[En/Es] The most successful🤑. But it is the best?🤔 21 years of life PlayStation 2.

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

English

😎The longest-lived🎮

Hello Hive family and Gamers of the community, how are you? I hope you are doing great, yesterday was Mother's Day, so I wish the best to those women who always support us and take care of us forever and ever. Today I want to start the week with a post similar to the one I did to the console Game Boy Advance, celebrating its 20 years of life, although this time it will be 21 years because in Japan it was launched many months before in the American continent, today I want to talk about the mother of successful consoles and I feel lucky to own one that gave me so many hours of fun.



Photo taken by the author

Today we are going to talk about a console loved by all gamers that exist the PlayStation 2, we all know the history that this wonderful console created in the world of video games, the success it achieved was so massive that today it is still a world record, it even surpasses in sales to its successors the PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4 and it also did it with the PlayStation 5.

To be specific the PlayStation 2 was released on March 4, 2000, in Japan, and on October 26 in North America, a large percentage of consoles in the United States were transferred to South America especially the slim model which in my opinion is the best design there is for a console of its characteristics.



Photo taken by the author

PlayStation 2 is the console with the most extensive catalog of video games I've seen, I do not know the truth how many games came out for consoles of recent generations, ie consoles of the seventh generation to the present, but it was impressive all the developers who put their signature on it is something incredible.



Source

With this console you could play practically any genre you wanted, you could play a shooting game like Call of Duty, you could try a family game like Sims 2, you could play many soccer games like Fifa or Pes which by the way Fifa 14 and Pes 2014 were the last two games they released for this console, imagine how long the Sony console lasted 14 years releasing new games.

Well, the PlayStation also has horror games like Silent Hill, adventure games like Shadow of the Colossus, movie games like Metal Gear Solid 3, also games that will kill everything in your paths like Devil May Cray, Ghost Rider or the best of all the God of Ward, also video games for little kids, a crazy thing, if I start to mention all the infinity of games that we can play on this console the post will not end, it's as simple as that.



Photo taken by the author

There is one thing I noticed regarding the genres we can play on PlayStation 2, what stands out the most is the RPG games, there are too many, many that I didn't know and that I would like to play someday. I think that in my collection of PlayStation 2 games there is not a game of those characteristics, in fact, over time I lost many games because I had my room messed up and most of the time, they were the games I used the most, not the ones I didn't like.

My PlayStation 2 was given to me by my Dad almost 10 years ago as a birthday present, I still keep the box where the console came from, it is the Slim version that according to many people is the one that gives more problems and rightly so, one of the most problematic things I remember was the reader, I remember that the first time we tried it it didn't work we had to close it several times, so much so was the headache that made me think "why do you have a built-in reader if you are not going to use it haha".

The box I keep it, although it's more shattered than my heart when I was eating it ("and that's saying a lot"). When my father gave it to me, I didn't get too excited (I was too little to understand the power I was being given), who did get pretty excited was my cousin @epilatero because he has in his collection the PlayStation 1 and he told me we could buy many games.



Source

Here in Venezuela the PlayStation 2 is everywhere, there are a lot of people using it nowadays so it was easy to get the discs to be able to play, the first time we went to buy games for the console I didn't understand much about what game I wanted I was just excited to use the new console. I don't remember which games I bought, but I assure you that if I had known my catalog would be much better with more than known and cool games haha.

As I said before the main problem was the reader of the console that did not work well, now imagine that I have to try a disc, what happens that the disc does not have the ISO image well captured and therefore errors occur as happened to me in the last game I bought the console the Resident Evil 4 something tells me that the people who burned this disc did not do it in the best way because an error occurs and the game does not let me save the game.



Photo taken by the author

And so with all the other games on the console, luckily you can play video games through a hard drive that I plan to try someday when I have the resources, but to do that I need a memory card which brings me to the other bad point that I passed, some games could not be saved with a single memory card as in the case of Bornuot 3 that game I loved but I could never complete it, throughout my history with the console I only got a memory card of 64mb which is much but not enough for some games.



Photo taken by the author

Beyond all the cons I went through I must say that I got a lot of vision with their games especially with Gran Turismo 4,* Naruto Shippuden* Need For Speed Most Wanted, GTA Vice City and Marvel vs Capcom 2 those 5 games were the ones that I dedicated more time and 3 of them I completed 100% except Gran Turismo that needed many hours of sacrifice and Vice City for a mission that I could not pass. A sad anecdote is that the Need for Speed Most Wanted I passed it with sweat and blood in my head, really the game is more difficult on console, well the point is that one day shortly after I managed to complete the game, the memory card gave an error with the saved game, the game data was damaged and had to be deleted, from that day I never played that great game on console. It was also said that it could run games from the first PlayStation but it never worked for me.

With that, I came to my conclusion that not only the reader gave problems but the memory card was also great. As for the power it is somewhat reduced to its competitors the truth, I think the PlayStation 2 owes all its success to the legacy that formed the *PlayStation 1 * that legacy accumulated too many expectations for the second version of the Sony console collecting more than 157 million dollars if I'm not mistaken the day of its launch.



