Battlefield 2042 Beta First Impressions


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007133200.jpg

This is definitely beta

break.png

So I was going to wait until the new Battlefield game came out before purchasing it, but I saw that you get beta access if you preorder, so I figured it would be fun to see how the game is. So far, I am not that impressed with it and I really hope that they polish the game up a bit before launch.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007140141.jpg

I am playing on the PS5, and the graphics are pretty good. Nothing to be super impressed about, but they aren't bad either. There are a lot of times where the textures glitch out or people on parachutes kind of lag in the sky and then teleport down to the ground. The character animations can be a bit sloppy as well.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007140153.jpg

One of the cool things about the game is the environments that you play in. On this stage, there was a massive rocket that took off and shot smoke across the map from really far away.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007140202.jpg

I've seen Tik Toks of the game where people attach themselves to the rockets as they take off and they are pretty fun. The graphics for this rocket launch are pretty impressive when you think about how far away it was and that you can be right up next to this thing when it goes off. There are also stages that have tornadoes that throw shit all over the place and that looks cool.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007140542.jpg

I am pretty bad at the game right now because I don't know the map layouts, but they are pretty massive from what I can tell. One of the cool things about Battlefield has always been the vehicles. They are a bit overpowered though and it makes being on foot kind of dumb because the helicopters or tanks just blast you to pieces.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007134118.jpg

I wonder if Tesla paid to get their vehicle look-a-likes in the game. It seems that all of the non military style vehicles are battery powered, but this is the future, so who knows.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007140643.jpg

I have only played one game so far and I had forgotten how long these matches can be. The scale of these battles are pretty large and they can have up to 128 players in a match. It is nice having that many people in a match because chances are someone usually sucks more than me and I am not on the bottom of the leaderboards when I play.


Battlefield 2042 Open Beta_20211007135245.jpg

I think the game is going to be pretty fun. I am looking forward to grouping up with @daltono and some of the other nerds in the Hive Gaming Community. I just hope that they can get some of the graphical issues fixed before launch.

Sort:  

I agree, there are several bugs. The textures not loading properly has been an issue for me multiple times. The developers said that this beta is a 2 month old version of the game. Already other improvements have been implemented they are not yet public. I’m sure once the beta is over they’ll have even more to get to work on. Probably a good thing this one got delayed until November. I can’t tell you how many bad Battlefield launches I remember. One thing I can’t deny is the fact that by the time the new Battlefield game is about to come out, the previous one is fully ironed out, has a ton of content, and is a fantastic game. Let’s hope we don’t have to wait until post-launch for 2042 to be as amazing as I know it can be.

For sure. I think we are going to have a lot of fun with this one. Hopefully we can get a decent amount of Hive nerds to play with.

I know I’m down! Having multiple 4 player squads would be so badass. I picture like 16 of us taking over any part of the map we travel to. It’s stuff like that which makes Battlefield games even more fun.

Although I will say I love playing solo in the game modes without vehicles. Regular team deathmatch is a lot of fun. Looking forward to that and more in the full game.

Ya. I think we will all have a lot of fun playing together. Even though I am pretty bad at fps games.

That’s what teammates are for 😉
untitled.gif

I'm gonna download this and hope I get time to try it out during the weekend. It will probably be the deciding factor if I buy it or not.

I am not sure if you can get beta access without buying the game. But who knows, you pc players have some witchery you do to get beta access for free.

Pre-order people could play the beta 2 days earlier than everyone else. Everyone gets access tomorrow.

Sweet. So it's an open beta all weekend? I was thinking the beta would close tonight. Maybe I will be able to learn how to not suck so bad at the game.

Yep! I think it's the same for console so you didn't actually have to buy it.


Hello @derangedvisions… I have chosen your post about “-Battlefield 2042 Beta First Impressions-” for my daily initiative to re-blog - vote and comment…
08.jpg
Let's keep working and supporting each other to grow at Hive!...

I streamed this A short while ago and I mostly agree with what you say here.

The game looks alright and is fun. I do think it could get delayed as I have encountered lot's of bugs and although I just said the game looks alright it can be better.

Textures seem to be the biggest issue as of now, I have also noticed bullets not registering when hitting A player so that needs to be looked at too.

have A good one !PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!
@derangedvisions! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
chris-uk tipped derangedvisions (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

man.. these graphics looks bad. the cars picture got me killed.
i hope this game is really fun to play as a squad... i really was expecting some 2042 graphics here... hope you have fun !

best thing in BF is def the size of the map... if you enjoy taking a dab before playing, this kind of giant maps makes you damm immersive. one of the best fps to play high imo lol...