A Hardcore Minecraft Adventure! (pt4)

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

header.png

In my last post I jumped into the Nether only to return to the overworld somewhere completely unexpected. Somewhere wrong. Somewhere I had to dig myself out of in order to find my way back home.

1.png

Luckily, I'm slightly obsessed and have all of my relevant coordinates written down in a notepad beside me, so after digging up and up and up out of this random cave I found myself in, I soon popped up in the jungle, facing my base across the river.

2.png

Staring my portal down, I took note of its exact coordinates and proceeded to waltz back into the Nether. It was time to play Nether Maths.

3.png

I really don't understand why the game does this. I've had it happen to me so many times now, but usually it's because I'm in a multiplayer world and I built my Nether Portal too close to someone else's.

This is the first time this has happened to me in a single player world. Basically, you just need to divide the portal's overworld coordinates by 8, then go to the new coordinates in the Nether and rebuild your portal. And if you look at where those coordinates happened to be, a nice empty room with glowstone nearby, I just don't get why the game couldn't have put me here originally.

Stupid thing. 😛

4.png

And just to make sure... I leap through my newly constructed portal to find myself exactly where I should be!

And there was much rejoicing!!

5.png

Whilst out and about in the overworld near my base, where Jungle meets Swamp, I discovered a band of Pillagers... and quickly disposed of them.

This was the first proof that there was indeed life in my world! I was getting a bit worried that maybe I had some seed where villagers and things just didn't exist. Looks like I need to explore a little more.

6.png

After murdering the Pillaging Pillagers, I stole their banner and stapled it to one of my trees.

Let that be a warning to any more roving bands! Muahaha!

15.png

Now that I had my library up and running and my Nether Portal sorted, I really wanted to get my Cave Spider XP Thing up and running so I could get some decent enchants on my stuff.

Mainly I wanted a Loot III for my sword so I could get Wither Skeleton heads easier, and I wanted a Fortune III for my pickaxe so I could get tonnes of quartz. Need ALL of the quartz! My future mansion shall be built from top to toe with quartz!

16.png

With minimal damage, I completed my Cave Spider Farm and proceeded to massacre a bunch of the beasts.

I followed a youtube guide to make it, and it's funny. In the comments there are people talking about how they're playing on a Hardcore world and there's no way they're going to do something like this. Another person was talking about how they were on day 50 of a Hardcore world, tried this, and died.

It's... not that difficult. I am a very basic noob. I still actually use the Fishing Rod instead of an AFK Fish Farm. I farm iron by mining, not by using Iron Golems. And I succeeded at this Cave Spider Farm. Anyone can do it!

7.png

With my Spider Farm showering me with the gift of Much XP, I revelled in the shiny green orbs for the longest time before returning to my library to enchant a bunch of stuff.

By some miracle I got what I wanted pretty quickly. It was time to return to the Nether!

8.png

I'm the type of person who'll mine everything with a normal pickaxe, saving the good pickaxe for the shineys. Must let the good pickaxe survive for as long as possible, only repairing it as few times as possible.

Until I find some Mending books, anyway.

But I soon found heaps of quartz for my future manor. Probably not enough. But it's a good start!

9.png

After sending the quartz back to the Overworld, and playing around with a few more enchants, I continued my exploration of the Nether and stumbled across a fortress!

At last!

Now I could farm up some Wither Skeleton Skulls, and get some blaze rods, and scurry around through the random treasure chests that are supposed to be in the fortress.

11.png

It didn't take long to find some Wither Skeletons to attack.

It's nice to see that they're still considered three-blocks-high so my cunning plan of putting blocks around in a square to protect myself worked just as it used to.

12.png

Somehow I managed to get my first Wither Skeleton Skull in the first group of skeletons I killed!

Of course, after an hour or two of killing more, there have been no more to drop. All in due time.

I mean, it's just to summon the Wither... which I'm not entirely confident I'll be able to kill without dying myself and losing my Hardcore world. xD But an old friend did show me a way of summoning it in the bedrock of the Nether, so that it can't get away from me... but that was back in 1.15 and I'm not sure if that trick will still work in 1.17.

I must investigate.

If nothing else, my future manor can be covered in the skulls of my enemies. 😉

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by!

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: Minecraft.

Sort:  

Gotta say the game has changed a lot since I played it in like 2010/2011. Playing the game in hardcore is, well, really hardcore. What's the end goal?

 3 years ago  

It is... at one point, I fell quite the distance and almost had a heart attack, haha. Hardcore! 😅

I was pondering my end goal in my last post and to be honest, I'm really not sure. A lot of people try to rush The End as soon as possible, but I've never really been a person who has to rush. I like to take my time and just enjoy things. At this stage, I think my goal is mainly to stay alive for as long as possible while pottering around and doing what I usually do. Base build!

In the past, I've died over the most silly things, so I'm expecting my eventual end to be rather anticlimactic, haha!

Oh, wow, you're still alive. XD, (just kidding). I see you've already made quite a bit of progress, every time I read your posts it makes me really want to play it, but I don't want to screw it up. I wish you good luck, I think you'll be ready to fight bosses all over the map soon, remember to save your coordinates hahaha.😅

 3 years ago  

I did almost have a death in the Nether. xD A Blaze's fireball knocked me back and I fell a long way, luckily my boots had feather falling on them!

You should play it! There's no way to really screw it up. 🙂 Knowing that it's a hardcore game keeps you on your toes, haha, but there's got to be a death eventually!

well! I think I'll try it to have a good time, good luck!

 3 years ago  

Good luck! 😃

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!