Source

In terms of graphics and performance is not the best, is one that gives many problems but in some game if you highlight its graphic potential as in the game mentioned above Bornuot 3 that game I played both PlayStation 2 and Xbox and are the same, ie the PS2 version has the same graphics has a stable performance of 60fps, the same as on Xbox, not that it is an easy game to render due to the speed of the races and all the crashes that occur in different areas of the game, but it is a game that is easy to render due to the speed of the races and all the crashes that occur in different areas of the game.



Photo taken by the author

To finish I want to talk a little about the console controller, as a child, I used to say that the "L2 and "R2" buttons were triggers and they are not simple buttons. In itself is a very comfortable control especially for RPG or fighting games, but it is very difficult to play racing games and shooting games due to the positions of the levers, when I played Gran Turismo 4 I used mostly the crosshead to move the car, and in shooting games is mostly to move the two levers, but they are far from the other action buttons, which makes it very uncomfortable, in my opinion, is the best controller to play emulators.

Well Hive family I hope you liked today's post, the PlayStation 2 is a special console for all of us, everyone has their anecdote about it and I guess we all had problems with the reader haha. 21 years of history for a great console🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉.


Nothing more to say, see you.😃

Thank you very much!!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

😎La más Longeva🎮

Hola familia de Hive y Gamers de la comunidad. ¿Cómo estás? Espero que estén de maravilla, ayer fue el día de las madres, así que le deseado lo mejor a esas mujeres que siempre nos apoyan y nos cuidan por los siglos de los siglos. Hoy quiero iniciar la semana con un post similar al que le hice a la consola Game Boy Advance, celebrando sus 20 años de vida, aunque en esta ocasión serán 21 años pues en Japón se lanzó muchos meses antes que en el continente americano, hoy quiero hablar sobre la madre de las consolas exitosas y me siento afortunado de poseer una que me dio tantas horas de diversión.



Photo taken by the author

Hoy hablaremos sobre una consola de sobremesa amada por todos los Gamers que existen la PlayStation 2, todos sabemos la historia que esta maravillosa consola creó en el mundo de los videojuegos, el éxito que obtuvo fue tan masivo que hoy en día sigue siendo record mundial, supera en ventas incluso a sus sucesoras la PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4 y al parecer también lo hizo con la PlayStation 5.

Para ser específicos la PlayStation 2 salió el 4 de marzo del año 2000 en Japón y el 26 de octubre en América del Norte, un gran porcentaje de consolas en los Estados Unidos fueron trasladadas a Sudamérica sobre todo el modelo Slim que en mi opinión es el mejor diseño que hay para una consola de sus características.



Photo taken by the author

PlayStation 2 es la consola con el catálogo de videojuegos más extenso que he visto, no sé la verdad cuantos juegos salieron para las consolas de generaciones recientes, es decir, las consolas de la séptima generación hasta la actualidad, pero era impresionante todas las desarrolladoras que pusieron su firma en ella es algo increíble.



Source

Con esta consola podías jugar prácticamente cualquier género que tú quisieras, podías jugar un juego de disparos como Call Of Duty, podías probar un juego familiar como Sims 2, podías jugar muchos juegos de futbol como Fifa o Pes que dicho sea de paso Fifa 14 y Pes 2014 fueron los dos últimos juegos que sacaron para esta consola, imagínense el tiempo que duró vigente la consola de Sony 14 años sacando juegos nuevos.

Bueno la PlayStation también tiene juegos de terror como Silent Hill juegos de aventura como Shadow of the Colossus, juego de película como el Metal Gear Solid 3, también juegos donde matarás todo a tu paso como los juegos de Devil May Cray, Ghost Rider o el mejor de todos el God of Ward, también videojuegos para niños pequeños, una cosa de locos, si me pongo a mencionar toda la infinidad de juegos que podemos jugar en esta consola el post no va acabar, así de simple.



Photo taken by the author

Hay una cosa que noté en cuanto a los géneros que podemos jugar en PlayStation 2, en lo que más se destaca es en los juegos de RPG, hay demasiados, muchos que no conocía y que me gustaría jugar algún día. Creo que en mi colección de juegos de PlayStation 2 no hay un juego de esas características, de hecho, a lo largo del tiempo se me fueron perdiendo muchos juegos por tener mi habitación desordenada y la mayoría de las veces eran los juego que más usaba, no los que no me gustaban.

Mi PlayStation 2 me la regaló mi Papá hace casi 10 años como regalo de cumpleaños, aún conservo la caja donde vino la consola es la versión Slim que según muchas personas es la que más da problemas y con toda la razón, una de las cosas más problemáticas que recuerdo era el lector, recuerdo que la primera vez que lo probamos no funcionó tuvimos que cerrarla varias veces, tanto así fue el dolor de cabeza que me hizo pensar “para que tienes lector incorporado si no lo vas a usar jaja”.

La caja la conservo, aunque está más destrozada que mi corazón cuando salía con ella (“y eso es mucho que decir”). Cuando me la dio mi padre no me emocioné mucho (era demasiado pequeño para entender el poder que me estaban otorgando), quién si se emociono bastante fue mi primo @epilatero porque él tiene en su colección la PlayStation 1 y me dijo que podíamos comprar muchos juegos.



