Exploring Fallout 4: I went to Maxwell's World, a paranormal amusement park outside of reality

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

In previous explorations, I have been improving my robot to make it more resistant and with better attacks. Since I knew Maxwell's World was going to be a challenging place, I made sure to improve my robot's armor. Specifically, I added new armor pieces in its 3 sentry legs that increase its resistance and also its maximum carry weight capacity.

Screenshot (726).png

This is how the robot looks after adding the armor to each of its 3 legs. It looks even more like a tank than before. I will probably change its left arm in the future but not yet.

Screenshot (727).png

The leg's armor can be clearly seen in this picture below. It certainly looks like an imposing robot which was exactly what I was looking for. It is now totally different than when it was a small blue robot with clumsy legs.

Screenshot (728).png

After improving the robot, I went to the paranormal location that allows me to access the path to Maxwell World.

Screenshot (729).png

This is one of the destroyed highways that you can find anywhere on Fallout's wasteland.

Screenshot (730).png

The other half of the destroyed highway is this one. It has massive metal stairs that take you to the top.

Screenshot (731).png

I remember finding this place when I was first starting to play Fallout and when I went up I noticed it was a very strange place. I quickly realized this was probably a region for advanced players so I got out. But I made a mental note about its name and its location on the map to visit it later on.

Now, I am returning to this place and with an important goal in mind, to visit Maxwell World and save a woman who is trapped there.

Screenshot (732).png

When you click "open" you are taken to the top of the structure and everything seems very ghostly.

Screenshot (733).png

There was one mission I did a few months ago when you explore the memories of a character, and while inside his mind, you were able to see his neurons. Since this is a mod, the developer must have used the same assets because that weird thing you see in there has the same look than the neurons, it looks exactly the same but this is obviously a different place with a ghostly highway.

Screenshot (734).png

There are a bunch of cars floating in this weird space with inexplicable neurons in there as well.

Screenshot (735).png

That neuron looks like a Lovecraftian monsters xD.

Screenshot (736).png

After walking for a while, I finally saw a massive Maxwell's World poster.

Screenshot (737).png

You can see the poster closer in the following picture. Notice the highway continues in front of the poster so that must be the way to reach the haunted park.

Screenshot (738).png

This poster can be considered the entry into Maxwell's madness.

Screenshot (739).png

If you watch it carefully, even the font looks a little bit macabre. Or maybe that's just my anxiety knowing I will have to face all sorts of crazy things once I reach that evil park.

Screenshot (740).png

This is the park itself. It looks scary even from afar. There is no sun in this place, here the night is permanent.

Screenshot (741).png

The entrance of the park is huge! It is super tall and the entire place has an eerie feeling.

Screenshot (742).png

This is the moment when I realized 2 bad things.

The first one is that I was literally trapped in this place and my game automatically erases your last saved game with the new one, the only way to avoid this is to do a manual save but I didn't do that before arriving at this place. So I am forced to complete this mod if I want to return to my normal missions, and this mod is known for being glitchy!

The other bad thing is that I couldn't find my robot anywhere. Later on, I read on the internet that Maxwell's World doesn't accept companions. My most powerful weapons are with my robot and I have no way to reach it without first completing the mod so I will have to complete it without my missile launcher, fat man (which is a mini-nuke launcher), minigun, and many other powerful weapons! Plus, I improved my robot thinking about this mod and now I won't have it with me :[

I am literally trapped in this place now.

Anyways, this is how the sky looks like. A massive moon and no sun.

Screenshot (743).png

This is the first thing you will see after going through the entrance. The place is full of fog and there are ghouls with clown masks and red hair. It looks very disturbing but they are weak as usual. You can see one walking in the lower part of the image

Screenshot (744).png

I quickly killed it and boy it is an ugly looking enemy with those shiny eyes and clown look.

Screenshot (746).png

There are all sorts of colors everywhere you look. The insides of this wall, for example, look purple.

Screenshot (747).png

The floor looks red and there is a massive ferris wheel with an ugly looking face. On the left side of the image, you can see a clown-ghoul running towards me but I had the knife ready to slice it.

Screenshot (748).png

There is a permanent ground-level fog everywhere you look.

Screenshot (749).png

At the end of this park, there is this massive building and extremely tall building. It is almost like a skyscraper. I guess that's where the last mission is going to take place.

Screenshot (750).png

I quickly found a couple of normal humans that were fighting off some ghouls and I went to help them. There were 2, one of them was from the Brotherhood and the other one was the woman I was sent here to help and rescue.

Most of the buildings are closed but some of them were open and I was able to go inside. There are no pretty sightings in this haunted park. Everything looks scary, take a look at the following screenshot with all those creepy mannequins.

Screenshot (751).png

Another room had a fake cemetery. It is really strange to have a cemetery inside a building.

Screenshot (752).png

This room had some books floating in the air. No explanation is given regarding how is this possible. Maybe this is possible because we are inside the mind of this "Maxwell" guy? If that was the case, then the context of this mod would be similar to The Evil Within's premise.

Screenshot (753).png

When I went out of the house where I found the 2 normal humans, I was visited by a bunch of people! The man at the front is Maxwell himself. He is the creator of this park and the one in control of everything. I still don't know the history behind this park, but I would be sharing more info in future post as I learn more about this strange place.

Screenshot (754).png

These 2 robots are extremely mean. They are always insulting you or trying to discourage you. Everything in this place is corrupted and evil, or at least that what's it seems.

Screenshot (755).png

This is one extensive mod so it will take me some time to complete it, but since I am trapped here I won't be able to attend to other missions/plots until I complete the last mission from this park.

The design of the place looks very nice, it has good original music that's appropriate for a haunted/paranormal park but the mod clearly has several errors. The most common one is that when fighting against ghouls, they usually disappear after receiving the first bullet. These monsters always resist more than 1 bullet but in this place, they just disappear. This is good for saving ammo but bad because it looks like a mod's bug.

The place seems promising but also scary and not because of the new monsters but because of the bugs and the fact I have no way to access a previously saved game. }:()

I will post another Fallout 4 exploration soon.

Sort:  

This is a game I've always wanted to play, but haven't had the pleasure of enjoying it.

It is a fun game for sure, especially with mods.

However, my favorite games a different major Bethesda's saga, TES. Both Skyrim and the independent mod Enderal have been my favorite gaming experiences of recent years. Fallout is super cool too and that's why I have been playing it these past few months.

By the way, did you know Amazon is producing a Fallout series?