My entry for the Hive Gaming Community Selfie Contest - featuring Lara Croft

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

AF4D15B3141B44D1AA5147072CCAA641.jpeg

Gaming Contest Alert 🚨🎮

It’s that time again my friends, @hivegc is running another contest for gamers. This time it involves taking advantage of your favorite games’ photo modes. To participate all you have to do is check out this official post by the Hive Gaming Community. Be sure to read the rules carefully so that you will qualify for curation rewards.


7BA79B2D735347B5B99816A01E05B50D.jpeg

My entry to the contest 🤳🏻

I have chosen to share some photos that I captured as Lara Croft while playing Shadow of the Tomb Raider. This is the game I have been playing for the last week and I was able to get it for free with my PlayStation Plus membership. It’s free until February as well as a couple of other games, more details on that here.

So far I am loving this game, I’m quite surprised by it. This is the first Tomb Raider game that I have actually played for more than an hour. I first played a Tomb Raider game back on PSone in the late 90s, it was a demo for the game and I couldn’t even make it past the first part because it used to scare me so much. I can remember starting out in the sewers with dual pistols and being chased by multiple Doberman, I was so young that I couldn’t beat the dogs due to fear and lack of skill.

Fast forward about 20 years and here I am now playing the latest Tomb Raider game which released back in 2018. Shadow of the Tomb Raider is a fantastic game, I plan on taking the time to beat it completely. After I do that who knows, maybe I will play the other Tomb Raider games that I have in my PlayStation library.

154D849EBF9A43E48792760A7ACA76EF.gif

Back when PS4 first launched, there were not that many games. In March of 2013, I purchased Tomb Raider Definitive Edition the day that it came out because I was bored. I couldn’t get into it at the time so it just sat in my digital library ever since then. A few years later Rise of the Tomb Raider was free to PS Plus subscribers and I was able to claim that one as well. I never played it at all, although it was the 20th year celebration of Tomb Raider. Again I continued to sleep on Tomb Raider. Thank goodness I have finally awoken to the fact that Tomb Raider is an incredible franchise.


72F5079805714F1FBDB328C100155260.jpeg

The Island of Swallows 🏝

I started off Shadow of the Tomb Raider in Cozumel, Mexico during Día de los Muertos or The Day of the Dead. Right from the start I was given a choice between playing in 1080p/60fps or 4K/30fps. I began with 60fps, but after a few hours with the game switched over to 4K. I noticed that this game involved much more exploration and puzzle solving than it did combat. This is what pushed me to go for better graphics rather than better performance.


348B1A00F68142BEAF317F719AFCDDEF.jpeg

The Lost City of Gold ⚱️

After spending some time in Mexico it was off to Peru. Venturing through the lush jungles eventually led me to discover a lost city hidden deep within the Amazon rainforest called Paititi. This place was populated by a tribe who was totally disconnected from the outside world. It was pretty crazy talking to the locals and being given hints about secrets that were begging to be uncovered in the area. I found myself being more interested in beating the difficult tomb puzzles and finding all of the collectibles rather than staying focused on only the story and side missions.


F79B6165B75241BC939D07CDA51E232B.jpeg

Explore some more 🗺

I am currently about 30-40% of the way through this game. Some of the other locations that have or will present themselves to me are Kuwaq Yaku and San Juan, which are both in Peru. There are also a few flashbacks which give you control of a child version of Lara Croft and the opportunity to explore the Croft Manor in Surrey, England.

One thing that you must not forget is that you are not alone in the jungle. There are dangerous predators such as the mighty Jaguar that will stalk and eventually attack you. It’s best to be prepared to use either your bow, pistol, rifle, or whatever weapon you prefer. All of which can be upgraded at the many campfires throughout the game. Along with weapon and armor upgrades is a bountiful skill tree.


76DA0CE0075F491AA2EA6E2DE3E16BB5.jpeg

Predatory fashion sense 🐆

Sure you could choose to dress in a simple tank top and short shorts that Lara Croft is best known for, but if you’re like me and have the definitive edition you can swap between a ton of different outfits right from the get go. Here are a few of my favorite outfits that I have worn so far.


All of the photos in this blog were captured by me on PS5.


53F756995B764EA9A582C2EF6CBEA3D7.jpeg

3000E3B1DBF9451EA51BB1129F715C3A.jpeg

D13425BC5CC748C7A73029AC84164351.jpeg

5D705801D2F14C16BC31A47A0E405F22.jpeg

BCC34F971805413189C107482CF323C0.jpeg

1E7FB7D873494B9A8AC61B670CE32358.jpeg

AD2D5076EF8A49EDA20D50A27255BFC1.jpeg

41AB7E0ACD2C4E1E9E95D4D2AC5CAF96.jpeg

Don’t forget to post your own entry to this contest before it is over. Visit here for more details.


