Hexonia The Battle Tribes : Is It Even Worth Your Time?

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Hexonia is a turn-based strategy game for android and IOS. It has everything that a basic TBS game has from the background story, skills advacement, and units. But there is a cursed feature of this game.

I was bored the other day and decided to try new game. I normally play a complex TBS but the graphic of this game caught my attention. So, I installed it and proceed playing.

First Impression of Hexonia The Battle Tribes

The first impression of playing Hexonia, it feels as though the game is for 12-15 years old. It's very simple, navigating everything is a breeze, the story is also simple. If you are over 20's you can win this game pretty quick and easily.

But if you have kids, tell them to play this game to sharpen their strategy skills.

Gameplay

So, let's get into the game as I will reveal to you the cursed feature of this game. If you are attentive enough, you will realize by now.

Picking Tribes

There are three tribes that you can pick in this game. Frelia, the default tribe and the first you'll get. Han is the next tribe you can choose after winning the first victory. Then there will more tribes that you can pick only if you BUY. Their in game currency is called 'Ruby' and in order to obtain rubies, you either win some games, get it from chest, or buy it. So, yeah I think when it comes to the unit options, it's a bit limiting.

FreliaHanYamano

The Battle

First, you will start with 2 units. Then you can move the unit from one hex to another as you upgrade your "city". The battle will be quick if you know where to prioritize.

StartMiddleEnd

Tips & Trick

ResearchTribe Info
  • Use recovery options if you don't want to buy more unit.
  • If you have enough gold, choose expand vision to have clear view of the enemies.
  • Choose to advance the gems because swordswan is quite powerful unit in the game.

Seems pretty simple right?

This game as I mentioned is too simple for adult and even young teenage these days. But to be fair, the graphic is great and it's quite decent to kill the time. However, you can not play this game online.

You can not play this game in a landscape mode!

I think that alone is such a turn off for a TBS game. I call that a cursed feature because it's inconvenient playing game with portrait mode in 2021. At first, I thought it was my phone display setting, apparently, the game has a cursed feature. This is also why the screenshot from my game plays are in portrait mode.

Also, these days multiplayer online is a selling feature. This game doesn't have it and they really should consider adding that. I read there is a similar but more complex game, online and a better version of this called polytopia. Since I have not tried said game, I still think Hexonia is pretty cursed because users can't play it on landscape mode nor online. Who knows if there's more cursed TBS game I have yet to discover. Let me know in the comment section if you've played any game with impractical features.

PS : Cursed in this context is Something almost impractical or outright strange but not quite, the metaphysical variant of jank.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

I was just about to start writing my comment recommending Polytopia to you until I saw that you wrote it at the end. And yes, Polytopia is quite similar in terms of gameplay and I could say perhaps more demanding in terms of the need to strategize well, as well as the variety of units and classes you can choose from. If I remember correctly I think there are more than 10 tribes, although the bad thing is that many are paid. And each one with different attributes. The graphic quality of Polytopia is quite pleasing to the eye and a little tender and its gameplay is very well achieved, I played it a long time ago and I have not found any fault or something that displeases me. You can make quite long lasting games and the size of the map is simply abysmal for a game that visually proposes us not to have so much, and the good thing is that each map is generated randomly, so we will always be forced to vary in each game. Seeing this game reminds me a lot of Polytopia.

I tried playing polytopia today. I wish henoxia would have the landscape feature and online multiplayer. I don't dog polytopia graphic but their storyline and features are decent.

 3 years ago  

Oh, and I seem to remember that it does have multiplayer mode.

What a curious little game. I like the animation it has, it's super cute. And yes, it really looks like a game for little kids hahaha. I would have to try it and test the difficulty level, I guess it's not bad to pass the time.

Haha true but it's pretty cursed with the potrait feature and no online multiplayer options.