You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2022 is Going to be the Year of the Gaming Laptop!

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

As someone who did the opposite (moving from laptops => gaming PC) I've had the opposite experience, so I'm curious as to why you found gaming laptops a better experience than the traditional desktop. With inflated PC parts from scalpers though, I do agree that gaming laptops might be better value for the consumer currently.

Sort:  

I was really anti-laptops until 2019 when I realized they where starting to catch up and get really good compared to desktops, and right now during the pandemic and due to shortages their fps per dollar are thru the roof compared to a desktop PC.

I also had plans to migrate to another country (which I did) and having a laptop was optimal for that move, I could resume work the next day after arriving instead of having to ship or source a new computer locally.

I see! Yeah, that makes sense for your use case, plus computing power is quickly plateauing for the everyday consumer. Either way, tech improvements are always a huge welcome for regular consumers. Just hoping that the chip shortage will end soon so CPU and GPU prices will go back to normal...

I really have no hopes of the chip shortage ending this year at all.