Father of the Year Goes to Kratos


God of War_20211015151324.jpg

They did such a great job with this game

break.png

When I first started playing this God of War game, I wasn't a huge fan of how they portrayed Kratos and Atreus' relationship, but as I continue through the game and see their relationship growing, I think they have done any amazing job with this.


God of War_20211004121357.jpg

The beginning of the game, Kratos was a huge asshole to his kid, but you learn that he actually deeply cares for Atreus and everything he does is to protect him and teach him very important lessons.


God of War_20211004121330.jpg

Being the son of a god that is hunted by the other gods would drive any parent crazy to think about protecting their family. But the fact that Atreus doesn't know that Kratos is a god and that he is in danger, just makes everything about his parenting make so much more sense.


God of War_20211005154230.jpg

The game started off as a journey for Kratos and Atreus to spread the ashes of his wife from the top of the highest mountain, but it has turned into a journey of love and self discovery for these two.


God of War_20211015085111.jpg

But mix in some crazy monsters that are trying to kill them and it is a perfect recipe for a nice bonding experience. I think one of the things that I really like about this game is that as I play it, I reflect on my own relationship with my son as he was growing up.


God of War_20211015145040.jpg

I wasn't the greatest father and was gone to war for a lot of his childhood, but everything I did was to protect him and the rest of our family.


God of War_20211015150817.jpg

Everything that Kratos does is to teach Atreus valuable lessons in life and to prepare him for the day that he won't be there anymore. That really is all you can do as a parent to your children. Just hope that they picked up some wise nuggets of information from you along their journey of growing up and hope that that information helps to keep them safe and successful in life.


God of War_20211015151257.jpg

I just wish I was as cool as Kratos and was able to split the heads of those that wish harm on my family. This is such an amazingly well done game and I am taking my time through this one to make sure that I get as much out of the game as possible. I really hope that the next installment in the series is half as good as this one.

Sort:  

I think making Kratos a father was an incredibly cool decision, especially for all those who know him since PS2 and have played all or almost all of his games (like me). I loved seeing that in this game he wasn't as driven by hatred or spite as in all the previous games, he's a much more serene but much stronger Kratos.

Plus that long bushy beard gives him more respect in my opinion, haha 😍.

I agree. It took some getting used to at first because it wasn't the Kratos that I was used it, but his relationship with his son is awesome and it seems like he wants to be super careful not to hurt his family ever again.

Father of the Year Goes to Kratos

Indeed, who would have thought that the Kratos who cut down enemies in the previous GOWs, and became the god of war, would be capable of teaching wisdom and having a lot of patience with a son. Without a doubt, the father-son relationship in this game is the best

Ya, it is really awesome story telling on the part of the creators.

My daughter has recently started this game, so when I saw your thumbnail it was like "I know that!" Her first comments to me were on this relationship and how harsh he is on his son. She still thinks he could approach it in a nicer way, but would agree she can see a more caring side of him as the game progresses. She seems to be enjoying it, anyway, because she's still playing on it.

Has your daughter played the previous games? Kratos is super hard on Atreus, but everything he is doing is out of love and to prepare him for his future because Kratos knows first hand the trouble that awaits Atreus in his life.

I don't think so. This came with her PS plus subscription when she got her PS5, so she just started playing it. I wasn't aware there were previous games and she might not be either.

Hope the missions in the game are not that difficult to play?

Nah, they aren't that hard. You can adjust the difficulty as well.

it will be easy for those who doesn't know how to play using the difficulty adjustment

Undoubtedly the best father, his son is already trained as a killer of gods.