Thanks for checking out my blog 😎🤝

hiveordieextendedart1.png

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Message me on Discord 💬Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click heredaltono#5080click here
Sort:  

Good job man those are some sweet selfies!

Thanks a lot! There are so many awesome locations and outfits in this game. Makes capturing a good photo quite easy.

Yeah I knew you would get something nice since you were going with Tomb Raider. Some of those locations are really beautiful.

I really enjoyed this post! I laughed too much for all that epic poses that your character did for the screenshots haha omg I really love the graphics, is just too smooth, the story behind everything is awesome because everyone could really love to visit those awesome places IRL, it could be an awesome trip!

I first played a Tomb Raider game back on PSone in the late 90s, it was a demo for the game and I couldn’t even make it past the first part because it used to scare me so much. I can remember starting out in the sewers with dual pistols and being chased by multiple Doberman, I was so young that I couldn’t beat the dogs due to fear and lack of skill.


Source

You totally got me on this paragraph! I went through the same pain and fear to play that first Tomb Raider, also I had it on English and in that time I wasn't bilingual like I am right now, so you can imagine how hard it was for me to play with a bilingual dictionary on my hand (I was like 8 or 10 years old, I'm 26 right now lol), those are beautiful memories and I think that if I could buy a PS5 I definitively play this jewel!

Awesome entry brother! Good vibes and blessings from Caracas, Venezuela.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed my contest entry so much, I too enjoy reading my own work. It brings me back to the moments in gameplay that I enjoyed so much. Visiting Mexico/Peru in real life would be so cool. Reminds me of the movie Apocalypto with all of the Maya references.

I love all of the poses that games offer in photo mode, you can go for cool killer of a funny jokester. Whatever mood you are in.

I’m glad I was not the only one to be fearful of the original Tomb Raider. We were about the same age when we played it I’m sure, in 28 currently.
I’ve never played a video game with a dictionary on hand, I bet that made things even more difficult. Your English is great now, so congrats on doing such a great job learning another language.

You can play this game on PS4 also, but yes I recommend a PS5 if you’re ever able to get your hands on one. I hope that you can.

Blessings to you and all of your Venezuelan brothers and sisters. I’ve met many great people from there here on Hive.

I loved your captures. This game allows you to get good images, I love playing with the light when I was hanging from a rock with Lara

Although for some strange reason, some captures do not have good resolution. With the game Rise of Tomb Raider, I didn't have that problem.

Thanks dude!
That image you shared looks amazing. You're right about the light beaming through, it makes for quite the spectacular results.
I may eventually play Rise, if I do I'll be sure to compare the image quality between the two.

Something to admire in Tomb Raider, they made an effort to work on the lights. When you play Rise of Tomb Raider, compare the Quality of the captures and then tell me if you see any difference.

Awesome entry. I need to look at this game. I was a huge fan of the Tomb Raider series back in the day.

Appreciate it my friend.
It's a game worth checking out for sure, be prepared to be on edge later on in the game. It gets pretty creepy down in those tombs.

Such a nice post. I don't play games but I certainly know Tomb Raider because all the men in the house aka my siblings, they play. Awesome post!

Tomb Raider is very easy to recognize. It also helps that there are several awesome films featuring Lara Croft. I've always thought she was a really cool character in a mysterious world.

Heeeey, nice pictures man! My two favorite ones are when shes flexing her muscles in front of the dog and the one where she's wearing a mask. Excellent entry. :D

Much love homie! My personally favorite is the one of Lara down on her knees with the pool of water in the background. I’m sure you can imagine why 😉

good job

Thanks you 🤝

Omfg, I always loved Tomb Raider and with all this pictures I love it so much more, they're incredible! Good job, Dal!

Tomb Raider is a guaranteed to be a great adventure every single time. So many lost secrets just waiting to be discovered.
Thanks for the love my friend 😎

i like this game i played some time ago , you really enjoy this game and this post hahahahaha cool post be safe

I'm playing it right now actually. Just beat the main story. Time to clean up all of the collectibles, tombs and crypts. The best part!

I have only played the first ones, haven't played the other yet, but they look cool. I loved the one that I played btw. Tomb Raider has been a great game, with its ups and downs, of course, but very cool.

The puzzles in the tombs and crypts really have become even more creative and still as creepy as they've always been. If you can keep from looking up guides, you will feel so smart for solving many of the mysteries that lie deep within the cavernous locations.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal