Remembering Skyrim after Nine Years of its Launch

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

image.png

The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim was launched on November 11, 2011

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim was and still is one of my favorite games of all time. I was introduced to this franchise by a friend many years ago, I remember that we were walking through the streets, and he wanted to pick up flowers that we saw on the road. I asked him what was he doing (or thinking) and he told me that he had been playing The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, a game where you could be anyone that you wanted and every action that you made had a reaction. He sold me the game very good and when I had a chance to play it, I enjoyed a lot.


This is an interesting video about this epic game.


It took me some time to own the game but when I got it I played for hours. I remember that my favorite activity was grinding: I summoned a skeleton (which raised my Conjuration Skill), then hit it with my bow and arrow, fireball, axe, sword to increase those skills and then let it hit me for a while to increase my armor skills, when my health was low I killed it and then cure myself to increase the restoration skill, it was fun!


image.png

Source


After Oblivion, I also played Fallout 3 which is a very different game with a different theme and environment, but they have some things in common. They both are played (mostly) on First Person and some skills are similar. I loved these games by Bethesda, so I was looking forward to Skyrim since I first heard the announcements.


image.png

Source


The long wait started

You can't imagine how hyped I was for this game. I saw the trailer a lot of times and each time I had goose bumps. I read articles about it, I even had a bookmark with a timer for the launch date. I moved mountains to be able to play it. I did not have the money to buy it, so I had to sell some old games to get it.

The first time I saw a gameplay, I was very excited and had my eyes opened for every little detail. Here is a video of that gameplay:



I remember that I contacted several stores in my city to ask if they were going to have it on launched day, sadly many confused the game with another game that had nothing to do with Skyrim... Because I was not going ot be able to buy it on the day of launch I decided to get it for PC on Steam. That worked on theory but my PC was not powerful enough to run the game, it was playable, but it looked and ran like crap. Some weeks later I bought it for Xbox 360.


image.png

Source


I'm not sure how many hours I have played this game, to be honest I haven't had enough, I still want to play it with Ultra Settings on a high-end PC or play the Nintendo Switch version. I think the wait was worth it. May Skyrim live for ever.


Another video that highlights the impact of Skyrim.


Tagging my friends @ilazramusic and @dimeshana because they are also big Skyrim fans!
Sort:  

Skyrim is great, arrows in the knee and all.

hahahah yes! I remember all the memes that came with this game. The arrow to the knee was a classic, still is.

That game looks so amazing, I must play it.

It's a great game! Can't recommend it enough!

 3 years ago  

Gran videojuego y con gran trayecto, sin contar la cantidad de mods que su comunidad ha creado, no he tenido oportunidad de disfrutarlo al 100% pero sin duda alguno es de esos videojuegos que cada vez que lo instalas puedes llevarte hasta 5 horas de juegos fácilmente, muy buen post amigo ❗un saludo❗🐻🎮🚀

Logo comentarios editado.pnglogo 2 editado.png

1 (234).gif

Gracias por tu comentario! Sí, es un gran juego. Yo evitaba ponerle moda porque a veces me emocionaba y le ponía muchos y ya después el juego no servía jajajaja. Saludos @sadbear.

Congratulations @eddiespino! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 85000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 3 years ago  

Ah yes, Skyrim. Countless hours well spent in an awesomely immersive world. Although I have to admit that I got rather quickly annoyed by the dragons which are basically just slowing you down once you've completed the main story line.

And as with any other TES-game. After some time you just mod it till it breaks :D

Hahaha yes! Dragons could be annoying... There should have been an option to disable them, I'm sure there were mods for that. I played it more on console because my PC was never good enough to run. But I had a chance to mod it and as you said it broke quite often. Thank you for your comment.