A Beginner's Adventure in Raft

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

header.png

During the Steam Summer Sale, as well as Parkasaurus, I purchased Raft. During the first 15 minutes I thought I found a bug, but it turns out what happened to my character is what's supposed to happen if your raft drifts away... woops.

Anyway. This is my story.

lnr.png

I'm alone on the open sea. What the hell happened? Chunks of wood and debris float past, the ship I was on is gone, and I'm laying on a piece of the hull. Awkward. Won't be getting my security deposit back now.

Apparently I stole a hook from the ship. That could be useful. Maybe there's food scattered amongst this debris. I am pretty hungry.

1.png

A wooden plank drifts towards me and I throw out the hook.

I miss. The plank passes me by.

There's a barrel in the distance. I ready my hook, wait for the barrel to get closer, and throw the hook. Of course, I miss again.

In fact, I miss most of my throws. Wood, leaves, various plastics and barrels continue to drift past, slightly out of reach, until I stop aiming and just haphazardly throw the hook out. A plastic jug is drawn back to me.

My heart swells with pride.

Great success.

3.png

My heart falls as sudden as it leapt and I feel as the blood drains from my face. There are sharks in the water. Circling me. Have they been there the whole time?

I move to step back, away from the shark, and teeter on the edge of the wood that gives me safety. There would be no running away.

4.png

The shark chomps on the piece of hull, tearing a piece off with its great teeth.

I need to get to land.

I need to get away from these beasts.

I need to live!

2.png

There is an island in the distance. I pray to a God I've never prayed to before. Please let me reach this bastion of safety. I'll build a shrine, a temple, whatever you please!

I must reach land.

I don't want to be eaten by a shark...

I don't want...

...to be eaten...

...by a...

Wood splinters and I clench my eyes shut, waiting for the end.

8.png

It was not to come.

I open my eyes to see lush grass and beautiful flowers. Trees dotted with mangoes. Coconuts. A paradise.

I turn around and gaze over the ocean. There's my broken hull, teeth-marks clearly etched around the missing chunk, lightly bobbing against the land.

It had brought me to safety. Thank you.

5.png

Leaving the broken hull at my back, I explore the island. It's smaller than it appeared when I was moving towards it. There are four trees, sparse land, and a lot of rock.

This small area would not sustain me. I would need to build a raft, a better shark-proof raft, and find a new island.

Would four trees be enough wood to craft a raft? Please, let it be so.

6.png

With a swish of my hands I transform plant fibre into a rope and wrap it around some wood, creating a makeshift axe. Hopefully this creation can manage the trees.

Chop. Chop. Chop.

It manages the trees beautifully.

Inspired, I whip up some more rope out of plant fibres and create a hammer suitable for making my new raft.

Perfect.

Imaginary angels sing as I raise the hammer into the air and prepare to make the tiny boat that would hopefully make it to my next destination...

7.png

Thwump.

Splash!

Water rises up around me, surrounding me, there's nothing beneath my feet. What the hell happened?

I look around, wildly.

There is no island, no land, nothing in sight.

I look down.

The ocean is deep here. Very deep. I swallow, heavily. The sharks are definitely going to get me now.

A single tear rolls down my cheek. I close my eyes. Resigned to my fate.

I hope, at least, that I'm tastier than the last human they ate.

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by! 🦈

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Raft.

Sort:  

This is quite a fun game. I've not checked back in for a while to see if they have added to the story.

 3 years ago  

I didn't even realise it had a story, haha. 😮

There might be a little something to find. I won't say anymore.

 3 years ago (edited) 

LOL I never thought I would laugh so much at a game story, I didn't know Raft but it's cute. Bad luck on your journey hopes the shark liked the food at least. I wish to see what else happens on your adventure haha

 3 years ago  

Haha, glad you enjoyed it! 😅

Hopefully my next adventure goes a little more smoothly. At least I now know that I have to anchor my raft when I go to an island or all will end in doom! xD

Hahaha that always happens in the first games! The next one will be better for sure. This game must be crazy in co-op with friends

Haha, awesome story! I've sen this game and it looks cool. I just get so bored with survival these days. Maybe if I get back into the genre one day.

 3 years ago  

Cheers! 🙂

I've been looking at it for a while but didn't really want to grab it because of early access, but saw a few friends playing it and felt the temptation strike, haha. I do like a good survival-craft! It's just hard to find a good one.

This is a great game, I tried it exactly a year ago and I really liked how much fun it can be, it reminds me a lot of shipwreck movies xD. Although I didn't really like its crafting system, I think it's a bit basic, maybe they should add a lot more things and more dangers and islands, however it's a very good survival game.

 3 years ago  

They did an update recently called the Renovation Update, which I think is adding more stuff to the raft and decorations and things. I'll need to give it another try soon, and this time not lose my raft, haha. 😅

Like you I had seen this game in stem days ago, but I could not buy it and I like it very much, because I had already seen it very late. But the Raft is a tremendous game I have always wanted to play, I saw videos before Vegetta777 with Willyrex and that and I really liked a lot since those days and I've always wanted to play. No doubt it's a great game!

 3 years ago  

Hopefully one day you can play it!! 😁

Yes, I hope I can play it because it is a good game "well, a tremendous game" and I want to play it for a long time, because I like the way it is.

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 650 posts.
Your next target is to reach 700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!