holoz0r's A-Z of Steam: Titanfall - going all over the place

in Hive Gaming11 months ago

image.png

I've decided that my A-Z of Steam play throughs should have some more variety in them. You may have noticed this recently that I'm just playing what appear to be random games, in a different approach to completing the list.

If it just so happens that I land upon something in a series that I own the rest of, then I'll play them. Now, to Titanfall 2. I never played the original. I have no desire to do so. To be honest, the only reason I purchased Titanfall 2 was becuase it was about $3; and I had heard many good things about the game.

image.png

I was told that the Singleplayer campaign was amazing. I was told that it constantly introduces new ideas and keeps you hooked with fast paced gameplay, and tons of action.

I was very displeased that at the commencement of the game, the first task I really needed to do was wall running and some platforming sections. For those that have read reviews by me in the past, you will know that there is no genre of game that I hate more than platforming.

image.png

Titanfall 2 makes this somewhat tolerable and fun - for once, it has a first person perspective, and you get ludicrously powerful double jumps.

Titanfall 2 sees you become bonded to a mech, and as its pilot, you fight against the forces of an opposing force, who have started conducting operations on a moon. Turns out that they have some really evil planet-destroying tech that you need to stop them from using, or the aptly named planet of Harmony will be destroyed.

There's a lot of variety in the game, but the one criticism that I have of the weapons is that they all feel somewhat the same, at least when they are projectile based.

image.png

The visuals in the game are rather excellent for a game of its age, and the sound production makes everything sound very satisfying and meaty, be it through headphones or speakers.

The other downside to the single player campaign is the fact that game is incredibly, incredibly short - I started the campaign at about four in the afternoon, and was finished by seven forty in the evening.

For $3, that's great value, but if you had paid full price for the title upon its release, I doubt that you would have been really happy with that. Sure, there was meant to be a multiplayer mode in the game, but I wasn not interested in this at all, if it even worked at all...

If you're looking for an action packed romp (and can afford to download 65GB for those four hours of entertainment) - this is much better value than a cheese burger. It's probably healthier for you, too.


Want more content from me?

Witness my futile efforts to play my Steam Game collection in alphabetical order.

Are you aware that I love photography? Check out my work in a collection.


If you haven't started playing Splinterlands, you should do that immediately. It's very good fun.

If you want to see my Splinterlands antics and rants live, Find me on Twitch

If you prefer sleeping in your designated time zone, go watch replays on YouTube.


Thanks as always for your time!

Sort:  

Heard great things about this game. It's been praised a lot but I never played it myself. Weapon variety is a shame. I'm currently playing Ratchet & Clank on the PS5 and even though there's like 16 weapons in that game they all feel pretty unique.

That's great. You get that feeling in the original Quake style games and Unreal Tournament titles. Everything feels special and has a different purpose. Here, it all makes enemies go become dead; just at different rates.

I've never played this game before but I have a friend who says it's fantastic and has a great variety of weapons. The images are very attractive make me want to try.

It is very easy to digest as a game. The platforming sections were a bit annoying, but that's coming from someone like me who truly despises platform elements in games.

I'm getting very HALO or N.O.V.A vibes from this beauty. 4 hours is really short tho. I've always wonders how long is long enough for these types of games. Overall, sounds like an immersive game with its strengths and weaknesses.

You know I've never played a Halo or Zelda game? :)

Just one question whats the name of this game and is it a play to earn game psyberx?

The game in this review is Titanfall 2.

It is not a play to earn game. It is a commercial game published by Electronic Arts.

Ohhh i see hmmm might give it a try love games like this

Even if I don't play games like this, I must commend them for the visuals
It is looking so real

Yeah, it looks pretty good.

The multiplayer worked fine probably as I remember 18yo and his friends playing this one a lot.

And apparently we're supposed to be doing a roleplaying game set in that universe which I'm slightly disappointed about as I requested scraptech and the idea got a lot of enthusiasm from the rest of the group but then apparently we ended up in Titanfall somehow XD (there is also an online component to the forming group that I don't know but the game hasn't started yet so no idea what's happening).

At a guess they probably focused more on the multiplayer stuff which is why the single player mode is just kind of there.

Just go to Battletech for strategy RPG in this setting.

We're using Mekton apparently.

A few days ago I followed you because I have a lot of interest inside gaming and the way I saw you share such games with us this game looks to much interesting. I have been very fond of watching and playing Fighting since childhood. This game graphics looks good.

I have a few hundred more video game reviews to publish and write, and a few hundred more games to play. I'm not going anywhere anytime soon!