Warframe ~ I have no idea what I'm doing!

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

header.png

I have no idea what I'm doing, but the gameplay is fun.

My partner has been playing Warframe for the past few days, with me occasionally looking over his shoulder to see what's going on. There was loot, everywhere. The ability to craft things. New skins for your alien. The ability to play as melee, not just as a shooty-shooty.

It looked fun!

And since it's completely free, except for the hundreds upon hundreds of mostly-cosmetic microtransactions, I caved in and downloaded it.

1.png

As I said before, I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing.

I'm running around, hitting things and shooting them with arrows, doing a fancy whip-around-with-an-entrail-of-my-enemy move every now and then, and following the navpoint that tells me where to go.

5.png

Apparently I can get reputation -- or standing -- with a few faction type things, and then I can get cool stuff, but I have no idea how to go about it. Apparently Cetus reputation is easiest to get via fishing! I love fishing in games.

Unfortunately, I need rep in order to buy the dang fishing spears to get more rep.

6.png

Luckily, whilst failing a bounty, I managed to get just enough reputation so I could buy a fishing spear so I could fish! (Good to know that failing gives you at least a little of something also, coz dayum.)

2.png

And then proceeded to sell all those fish to replenish the reputation I just spent in order to buy a mining pickaxe thing.

Reputation -- or standing, rather -- seems pretty hard to come by. Good thing I enjoy grinding in games.

3.png

Now I can mine all the things!! ... Which I think isn't quite the actual purpose of this game, but, soon I shall have all the materials and I can make all the equipment! I assume this ore will be useful for something, anyway.

My alien creature looks very bland and boring compared to all whom I come across.

4.png

And I refuse to spend real money on cosmetics -- yes, I said that about Path of Exile as well, but that was different. Currency stash! -- so, I need to craft the in-game cosmetics myself.

Plus, I want a different "warframe." I want one of the more feminine-looking ones, but one of the ones that are also more suited to melee. I only chose this guy because he was melee oriented and the only female you could choose at the start of the game was more... jedi, biotic, use the force, etc. Not my style.

8.png

So, I guess I know somewhat what I'm doing. But I feel very inept.

I found this warframe blueprint which is for Gara, and I'm not entirely sure if she's acceptable for melee or not. That's an issue I have with this game. They don't actually tell you what the things do. You just have to guess, gather materials to build each component -- spend three literal real-world days building it -- only to find out that you hate it and the abilities it has.

Or you could google, I guess. But I shouldn't have to. That information should be readily available in game instead of a vague description.

7.png

While my partner was at work yesterday I managed to catch up to where he is in the game so now we can play together. 😁

Hopefully the loot system is decent for co-op. I assume it is since it's supposed to be a multiplayer game, but who knows. I'm not finding much on Reddit or anything else about it; there were a few topics years ago but these things tend to change.

Only one way to find out!

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by!

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and are from the game: Warframe.

Sort:  

Sounds like my experience in Warframe: "I have no idea that I'm doing" 😅

It does look fancy, but I didn't like it enough to still be playing it. Hope you two will enjoy your time in there!

 3 years ago  

Thanks! I hope so too... it's mostly just a time-filler until New World is released. 😅

Warframe is that type of game that requires hundreds of hours to put in. Something interesting about it is that, from his launch, every content update was voted by the community.

 3 years ago  

That's pretty spiffy! That they choose to follow community feedback and ideas. That's good development. 😀

Yeah, it definitely looks like it needs a few hundred hours. Especially for loot grinding and stuff. I'm not sure I'll be able to give it that much time, but it's good to dabble in for now. 🙂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!