holoz0r's A-Z of Steam: Project Cars 2

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

image.png

I'm not going in alphabetical order anymore. Please help stop this insanity. I got sick of Gran Turismo 7 on the PlayStation, I got frustrated with Automobilista 2's interface and genuinely tough driving conditions, and a lack of what I felt was adequate force feedback, and some time ago, I bit the bullet and went on over to Project Cars 2.

I should have listened to the hive members that kept recommending this game to me. I'm going to put it in a large, aggressive font right here:

Project Cars 2 is the best VR racing game that I've played so far.

image.png

Sure, the Assetto Corsa game has more customisation, and Assetto Corsa Competizione is more focused on a single class of excellently simulated vehicles, but I have not had as much pure fun with those titles as I have with the twenty or so hours I've spent with Project Cars 2.

In virtual reality, I'm able to quickly adapt to new vehicles in Project Cars 2 and drive to my limit very quickly, with the process then being figuring out the best racing lines and gears to use around each corners.

Even though I've only played the Formula Rookie championship (and failed to win it) - I've learned so much about the dynamics of the vehicles, and the fact that this is a highly technical simulation which is at the same time, highly accessible.

image.png

It even has the "Azure" circuit, which means I can tear around Monaco if I so please, and relive my memories of Gran Turismo 3 on the PlayStation 2, but instead do it in VR, and instead, do it in highly realistic vehicles that handle in an unforgiving manner if you do not genuinely respect their power.

The customisation options within the game are second to none. There's even a "n00b" tuning mode for each car, where you can make adjustments using plain language, without needing to understand any technical terminology around how many newton metres of torque must be applied to particular bolts in order to extract maximum performance out of certain components.

The game is ludicrously pretty within a VR headset. I found myself absolutely enthralled by the depth on the in-car instrumentation, with analogue speedometers actually having depth, self shadowing, and needles that are clear and legible, even when they're a tiny speck of the interface as your tear around at obnoxious speeds.

If you have any doubts about getting any racing game at the moment. Have zero doubts about Project Cars 2, and buy it quickly (before September 21st) - because it will then be removed from sale forever.

image.png

This is due to licenced vehicles and tracks expiring after that date.

With a wheel, and a virtual reality headset, this game is complete perfection when it comes to racing. It is a shame about the lack of more mod support when compared to something like Assetto Corsa but who needs mods when the underlying game is perfect as it is?

image.png

I think I've finally found my sim racing home, and boy am I glad to be there.


Want more content from me?

Witness my futile efforts to play my Steam Game collection in alphabetical order.

Are you aware that I love photography? Check out my work in a collection.


If you haven't started playing Splinterlands, you should do that immediately. It's very good fun.

If you want to see my Splinterlands antics and rants live, Find me on Twitch

If you prefer sleeping in your designated time zone, go watch replays on YouTube.


Thanks as always for your time!

Sort:  

Looking forward to see you stream this!

Stand by, working on the set up now :D Too many bloody cables.

Made me want to place racing game actually

 2 years ago  

I'm not going in alphabetical order anymore. Please help stop this insanity.

😮

In that case... straight to S with you, and to Stellaris. XD

If you have any doubts about getting any racing game at the moment. Have zero doubts about Project Cars 2, and buy it quickly (before September 21st) - because it will then be removed from sale forever.

I'm not much of a car racing person, but I'll have to see if my partner's interested in this one! Your write-up is very persuasive!

My write up is also based on a single freakin' league! The other cars that I've tried one other circuits are super fun as well, but at least 90% of the driving I have done in this game so far is in the Formula Rookie cars, and on that alone, it felt worth the price of admission (from the Humble Bundle store), Steam's pricing is egregious!

Regarding Stellaris... I've already started "Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII", and plan to finish that next. :D