Review of Assassin's Creed: Valhalla - Pretty much spoiler free

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 11.jpg

My screenshot

A Tale of Epic Proportions

99pyU5Ga1kwr5XhsZkAMz84aJWAi9HZ8KxJmBmYNS2quEjgoug79woJ5NHvwYPKQHyYX5eNoYXP4RAB8W7AagwQGYZrWpt9J2d6m69a5cnk44p2vXf3oYjNCwmh2G8Zm66.png

I have played Assassin's Creed: Valhalla for about 75 hours now and I think I have completed the main story line. There really isn't an "end" of the game with an open world game like this, so it is hard to tell.

This installment of the Assassin's Creed franchise is probably one of the best games that I have ever played. I normally don't play single player games that take this long to complete, but this game didn't have me feeling like I was playing for that long, mainly because the game has such an awesome story.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 17.jpg

My screenshot

Graphics

I played the game on an XBOX Series X and it was beautiful. The devs did an amazing job with all of the little details, like how the light in the world changed colors depending on the time of day and if sun was rising or setting.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 18.jpg

My screenshot

The atmosphere that has been created looks so good. The smoke and the fog really add to all the different cool lighting effects in the game. I spent a lot of time running around the world at night and looking at all the different lights in the distance. The orange glow of lanterns and fires in the distance really help to immerse you in this massive world and make you feel a part of it as you explore.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 14.jpg

My screenshot

Controls and Camera

When I first started playing, I wasn't a fan of the controls. Mainly because there are some minor differences in combat between this game and Assassin's Creed: Odyssey. But after playing for about 5 hours, the controls began to grow on me.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 15.jpg

My screenshot

The camera in the game could use some work. There are a lot of times during combat that the camera would go all wonky and be super close up and turn around. It was pretty annoying when it happened, but was pretty easy to correct. Another thing that I wasn't a fan of was how far away the camera would get sometimes during the executions, which made it hard to see what was going on.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 6.jpg

My screenshot

Music and Sound

The Assassin's Creed games have been known for their epic music scores, and Valhalla is no different. As you explore the different areas in the game, the music changes when you find new areas or get into combat and it really adds to the whole ambience.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 3.jpg

My screenshot

When you are in your longship, you can choose to hear your vikings play a song or have them tell stories of past raids. The stories are pretty funny sometimes.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 20.jpg

My screenshot

One of the funniest stories was when Eivor was riding with one of his old Viking buddies and he told about the dude stuck a stick up his butt and ran around with it, so he was nicknamed "Ass Stick". The guy got a bit upset and reminded Eivor that it was his dragon tail and not just a stick hanging out of his ass.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 9.jpg

My screenshot

Story

The story takes you across several continents, Valhalla and Asgard. Each area with a carefully knit tale. The game gives you different options to choose paths during the story, and those choices you make, craft the direction of the story and some of them even come back to haunt you or reward you in the future.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 10.jpg

My screenshot

As I got closer to the end of the game, some of the characters began reminding me of the different choices I had made and was saying how those choices had turned Eivor into the leader that he had become.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 7.jpg

My screenshot

The game has so much content to it and such a cool story. I can't wait to see what the next installment in the Assassin's Creed series is going to be, but I think it is going to be hard to top this one, mainly because I am a huge fan of Norse mythology.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 16.jpg

My screenshot

One of the funniest parts of the game was when I had to wear a skull mask and go trick or treating around a town. Then I had to find this one crazy dude out in the woods and trick him into thinking I was a ghost.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 19.jpg

My screenshot

Another funny part of the story was when Eivor and another dude got super drunk and chased chickens around. After chasing the chickens, the dude I was drinking with starting hitting on me and wanted to have sex, but I denied him. The next day, the dude was still mad that I didn't have sex with him.

Assassin's Creed® Valhalla 21.jpg

My screenshot

Such an awesome game

Overall, this is an amazing game. Sure there are minor things that could be fixed, but overall, it was a very good gaming experience that I think is going to be hard to top for a while. It had amazing next generation visuals that really draw you into the very well crafted story. I spent a lot of time just wandering the English landscapes and admiring the world that was created for me to enjoy.

Thanks for taking the time to read this review of the game. If you have played it, let me know what you thought of it as well. I hope that you enjoyed the game as much as I did. Now on to the next game.

Sort:  

Nice writeup. I was considering getting this but I have always been a bit apprehensive to get involved with any AC games because of the focus on stealth. I haven't played one of their games in quite some time but maybe you can tell me, is this game one of those AC games where you have to stealth constantly or is it up to you how you want to handle it?

I hope that makes sense :P

I don't really try to be stealthy at all in these games. I just run in and start smashing people's faces. You can choose to be stealthy if you want, but it isn't required.

!ENGAGE 20

well that is fantastic news. I see it is on special. I might have to pick it up. Thanks for the help.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @derangedvisions, here is a little bit of BEER from @cryptoyzzy for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.