to resist. Basically a PS5 morphed with a Nintendo Switch.

PS Remote Play works surprisingly well too. I’ve been testing it some on my desktop and iPhone both. I’ll have to do further experiments once this Backbone thing comes in. Supposed to be here Monday.

This is so nice! It’s not yet available in my area though. I might get it but not yet sure.

It's the most luxurious option for mobile gaming on PlayStation right now. Somebody like me just had to get one. I'll be sure to post a video this week with my thoughts on it.

Playstation and a mobile console idea is also great to be anywhere in the house and take the opportunity to play with the controller. With other functions like recharging the battery and having the headphones I don't know much but $100 seems a bit exaggerated amount of money but if you have the capital and we like the game why not indulge

As if I wasn't already gaming enough. Now I will have an even more versatile gaming setup. I am so glad this product was released, although it was a bit above the price I wanted to pay for it.

comfort is paid and if it seems a bit exaggerated $100

Dude, I don't remember anything special coming out for iphone for a long time. This thing looks so sexy. I'm sure it will double or triple your gaming pleasure. Plus, you can play while flowerbaby is watching something. I gotta say, $100 dollars is pretty expensive. I'd like to hear first-hand if it's worth it 😂.

This was a huge surprise. I am glad PlayStation and Backbone linked up for this official collab. I'll be sure to report if it was worth the massive chunk of change I spent on this overpriced (yet so cool) peripheral.

 2 years ago  

Greetings dear brother, back again to be active, wow it's amazing to see how technology has advanced amazingly, these phones are getting better and a little more accessible for purchase, although you can not compare the quality of these consoles as amazing as those of a phone, but if I have seen with some with games with totally amazing graphic qualities, greetings.

Mobile gaming is turning into a serious option for gamers who wish to have an enjoyable experience. Phone attachments like this one turn the mobile experience into another level of awesome.

 2 years ago  

it really is, I have been playing some games with my Bison X10 UMIDIGI, and it is a unique experience, on my computer some games don't run, but my phone has given me the opportunity to experience new things.

We are lucky to live in a time where we have such powerful machines in the palms of our hands.

Awesome! i like that it looks sturdy and tough.. won't snap or break easy.

I like your headband, too. 😎🤙

The grip that I have for my Switch actually had a piece of plastic break off. This new one seems to be much more sturdy and I can’t wait to put it to the test.

Thanks! That’s my PlayStation fanboy headband.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

See… we got used to gaming on the go at a young age. My first mobile console was my lime green Gameboy Color.

ED455B3D-5BC9-4BB4-984A-7AA2C9F4FD7C.jpeg

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Good times. My brother and I got a Gameboy Advance to share, but a few years later I ended up envying my buddies Gameboy Advance SP that he had in the beautiful silver finish. Plus something shout how it folded down to a smaller size was just so cool to me.

99F88E83-5C33-485C-8F16-005E340B6007.webp