A Hardcore Minecraft Adventure!

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

header.png

Things are so much scarier when you've got your game set to hardcore mode. Your death is the end, everything you've done becomes a mass of vanishing pixels, and you mourn your character's demise. Not really because your character is gone, but because all you have accomplished has.

All those hours... gone.

1.png

I've never played a hardcore game of Minecraft before and lately there have been a few other people doing it, so, naturally I had the urge to jump on the bandwagon!

In my previous games, I have died from a great many things. My shift key not working whilst building up on high and plummeting to my doom; excitedly mining for diamonds only to then fall into a pool of lava the diamond block was concealing; not watching my pickaxe in the Nether and getting set upon by a bunch of zombie pigmen... just to name a few.

I've had many mishaps. So I'm curious how long I'm actually going to last before I do something stupid and lose everything. 😁

Also, if you're curious, the texture pack I'm using is PureBDCraft's "Vanilla" pack. It's been my go-to since I first found it waaaaay back in the day. It's not entirely up-to-date; I've noticed a few original textures when it comes to newer things in the game, like, copper blocks, but I'm sure that'll be rectified soon enough.

2.png

And so, we begin.

By some miracle we actually start on the land in a nice-ish location. The past few times I've started a new game, I've literally started IN THE STONE and if not for cheats would suffocate before escaping. No cheats in a hardcore game, so, I'm grateful to be on land. 😜

3.png

And there's a shipwreck nearby!

I very quickly loot it and then set about finding a very quick location in which to start mining and preparing myself for the dangers ahead.

4.png

As nice as this location is, it's not quite what I want.

It's a small island, surrounded by many ugly stony islands, and there doesn't seem to be any villages anywhere nearby. So my intent is to mine, make basic armour and tools, then pack up my resources and find a new area to call home.

5.png

Ta-da!

Gathering all the iron for this took longer than expected. Turns out the area I chose to dig within wasn't the most resource-heavy. I did find plenty of copper! But honestly, I have no idea what use it has and I couldn't make armour out of it, so just kept a couple stacks of ingots and ignored the rest for now.

I'm a pack-rat in Minecraft. I can't help myself. I end up creating a giant bank, full of chests with every single thing in them, so those copper ingots will have a right home soon enough.

6.png

And so, with my trusty new armour and new tools and everything important that I owned now in my inventory, my Minecraft Lady threw together a boat and set sail upon the open seas.

I was searching for a few things. I like those big dark oak forests with the giant mushrooms and I usually try to set up base there, but I also like the jungle, and it would be nice if I found a village or two as well.

So I set forth until I found somewhere to begin my new home.

7.png

About 1000 blocks away, a jungle greeted me and I followed its river.

At the end of the river... I was on the cusp of four different biomes! And the forest bit wasn't the ugliest either. So, despite not seeing any villages nearby or any dark oak forests, the idea of four biomes within easy reach was intriguing enough to choose this area to settle down.

We've got the jungle, a normal forest, a swamp, and just past the swamp looks like a tundra area.

I'm happy with it!

8.png

With my location chosen and the sun still shining, I quickly set up a basic underground base where I would mine, and got to work!

Diamonds.

I needed all the diamonds. Plus XP, of course. Must be prepared for when I build my library and everything.

9.png

During my journey all the way down to y-11, I found this cute little fellow.

These things weren't in the game last time I played, which... I think 1.15 was the last time I really played? So it was nice to see something new!

After investigating, apparently they're axolotls and you can breed them and stuff, and they regen your health. Good to know! I'll have to capture them later.

10.png

Fairly soon, I started actually coming across enemies. A couple of zombies, a couple of skeletons, and a lotttt of creepers. But they were nothing I couldn't handle and I soon arrived at my desired destination.

y-11.

Home of My Branch Mine.

Unfortunately, where I dug down to is in an awkward cave system with pools of lava all over the place. It doesn't bode well! 😅

12.png

And at last, after much coal, copper and redstone, I found my first diamonds.

With these shiny gems, my game has officially begun! 😁

Will I actually survive long enough to enjoy those diamonds? Only time well tell!

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by! 😊

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: Minecraft.

Sort:  

I only play hardcore, and often get to the Nether. Furthest I made it, I was collecting Blaze Rods at a Blaze generator when I succumbed to the flames.
I have no idea what to do with Blaze Rods. My boys just told me I needed them.
I've been to the Nether a couple of times since then, but always seem to die looking for a fortress.
Good fun though. Using/making waterfalls to quickly drop into, and swim back out of, ravines, makes getting to the Nether so much easier. I don't usually bother with diamonds, I just use half a dozen buckets to ferry lava up to surface level and make a portal.

 3 years ago  

The Nether is exactly where I'm expecting to die! 😁 I'm trying my utmost though, don't want to wander in until I have full enchanted diamond armour and stuff, and hope that'll keep me alive.

Blaze rods are good for making a brewing stand, which is for alchemy and making potions and such. They might be useful for other things too, but I'm noob and have no idea! 😅

Apparently it's a navigation thing. Helps you find a beacon you need to get to The End.
It is fun though. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it this much.

 3 years ago  

Ohhhh! I had no idea!

I knew to get to The End, you needed the eyes from the Endermen, and you had to do something with them in order for them to lead you to the stronghold where The End Portal is. And I think you needed them to activate the portal too. I had no idea they needed the blaze rods! Learning something new! 😄

Apparently speed runners can get it done incredibly fast. Might look up a youtube clip and watch how the professionals do it.

damn xD, I wish you the best of luck. The last time I tried I died on night 5 and it was really disappointing, playing on hardcore makes you have eyes for everything that happens around you, it's just hopeless xD.

 3 years ago  

xD

I nearly jumped out of my skin before because a spider came out of nowhere and landed on my head, haha!

I re-downloaded Minecraft to get back to my adventures. Maybe I'll also try playing in Hardcore mode as well for a better experience. Nice texture pack.

 3 years ago  

I recommend it! Definitely adds that extra layer of being careful in the game. 🙂 And cheers! This is my favourite texture pack, have tried so many over the years including the photorealism ones, but keep coming back to this. It's got a nice simple touch to it.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more