My Review of Elden Ring.

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

20220319194314_1.jpg
Holy great runes how would I do this without spoiling.
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1245620/ELDEN_RING/


Elden Ring is an action role-playing videogame developed by 'FromSoftware' with the collaboration with George R. R. Martin.

20220319170147_1.jpg
This is a screencapture taken at the start of the Credits.


Let us start with my verdict first. [note I completed the game.]

When I rate things, I always use a three-point system.
1 for Bad
2 for Okay
3 for Great

I must point out that I have very low standards and is easily impressed.
so it's very hard for me to give a score of 1,
and very easy for me to give a score of 3.

Elden Ring. 2022. 3/3. A product worthy of it's base price tag, It's an autobuy for me!.. Nuff Said.


Let there be more promotional trailers!. for they describe Elden Ring more than what I could even write about it.

The Announcement Trailer. (E3 2019).

The Overview Trailer.

Story Trailer.

Gameplay Reveal Trailer.


Okay, now then.

My Opinion:

Elden Ring is a FromSoftware game, which means it's a type of game where you are told what to do to end the game, but will not hold your hand to get there.

what sets Elden Ring apart is definitely the lower entry barrier compared to it's predecessors, the Souls Series, Sekiro, and Bloodborne.

But like it's predecessors you will have to learn in order to succeed and in doing so, your character will die. alot.

The Story is a straightforward one, Become the Elden Lord.

the game is all about the journey rather than the destination. you will meet people that would help you achieve the goal and people that would see it fail.

and the world of Elden Ring, 'The Lands Between' is vast and beautiful.

20220319200157_1.jpg20220306211823_1.jpg20220306175421_1.jpg20220316180156_1.jpg

20220305232646_1.jpg
And just like that, a new adventure starts, In my case butt naked with a club.

I really want to tell my character's adventure. But I can't... for it will spoil the game.


and now we proceed to The Good, The Bad, and the Neutral.

The Good:

  • graphics are amazing.
  • the story is amazing.
  • the music is amazing.
  • the gameplay is amazing.
  • Voice Acting is Top Notch!
  • OPEN WORLD!.
  • Level Design!
  • Magic~
  • Vast Assortment of Weapons
  • Vast Assortment of Armors
  • Consumables.
  • Flask of Wondrous Physick.
  • Summoning Spirits.
  • Damage Types.
  • World Map.
  • Fast Travel.
  • Incredible size of the world.
  • There is so much to do.
  • it has a magical horse-goat hybrid that you can ride around to travel with.
  • Boss Fights!
  • The Character Creation.
  • Maidens!
  • haven't saw a MIMIC treasure box.
  • Not Undead!.
  • Multiplayer!.
  • Watching how other players' characters die.
  • Childish Jokes.
  • Try Finger, But Hole!
  • It's so atmospheric that you end up being depressed on depressing locations.
  • New Game Plus.
  • You can end the game and continue your playthrough and access new game plus later.
  • ..., MAIDENS!.

THE BAD:

  • Watching your character die.
  • There is so much to do!.
  • you start the game maidenless and get heckled about it.
  • a Dragon, for example. we can no longer aim for it's legs when it's status is downgraded from boss to just a normal monster.
  • High End Computers having issues with it.
  • Multiplayer.
  • Dogs.
  • Birds.
  • Level Design.
  • Damage Types.
  • haven't saw a MIMIC treasure box.
  • Difficulty Curve. sometimes it goes from 0 to 100 real fast.

The Neutral:

  • I did not experience issues while having an older under-specced computer.
  • End maps are tedious.
  • Soft capping of stats. (understandable for PVP though.)
  • Farming Runes.(for level up)
  • It's hard to complete quests because you don't know where the NPC is next located. (Which is typical for a FromSoftware game.)
  • Upgrade Stones in caves tend to be the same color as the environs.

and that's it.

I really want to add more but that would spoil the fun.

20220319220431_1.jpg
image.png
I am Pretty Damn Happy about it.


CHEERS. 😆

BUY IT!. 😊

Sort:  

I started reading this without thinking twice so I'm glad it was a spoiler free review. I still have such a long journey ahead of me in this game.

 2 years ago  

that's risky! 😆

Ahh, I see... Yet another thing Mr. Martin has been doing besides finishing Game of Thrones.

 2 years ago  

hahaha oh my god.

but to be fair to him. it's so hard to finish that story.

like those parts which are very very different from the tv series.

So does that mean you beat the main game or everything?

Seems like a good honest review, I am wanting to try but my old crappy CPU just won't cut it.

Congratulations @demotry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!