What is it like to be an adult gamer?

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

Video games is a very wide world where you can get different people of different ages, cultures and many more things, because always in a meeting of gamers you will see really incredible things, one of the most shocking is to get older people or adults in this great hobby, however, the life of this type of gamers is not easy because of a very important factor called time.

When we are children and we don't have any kind of responsibilities life is a world full of surprises, every day you learn new things. For my part I always wanted to play sports, but for some reason my mother never supported me in that, to calm my anxiety she decided to give me something that I still keep with great affection, a Nintendo Entertainment System.

Those memories where they only let me play on weekends are very valuable, I only had 4 titles on that console and I played them so many times that I learned each of their levels by heart, then the years went by, my vice with video games was increasing as well as computers, thanks to this I studied many things that today are part of my economic stability.

There comes a time when you reach an age and you start to have responsibilities, including going to work and study at the same time, having to buy things for the home, among others, while you want to buy and play several video games that catch your attention, however, there is a problem that I mentioned at the beginning, time, which does not allow you to enjoy any video game extensively.

When I was young I used to wake up easily playing any title, as well as with my friends in the longed games of Half-Life and diablo 2, but due to different occupations that you choose as you grow up, you stop earlier and your energies get weaker as the day goes by, producing that at night you are tired, so much that you fall asleep with the controller in your hand.

When you have a little time to clear your mind and decide to play a few games of an online video game, what happens is that many of your anxieties or frustrations are transmitted in the game, making a kind of instability and not being able to play properly or correctly. It is also the case of RPG games where you need a long time to complete them, these usually have to dedicate at least 100 hours to be able to reach to see various aspects and scenes of the game, others cover 300 hours, this sounds very attractive, but when the time factor enters our lives, it seems that it would be endless to see the end.

In my case I do not have children, but I have friends who have them, they were pure gamers, they spent hundreds of hours playing any video game, but the time and dedication they must give to their children do not allow them to enjoy that same way of yesteryear, there are simply more responsibilities that shorten those little moments where we can play.

Despite all this, there is something that all experienced gamers of age can say, and that is that we have seen a great part of the history of video games, the evolution of consoles, how companies came to an end and were never seen manufacturing consoles or developing video games, also being able to play and observe the first revolutionary and famous games, the first steps of online titles, and many more things that make us a bible about this wonderful universe.

If you are one of those people who don't have much time and are always looking for a little space to play, tell us in the comments section how you felt when you were young and what the difference is today.


See You!!!

Para ver las fuentes de las imágenes debes darle click sobre ellas

To see the sources of the images you must click on them


Tutoriales para Hive



¿Deseas ver este post en español? Visita: Exxp : https://www.gaboxreviews.site/opinion/que-es-ser-un-adulto-gamer/

Sort:  

one thing I have experienced as I get older is that I don't usually enjoy the latest crazes nearly as much as younger people do. I don't really play any FPS games and I find that I prefer game styles that are from "my generation" but just with updated graphics and sound. The games I have enjoyed the most in the past couple of years have been 2d side scrolling platforming metroidvania games like BloodStained: Ritual of the Night and Hollow Knight

I play the other games but I lose interest long before the end for the most part. Hell, I didn't even finish Witcher 3.

BloodStained: Ritual of the Night was for me one of the games that I enjoyed to finish it 100%, it took me hours, but definitely caught me from the beginning.

It happens to me with many current videogames, I play them to see how far they catch me but for some reason I leave them aside, while others in the classic style entertain me much more, in that aspect we are similar.

However, when a remake of a classic video game comes out I am willing to play it and enjoy it, like for example resident evil 2, although sometimes the time factor affects me, when I go back to the game I forget what I had to do.

Thanks for leaving your comment and support this little gamer corner colleague. Regards

the time factor affects me, when I go back to the game I forget what I had to do.

This is a big problem for me with games that use all the buttons on the controller. If I take just a few days break it means that once I return I am not going to remember the buttons. One of the worst things I can do to myself is quit at a tough boss battle. If i do that I basically ensure that I am never going to progress any further in the game.

I can strongly relate to this post for several reasons. First of all I'm absolutely agree about not having energy to play videogames as an adult, I mean... Using the same 100 + hours RPG you used: I can't allow myself to properly inmmerse in such compromise if I can only dedicate it like, 2 or 3 hours every now and then. I work a lot both inside and outside Hive, so when I play I try games with short campaigns. Second, I don't have children either, but even so I don't have too much free time, so... I feel you buddy.

I miss those gaming days, I remember dedicating thousands of hours to many RPGs.

Awesome post! :)

This post has a very interesting topic with a problem that I have felt very identified with lately, sometimes it happens that even having time to play, it is difficult not to prioritize other things such as resting or simply sharing with your family or your partner, it is ironic that when we reach the point in our lives where we can afford the video games we want there are other priorities that get in the way.

I think that's one of the reasons I enjoy Hive so much, it's a place that gives me a clear incentive to indulge in this hobby, albeit intermittently.

I'll just say something, it's a very good question

However, I think that it is basically the same as being a youngster, to play there is no age, the limit is set by yourself

Gamers not count their age or life's!
We are Gamers, because we want play for fun or for be the best.
Great post, you put so much effort bro! ;)

I can strongly relate to this post for several reasons. First of all I'm absolutely agree about not having energy to play videogames as an adult, I mean... Using the same 100 + hours RPG you used: I can't allow myself to properly inmmerse in such compromise if I can only dedicate it like, 2 or 3 hours every now and then. I work a lot both inside and outside Hive, so when I play I try games with short campaigns. Second, I don't have children either, but even so I don't have too much free time, so... I feel you buddy.

I miss those gaming days, I remember dedicating thousands of hours to many RPGs.

Awesome post! :)