Raft ~ desert islands and caravans!

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)


After my frustrating experience on Balboa Island, I thought it was time to merely sail my raft around, collect resources, and go fishing. Mostly I wanted my llama to produce a tonne of wool so I could craft a full set of armour and I wanted to level up my trading post tiers so I could buy all the things!

Checking out my handy dandy receiver, I noticed that there was a green island blip just a mere kilometre in the distance. It was time to set forth, catch a bunch of junk out at sea and throw it into my recycling machine, and hopefully I would have a tonne of trash cubes ready for trade by the time I got to the island. Plus fish, of course, to sell for reputation.


To my surprise, the island I approached looked markedly different to every other island I had been to! For the first time, the island wasn't green and lush but was brown and desert-like, and, instead of a raging boar, there was a raging pig!


And for some reason when I killed the raging pig, it didn't give me any meat. Just leather. I mean, leather is welcome... but, really, no meat? What a useless creature.

I stayed there for a while just fishing and selling said fish until I ran out of bait and maxxed out my reputation. I'm kind of confused about the point of buying tier 3 bait to catch more fish to sell for more rep, when once you hit tier 3 you're maxxed out anyway? It does give you a few more currency tokens, but, seems kind of pointless really.


Although there were a few interesting things in the Tier 3 section to buy, there wasn't anything I reeeeeally wanted. Most of it was cosmetic and I would prefer to buy stuff that I needed rather than fancy looking hats and things.

I ended up buying an advanced scarecrow so, whenever I eventually made my crops, they wouldn't be hassled by unrelenting seagulls, and some more herbs for my recipes that I can't obtain anywhere else. AND some titanium ore to research. Huzzah! Not that I have any recipes to use it in yet...


Now... it was onwards to the next blue quest blip on the receiver! Caravan Town.

Here I came across my first "white screecher." Which is basically the same as the annoying boulder-dropping bastards on the lush islands, but white, and far easier to kill. It moves slower and has less health than the normal screecher. I much prefer these ones. They're still boulder-dropping-bastards, but, since they're easier to kill, they're better. xD


Before exploring the hulking heap of caravans, I thought that I would explore the waters first instead. So I cooked up a Salmon feast to increase my lungpower for a few minutes, killed the shark, and dove down into the depths.

What I wasn't expecting was to find a pipe that led further and further down into the depths, and as I followed it, it led to small breathable pockets as you continued your descent. At the bottom was a blueprint to create a metal detector and some crates of goods. Score. There were also fifty thousand puffer fish. I ended up wishing that I had chosen to go swimming with an extra salmon feast, extra swimming flippers, and an extra oxygen bottle. And an extra bow. At least I now had plenty of explosive goop!

Due to not realising the above though, I freaked out a heap because my flippers broke and my oxygen bottle disintergrated and I had to rely on these small pockets of breathable air to get the hell out of there. As we know, the thought of drowning deep under the ocean terrifies me, even in a game, so that situation was a bit squiffy. xD And I had to craft more things so I could go back down there and retrieve various loot I had to forego.


With that underwater adventure out of the way, I could explore Caravan Town!

Here I discovered so much scrap and plastic and everything stashed inside drawers and cupboards, plenty of stuff for my recycling machine to regurgitate into trash cubes! Also some notes by some kid who seemed to be a little scientist. And then some notes about the crazed guy who had owned the luxury cruiser and bred a mutated army of rats!

After seeing his notes I was expecting to come across the evil little beasts, but didn't find any. Instead, I discovered that the new pigs I had been coming across were of his mutated creation too.


Caravan Town was a bit tricky to navigate. Honestly, I ended up looking up a walkthrough guide to work out just where the heck a couple of components were. It's not entirely evident, to be honest. But finally I got through it all. And it was a good thing I killed twenty million pufferfish too, for I needed their explosive powder to set off a rocket!

Phwoar.


At last, Caravan Town had been pillaged, looted, and all the discoveries had been made. While I had to look at a guide, I'm grateful that this place wasn't a giant place, easy to get lost in, easy to lose my raft in! like Balboa Island was.

Now we follow the trail onward to a little place called... Tangaroa.

 

Until next time!! :)


 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Raft.


Posted from Kaelci Games with Exxp : https://kaelci.games/2022/08/16/raft-desert-islands-and-caravans/

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

If this can be modded like Skyrim, it will be one of the best games ever.

 2 years ago  

I didn't even think to look for mods for this. There's no Steam Workshop, but there's a site dedicated to mods specifically for Raft and there's a few interesting ones. xD

This looks like a fun game. It has a bit of the Oxenfree and Firewatch vibes. I like the last shot with open notebook. Very cool.

 2 years ago  

I've been interested in Firewatch! Will need to give it a try some time. This is the first time I've heard of Oxenfree though, but it looks interesting and has a something "different" look to it.

I hope you get a chance to try both games. They're a treat.

 2 years ago  

This looks fun! I like these kind of survival games.

 2 years ago  

It is pretty fun! 🙂 I like these type of survival games too; this one's a tiny bit different in that it actually has a story hidden in it too! It's quite interesting.

 2 years ago  

Yeah sometimes story can make or break a game, unless the gameplay is just so much fun the story doesn't really matter lol

 2 years ago  

Haha, I don't often care about story unless it's in a game like Mass Effect or something. A proper RPG. Raft's story doesn't really matter, but I just thought it was different to include it when normally survival games omit it entirely. 🙂

That pig looks like he is disappointed in you XD. The caravan town looks nice.

As we know, the thought of drowning deep under the ocean terrifies me, even in a game

Me: * Remembers Subnautica *
untitled.gif

 2 years ago  

He stopped being disappointed when I speared him and took his leather. xD Then I was disappointed because he had no meat on him!

Disappointment all 'round.

😂😂. But he looked all buff though.

Disappointment all 'round.

We all sufferin together eh.

Este juego la verdad que me gusta mucho, por el hecho de que me recuerda un poco a subnautica o a Stranded Deep, juegos que llegue a jugar y la verdad que me encantaron, pero Raft nunca lo he llegado a jugar y siempre me la paso viendo videos de este juego en youtube.

Como no amar un juego que tienen una caravan town? XD

 2 years ago  

I haven't played Stranded Deep but Subnautica was pretty good for the few hours I spent in it. I need to try it again and actually finish it. xD You should give Raft a go too! It's quite fun, and has multiplayer too.

Nice game.
The floating city looks cool.

@tipu curate 6

 2 years ago  

Cheers. 🙂

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war