Destiny 2 ~ Ahoy, me hearties! Season 18 has begun!

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

destiny2header.png

The new Destiny 2 season started today — Season 18: Season of Plunder — and it appears we have joined ranks with the pirates to plunder other pirates. Yarr!

I'm not entirely in the know with the story of this game or anything; I only started playing it at the start of the year. My partner showed me a bunch of youtubes going into the lore of the game and what's happened and what is happening, etc, but I found it all a massive information overload and my brain only drank in a teeny tiny bit of it.

As a result, I don't really care about the story or why we happen to have turned into pirating individuals. But in my (unpopular) opinion, the story doesn't matter; the gameplay is what I find fun and it's just what I'm looking for right now as I switch back and forth to and from ARPG Path of Exile.

20220824074753_1.jpg

First thing's first, I hopped onto my Guardian and bought the season pass. I'm going to try and actually complete the season's challenges too! Earn a whole lot of bright dust to buy stuff with and just feel accomplished with myself.

20220824095601_1.jpg

This season's premise seems pretty fun. I misinterpreted what they meant by "ship-to-ship" combat though. I thought that they had brought spaceship battles into the game and I was prepared to fly around and shoot things!

Turns out we got dropped onto other ships, fight the crew, and claim it for our own.

20220824115043_1.jpg

While on the ships we can discover treasure map fragments and slowly combine them together to form a treasure map, then go on an expedition and protect all the treasure you find.

20220824101733_1.jpg

At the end of the expedition is an area where you can dig up extra treasure too, providing you actually have a map. I like it!

There's also this mechanic where if all of the group performs an emote at the end, the crew has celebrated and extra treasure will be revealed! I also really like that. Gives me an excuse to wave my fireworky guns around. XD

20220824133255_1.jpg

I've already gotten a good start on Week 1's challenges. I'm almost done with the long-range calibration and I'm planning on playing some Gambit later on.

The only challenges I think I'll have trouble with are the PVP specific ones. I have no interest in PVP and the only reason I like Gambit is because it's mostly PVE except for one fool who jumps into a portal and tries to hamper your progress.

20220824103843_1.jpg

As seems to be the norm with a new season, we have a new table to visit with new goods to unlock. In this case we have pirates to add to our crew!

The first one I chose to unlock gives me the ability to find the occasional treasure coordinate on the corpses of my enemies. I thought that was a good choice for my first crewmember. 🙂

20220824112604_1.jpg

All in all, so far this season seems like it's going to be an enjoyable one and I'm looking forward to getting stuck right in.

At the moment I'm just trying to get used to the game again. 😅 I completely forgot how to use my abilities, but I remember now. I also accidentally used my super instead of dodging a couple of times as I got re-accustomed to my mouse's button binds.

It's definitely one of those games where you need to reacquaint yourself with it over an hour or so before you feel comfortable actually playing it properly. But that's okay. I'll be back in the swing of things in no time.

 

Until next time! 😊

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Destiny 2.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

This looks amazing. Haven't played since Destiny 2 first came out and I loved using the blue lightning for warlocks. Such a beautiful and fun multiplayer game.

 2 years ago  

It really is a beautiful game! I wish I could holster my gun so I could take nice screenshots. There are so many incredible views. 😅

I haven't tried Warlock yet, just Hunter. My partner plays a Warlock though and it does look really good!

 2 years ago  

Destiny 2 is one of the games I've wanted to play the most but I don't think it's going to run at a decent FPS, I see they keep updating it constantly, how cool is your character, I hope someday I can really play it. I understand that soon Fornite will make a collaboration with Destiny 2.

 2 years ago  

Yup, they've added some Fortnite skins into Destiny 2... I don't play Fortnite so I have no idea what or who they are, but the one for my class looks pretty cool 😃

20220824095811_1.jpg

I saw there was a lot of praise for this update on Reddit. Hopefully it's less of a bounty grind than normal!

 2 years ago  

Oh, that's good to hear! 😃 I'll need to go read what they're saying. I haven't really gotten that far into it yet, have just done the two basic things, but next up is an assault on a pirate lord's base apparently, so that'll be interesting!

This was a game, maybe still is. I downloaded it and deleted it the moment I saw the world map😅.