Diving into Aion Classic

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

header.png

I just can't help myself.

I've been unable to focus lately. I hop from game to game, and don't really find the will or motivation to continue on with any of them. My partner and I played a game of Civilization 6 the other night, and it was the first time I started a game and actually finished it in what feels an eternity.

I call it Gamer Listlessness, and I feel it happens more often than not these days. Probably because in my subconscious I'm too busy focusing on other things... like money, parenting, studying, fiction writing, more money related things, fretting over not getting a job I was so excited for, money, and adulting in general. (I just realised that 'adulting' doesn't have a squiggly red line beneath it. It's officially a real word!)

So, with Gamer Listlessness, I'll often stare at my game library for a while, umm and ahh over things, and finally just give up and refresh the internet instead. Today though, I saw an MMO I haven't played in years - Aion - and investigated to see if it was worth playing in 2021.

The answer was a resounding, "No."

However! Aion CLASSIC was spoken of quite highly, and NA servers were released but a mere two weeks ago, and so, I rose an eyebrow, thought to myself, "HMMMMMM!" and pressed the download button.

5.png

I'm the type of person who prefers to play subscription-based MMO's. I'm not sure what it is, but I feel there's more "quality" in it if it's a game you sub to.

For example, Star Wars: the Old Republic was a fantastic MMO! And then they went to the free-to-play model, and now it sucks and makes me weep for what could have been. Yes, you can still sub to it, in fact, it's nigh upon unplayable if you don't! But it's still free-to-play and completely shyte these days.

World of Warcraft has always been subscription-only, and we might whinge and complain about it and cheer on the good ol' days, but the fact is, all the things they've added to it over the years truly have improved it, it's still fun, it's still worth it, and it's still sub-only.

Aion Classic is both free to play and sub-based, which makes my upper lip curl and my nostrils flare, but it has the brilliance of having the standard 30-day subscription AND a mere 3 day subscription if you so desire. I approve of that. More games should do that. Quite often I sub for the month and then sigh at myself because I only played for a few days so what a waste.

Yes, I subscribed for three days. It's probably all I'm going to play it for, though of course I hope it truly grabs me.

1.png

I love the character creator in this game, though admittedly is not as good as some more modern ones. Like Black Desert Online.

Aion was the first game I played, back in the day, with such an in-depth character creator and it spoiled me forevermore for customisation in games. The amount of hairstyles, face details, body and face shaping, everything! is fantastic. I wish more games took a leaf from Korea and put more detail in character models.

In Aion there are two playable factions of Daeva, the dark Asmodians and the light Elyos. Previously I played as an Asmodian, so naturally I chose that one again since in the back of my mind I already know the starting areas and where things are. 🤷‍♀ I like the familiar.

4.png

The game is pretty much exactly how I remember it, except... things seem to be respawing faster than I remember. I will kill something, go to harvest a bush - you usually get three harvesting chances per node - and before I can get to the third chance, the enemy has respawned.

Madness.

6.png

And already there are more people in my faction's city than there are on the entirety of the WoW Classic server my partner and I joined a month or so ago. Cool. Might actually be able to play the auction house game. 💰🤑

Assuming I stay interested for a while, at any rate.

7.png

Though dated, the game is still as beautiful as I remember. And if nothing else, it was nice to reminisce about the good ol' days and to take a breather after applying for yet another five jobs today. 😩

In the good ol' days I made it to about level 30ish and have never reached the endgame. Be nice to change that but with my current on-and-off-again mood, who knows! 🤷‍♀

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by. 🌷

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: Aion Classic.

Sort:  

I remember this game fondly! A friend of mine and I got into it as an alpha test and played it for about a year. It was a lot of fun!

 3 years ago  

😃

I really enjoyed the pvp in it -- one of the few pvp games I liked! I normally despise it, haha.

I remember it being really good but it was SO long ago that I can't recall distinctly what it was like. I'm going to be going down a YouTube rabbit hole tonight I have no doubt lol

I didn't even know Aion Classic had released until I read this Reddit post about the in-game economy basically being broken on day one. Big shame if such a silly thing ruins it.

 3 years ago  

I hadn't heard a thing about it until I went to the Steam discussions for the first Aion. Then I found two others, Aion Classic and Aion... something that wasn't enough to even stick in my mind overnight, haha.

The economy on most free to play games is broken, since you can buy things with real money and sell them for game money. Star Wars has the same thing, and probably others also. I think the Elder Scrolls Online is one of the few free-ish games that have done their real money store in an acceptable manner.

Sure, but how I understood it was these items could be sold to vendors for those prices. It's basically money printing.

 3 years ago  

Oh okay, I didn't see that! I just noticed a lot of people talking about how if you wanted to play Aion, play the new Classic one since that's where all the people are.

I did notice a lot of stuff on the auction house for ludicrous prices, so just assumed people were buying from the shop and selling in-game the usual way. 😅

hi kaelci, the lesser and more stylized sibling of Lineage II.

 3 years ago  

That's one of the MMOs I haven't played yet, and only even knew of it because it was in the NCSoft launcher also! 😅

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!