Exploring Fallout 4: I finally escaped Maxwell World and it had a tragic ending!

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

I finished my previous playthrough by completing a mission where I had to face massive stone faces inside a huge room. It was the hardest mission I have ever done in Fallout 4 and I believe this was the result of some mistake from the mod developer. Let's not forget this haunted park, Maxwell World, is a mod and it is no part of the official game or the DLCs.

After I finished that mission I needed to get out of that place. While I was leaving I found myself in this water pipe system and the water was radioactive. I received some damage from it because I felt several times but nothing too big to worry about.

Screenshot (1070).png

Even the park's pipelines are colorful. The use of different tones of red is abundant throughout the park.

Screenshot (1071).png

After I left the pipe system I then encountered a small forest and luckily there was no enemy nearby.

Screenshot (1072).png

I noticed several issues while the game was rendering this zone of the park. You can see those 2 objects that appear to be floating but they are in fact, parts of a park's building.

Screenshot (1073).png

The same happened here, you can see a small triangle floating in the sky. It looks very mystical but that is just a rendering error.

Screenshot (1074).png

I also encountered these skeletons that must be from previous park's visitors that were not able to escape.

Screenshot (1075).png

I needed to find an ID card so I could access a certain part of the park. So that's was my current objective.

Screenshot (1076).png

That huge tower is a building in that zone of the map. It is super tall and it has a sinister dark look.

Screenshot (1077).png

The first time, I went there without going through the underground tunnels first. The game was indicating to me I needed to go through the tunnels but I thought it was a bug so I went straight to the tower and I found this weird room.

I also went there without getting the necessary ID card. I guess I was trying to break the mod haha.

Screenshot (1078).png

I wasn't sure if this was all a bug or maybe it was part of the mod.

Screenshot (1079).png

It seemed as if we were inside a matrix and it was malfunctioning.

Screenshot (1080).png

I have never encountered something like this in any other videogame but it sure was intriguing.

Screenshot (1081).png

Once I went inside that room, my character fell and it felt like transitioning from being inside reality to the outside of it. This is something that has happened to me in the past while interacting with mods in Fallout 4. It has also happened to me in this very same mod.

Screenshot (1082).png

The character felt to the abyss while everything looked colorful and bugged.

Screenshot (1083).png

After a few seconds of falling, it stopped failing and then I reappeared back in the room. I concluded this wasn't the way to complete the mission so I decided to go to the underground tunnels.

These tunnels are very dark so I didn't take screenshots of them. This plate is a bit annoying because there are inmoral enemies that follow you around and beat you and you cannot do anything against them, only run and escape.

Screenshot (1084).png

Once I found the correct way out of the underground tunnels, I found myself in an unexplored zone of the map with tons of enemies nearby. Each red dot in the compass is an enemy.

Screenshot (1086).png

I used a lot of bullets and molotovs to survive

Screenshot (1087).png

There were a lot of ghouls as well as several haunted park attractions. These bumpercars were able to regenerate their health so that made it much more challenging.

Screenshot (1088).png

This park always has a lot of fog and the buildings always look as if they were painted using a dark red paint.

Screenshot (1089).png

Fighting off so many enemies wasn't easy but my companion and I made it alive.

Screenshot (1090).png

I went inside a building looking for this ID card and it was a completely empty place

Screenshot (1091).png

I found it weird to see some Christmas trees inside a sealed room. I don't know the meaning of these trees but I am sure it is something sinister like everything in this park.

Screenshot (1092).png

After walking around for a while, I finally reached the place where the item was located but it was guarded by a super weird enemy that also looked like a haunted park attraction. The funny thing was that it didn't move, it was stuck while I was attacking it so the fight was super easy. This was another bug in the mod.

Screenshot (1093).png

Beneath this enemy, there was this interdimensional hole.

Screenshot (1094).png

I threw myself in there just for the sake of it and as expected, it took to someplace I could only describe as the outside of reality. This was the third time I experienced this while playing the mod.

Screenshot (1095).png

You can see how things look while you fall outside realty in the screenshot below. At least the colors were normal and not similar to a rainbow like last time.

Screenshot (1098).png

I went to the house to regroup with the other 2 humans who are trapped in this place and the dead worker who is also trapped here. The 4 of us will be going on to complete the final mission in the scariest zone of the whole park.

Screenshot (1100).png

However, before I went to the house, I noticed the main entrance to the park was closed. It was open at the beginning of this journey because that's where I entered the park.

Screenshot (1103).png

I went to the house to regroup, and then I went to the main tower in the park. After opening the door I noticed it has a clearly distinct look compared to the first time I came here alone. The first time it seemed like an abandoned building with nothing inside it, and now it was full of light with a lot of screens showing information.

Screenshot (1104).png

Instead of an abandoned building, it now looked like a server farm or something similar.

Screenshot (1105).png

I knew this time I will finally be able to escape this sinister park. Every room in the building was "ON".

Screenshot (1106).png

That door with the green square above it was the bugged room that took me to the rainbow like the interdimensional place the last time I came here.

Screenshot (1107).png

I opened the room and it has like 5 doors, which meant that whatever it was behind those doors was super important.

Screenshot (1108).png

This definitely looked like a server farm.

Screenshot (1109).png

And finally, this was the last room in the park and it has a massive tower that looks like it was full of servers and I quickly noticed there were also a lot of hostile robots stored on the upper level.

Screenshot (1110).png

I was forced to destroy the robots and then destroy the core of the tower using a mini-nuke. The battle was fierce because there were like 15 robots more or less. I also noticed I was the only person battling the robots. My companions were nowhere to be seen.

Screenshot (1111).png

Later on, I learned there are different endings for this mod. The one I encountered is the robot ending, and unfortunately, I was unable to save my companion. The type of ending you receive depends on the decisions you take throughout this journey. Besides the robot ending, there is also a demon ending, and another one called the drug ending. However, I think the ending that I got is the one most compatible with my tastes. I am a big fan of the scifi genre and I think the simulation theory is very intriguing after all.

This message from the mod's villain could easily have been directed to me. ^^

Screenshot (1113).png

Once I left the haunted park I was back to the usual wasteland in Fallout 4. I will now be able to return to the normal missions, away from haunted park attractions and ghouls dressed as clowns.

This journey in Maxwell World was entertaining. I was always worried that a bug could break my game so it was a relief to finish the mod without damaging anything.

Screenshot (1114).png

I was also worried for a while because I couldn't find my robot companion, but it was waiting for my return in the Minutemen's castle.

Screenshot (1115).png

I will soon begin to complete new missions although I am not sure which ones yet. I spent a lot of time trapped in the haunted park and now I need to recheck the available missions and complete them in the proper order. I will share a new exploration soon enough.

Sort:  

Damn, one day I must play that game, it looks amazing. I have a good time reading your posts about it, it's very entertaining. Keep it up.

I am glad you enjoyed the post mate, thanks!

By the way, I wonder if you have read about streaming platforms like Amazon's Luna, Xbox cloud gaming, Nvidia's Geforce Now, and other similar cloud gaming platforms? I mention this because if you have fast internet then powerful hardware will be no longer necessary to play graphic-intensive games.

Thanks again for your nice words!