How is your Splinterlands card management tactic?

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

Splinterlands is for sure the game I have been playing most over the last couple of years and it still never gets old. There are so many updates that it is almost hard to keep track of, and that is exactly what happened to me. I don't really keep track of it.

I play my daily missions, yesterday I was in my first brawl with the team (in which I sucked because I was in the Untamed league and I dont have the best Untamed deck) and I only have 1 tournament behind my name. I am a Splinterlands lame-player I would say. And I guess there are a lot more players like me, and not only the fully dedicated ones.

Even though my account is worth $955 bucks and my alt account for around $50 bucks I would say I still am invested enough to have an opinion.

So today this is about on what you tactic is in your card management. So not on playing strategy but on actually buying and selling the cards

sm1.jpg


For starters you have to look on what kind of cards you have at the moment. My summoners and monsters are in general around level 4 which makes playing enjoyable, but not seeing the coolest of features. At the end of season I end up in the gold league always (also because this is the max of my DEC value) but also because in higher levels also come better players.

That is the good thing of the latest changes. I have the feeling that a lot of the bot accounts are not in the higher levels anymore.




This means at the beginning of the season I fall back somewhere into Silver getting around 4 loot chests per daily mission, and at the end of the season in gold I end up with 29 chests as a reward. My alt account is crappy and has daily 1 loot box and at the end of season 9. I must admit that the alt account had nice returns so it was worth playing on two accounts honestly. And this is with doing literally 5 quests and nothing more.


sm3.jpg


I still have all my Alpha and Beta cards which I also had back then already. These seem like a decent investment, and here and there I throw out something. Recently the neutral cards were having a spike price and I decided to sell some here and there.

Also in the daily quests sometimes in the rewards you find an Untamed pack. This is also always a warm welcome to see what is in there. Recenty I have been finding good cards to be honest. A lot of legendary and a lot of Gold foils which is always a good motivation to keep playing (in the end we are all greedy right?) have been turned on me. Depending if it a card that I would be using I would hold or sell them. I am not holding them for the sake of holding them anymore at the moment. The Cornealus is a good example of a useful tank card which I like using in battles with higher mana caps.

But when not in use, it is time to sell a bit here and there. And from the selling I am buying some more cards, but this time I am also returning the DEC to HIVE and even selling some of it for different coins. It's a bull market you know, sometimes you got to take some profits and in this case that is from playing the card game.

Initialy in an Untamed pack that was in my rewards I drew a Golden Goblin Firemage worth 16 bucks. I saw no usecase in this one versus the value that it would give on the market so I decided to sell it. This gave enough DEC to also get some DICE cards which is my absolute preference. Yes the packs are more expensive but the cards in there are also more valuable. Damn I miss those Orbs, the Orbs were my favorite.

But from the sell of the Goblin I got a DICE pack and sold the rest of the DEC for around 20 or 25 HIVE. In there was a Calaaduum which is a legendary card. BOOOOM!

sm2.jpg



But same thing here. I didn't see myself using the card that much so also this one went onto the market and I got even a second Calaaduum after this! Again, the rest of the DEC of the card sale I sold.





So what I am saying here is that it is still possible to grow your account with just playing around and selling some cards here and there, but also still getting new ones. In the last couple of days with the sales of all these cards you must not forget that there are 5 cards in a pack. Yes, there will be absolutely crap cards in there, but there are also enough gems to be found.

I still find it a joy to open packs I must say, and I am no land or plot owner so not working on these dynamics. I am a player who enjoys opening packs and getting a buck from it as well. Isn't that how you would want your game to actually be when you are not an investor?

Sort:  

Your current Rank (59) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 29%

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!