Fallout 4 Walkthrough: Recovering the Castle's armory + trying the mortar + taking a beacon from a Robobrain

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

I finished my last walkthrough just before starting a mission where the goal was to recover the extensive weapons and military resources that were stored in the recently conquered castle for the Minutemen.

This part of the castle is well protected, just a look at the door proves that what's behind it is important.

Screenshot (384).png

This was the woman who gave me the mission. She worked in the Castle a long time ago and knows her way around here. She is the most experienced member of the Minutemen when it comes to managing the Castle.

Screenshot (385).png

There were a few enemies in this place but they weren't too difficult to kill. With only one exception.

Screenshot (386).png

The strongest enemy was a very intimidating and hard to beat robot. I was accompanied by Ronnie Shaw (the woman who gave me the mission) and my own robot companion that is much smaller than this big enemy robot named Sarge.

Screenshot (387).png

The battle against this robot was difficult. I threw several Molotov and grenades and even though this was a 3 vs 1 fight, the robot managed to resist for a while.

Screenshot (390).png

This is how the defeated robot looks like after a very hard fight. It is in flames due to the Molotovs I threw at it.

Screenshot (393).png

I was also able to find new clothes from the Minutemen that provided me with more protection! This is how my character is currently looking.

Screenshot (394).png

Rear-view of my character. That backpack might look silly but it increases your carrying capacity. Which in my case is almost always at its maximum level, good thing I have my robot companion to share the weight with.

Screenshot (395).png

I found the Minutemen clothing from that death character on the ground. He also had a good sniper rifle but it was not better than the ones I already have.

Screenshot (396).png

We were able to open a door that connects directly to the central part of the Castle. This only way to open this door was from the inside.

Screenshot (397).png

This is the armory. At first sight, I wasn't very surprised. But there were parts necessary to create the mortar, some mini-nukes, and missiles, all types of bullets, explosives, among many other useful things.

Screenshot (398).png

I already had several Fat Mans stored. This is a weapon capable of firing mini-nukes. I have never tried this weapon because the ammo, the mini-nuke, is very valuable and hard to find. But I know I will be using this weapon at some point in the future. I have used the Missile Launcher which is similar, but the Fat Man is much more powerful.

Screenshot (399).png

Here you can see the mortar already built. In order to build structures, one needs to use the generic workbench. As long as you have the necessary resources and technical knowledge you can build a lot of stuff.

Screenshot (401).png

In order to complete the mission, it was required to try the mortar so my task was to throw the smoking grenade in a nearby building, so an NPC could fire the mortar and destroy the building.

Screenshot (403).png

In the following pictures you can see the explosions:

Screenshot (405).png

Screenshot (406).png

One important part of Fallout that I haven't shown before is the maintenance and productivity in order to sustain the different outposts that are allied with the Minutemen. One key aspect is food production, you need to find some type of food like a fruit or a vegetable and plant it in your different outposts, and then you also need to order a generic settler to be in charge of that plantation. In the picture below, you can see a settler working on that.

One can build stores and develop complex commerce between different outposts in different parts of the map in order to obtain as many resources as possible. Planning for this consumes some time and since I don't play that many hours I have been putting my time in exploring and completing missions instead. But I have built several things, especially in the first outpost. My plan is to build cool robots but I need to increase my science and robotics ranks first.

Screenshot (409).png

After finishing this mission in the Castle, the next one was to help some allied settlers that were being attacked by super mutants.

Screenshot (410).png

They were producing food which might be the reason why they were attacked. They had food resources but no way to defend themselves. Easy prey for enemy tribes.

Screenshot (411).png

When the super mutants attacked again, my robot and I able to help them, and the mutants were all killed.

Screenshot (412).png

After that mission, I started to wander around for a bit to see what I could find.

Screenshot (415).png

Screenshot (418).png

I found a place that was under the control of the super mutants. I was able to recognize this because the building had the typical "decorations" that are always present once the super mutants take control of something.

Screenshot (419).png

There was a special super mutant that was stronger than the other ones. After killing him, I retrieved a unique weapon.

Screenshot (420).png

Even though this cane is powerful, it is not as good as the Pinkman's Blade I found when doing a crazy mission. So I will not be using this cane, I will store it and eventually give it away to an allied settler.

Screenshot (421).png

The next mission I decided to do was related to my robot. I needed to find another beacon that will help my robot identify the location of its enemies.

Screenshot (423).png

I have already found one of these beacons but the robot needs 3 in total. These beacons are always installed in powerful robots that are also protected by other less advanced robots. In the picture below you can see the fight against one of these robots.

Screenshot (424).png

The Robobrain is a very special robot because it uses a real human brain! You can see it inside the capsule on its head. It is also a very powerful robot that can easily kill you if you aren't careful.

Screenshot (426).png

This is the beacon I was able to recover, and I only need 1 more to continue with the mission.

Screenshot (427).png

This is a closer look at the robobrain. It is already defeated and inactive. The weapon on its left arm was extremely dangerous.

Screenshot (428).png

A generic robobrain can be seen here, this is one of the loading screens on Fallout 4. Notice how different this robobrain is from the one in the picture above. One of the coolest aspects of this game is that you can customize a lot of things. Plus, in my case, I also installed some community-made mods that provide even more possibilities when it comes to modifying robots. Once I have the necessary perks in science and robotics I will start modifying my own robot companion.

Screenshot (414).png

This was all for today folks. I will share a new walkthrough in a few days!

Sort:  

Upvoted by HGC!