Source

Aquí en Venezuela la PlayStation 2 está en todos lados, hay mucha gente que la usa hoy en día así que era fácil conseguir los discos para poder jugar, la primera vez que fuimos a comprar juegos para la consola no entendía mucho sobre que juego quería simplemente estaba emocionado por usar la consola nueva. No me acuerdo cuales juegos compré, pero les aseguro que si hubiera sabido mi catalogo sería mucho mejor con juegos más que conocidos y chulos jaja.

Como dije antes el problema principal era el lector de la consola que no funcionaba bien, ahora imaginen que tengo que probar un disco, que pasa que ese disco no tiene la imagen ISO bien plasmada y por ende ocurren errores como me pasó en el último juego que le compré a la consola el Resident Evil 4 algo me dice que las personas que quemaron el disco no lo hicieron de la mejor manera porque ocurre un error y es que el juego no me deja guardar la partida.



Photo taken by the author

Y así con todo los demás juegos de la consola, por suerte se puede jugar videojuegos por medio de un disco duro que pienso probar algún día cuando tenga los recursos, pero para hacer eso necesito una memory card lo que me lleva al otro punto malo que pasé, algunos juegos no se podían guardar con una sola memory card como en el caso de Bornuot 3 ese juego me encantaba peor jamás pude completarlo, a lo largo de mi historia con la consola solamente obtuve una memory card de 64mb que es mucho pero no suficiente para algunos juegos.



Photo taken by the author

Mas allá de todos los contras que pasé debo decir que agarré mucho visió con sus juegos sobre todo con Gran Turismo 4,* Naruto Shippuden* Need For Speed Most Wanted, GTA Vice City y Marvel vs Capcom 2 esos 5 juegos fueron los que más tiempo les dediqué y 3 de ellos los completé al 100% excepto Gran turismo que necesitaba muchas horas de sacrificio y Vice City por una misión que no podía pasar. Una anécdota triste y es que el Need For Speed Most Wanted me lo pasé con sudor y sangre en la cabeza, de verdad el juego es más difícil en consola, bueno el punto es que un día poco después que logré completar el juego, la memory card dio un error con la partida guardada, se me dañaron los datos del juego y tuvieron que ser borrados, desde ese día no volví a jugar ese grandioso juego en consola. También se decía que podía correr juegos de la primera PlayStation, pero jamás me funcionó.

Con eso llegue a mi conclusión de que no sólo el lector daba problemas si no que la memory card también genial. En cuanto a la potencia pues es algo reducida a sus competidoras la verdad creo que la PlayStation 2 debe todo su exitoso al legado que formó la PlayStation 1 dicho legado acumuló demasiadas expectativas para la segunda versión de la consola de Sony recaudando más de 157 millones de dólares si no me equivoco el día de su lanzamiento.



Source

En cuanto a gráficos y rendimiento no es la mejor, es una que da muchos problemas pero en algunos juego si se destaca su potencial grafico como en el juego antes mencionado Bornuot 3 ese juego lo jugué tanto en PlayStation 2 como Xbox y son lo mismo, es decir, la versión de PS2 tiene los mismo gráficos tiene un rendimiento estable de 60fps, exactamente igual que en Xbox, tampoco es que sea un juego fácil de renderizar debido a la rapidez de las carreras y todos los choques que ocurren en diferentes zonas del juego.



Photo taken by the author

Para terminar quiero hablar un poco sobre el mando de la consola, de pequeño decía que los botones “L2 y”R2” eran gatillos y no son simples botones. En sí es un control bastante cómodo sobre todo ´para juegos de RPG o de peleas, pero es muy difícil juega juegos de carreras y juegos de disparos debido a las posiciones de las palancas, cuando jugaba Gran Turismo 4 más que todo usaba la cruceta para mover el auto, y en juegos de disparos más que todo es mover las dos palancas, pero quedan lejos de los demás botones de acción, lo cuál lo hace muy incómodo, en mi opinión es el mejor mando para jugar emuladores.

Bueno familia de Hive espero que les haya gustado el post de hoy, la PlayStation 2 es una consola especial para todos nosotros, cada quién tiene su propia anécdota sobre ella y me imagino que todos tuvimos problemas con el lector jaja. 21 años de historia para una gran consola🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉.


Sin nada más que decir nos vemos.😃

¡¡Muchas Gracias!!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Sort:  

The ps2 is an excellent console. I have great memories thanks to this console, although I never had it, my friends did. I enjoyed the naruto fights, gta and dmc on that beautiful console.

The console is very cool, especially the white and pink edition.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hermosos recuerdo tengo de la ps2 yo y mi primo siempre jugábamos o era el tenkachi 3 o el naruto shippuden siempre que usaba una habilidad que yo desconocía siempre le gritaba tramposo uff y tenia un gran cementerio de controles que caían en la lucha lastima el final que tuvo mi PS2 pero le tengo un gran cariño por los juego que pude disfrutar para ese entonces.

Que buenas anécdotas. Yo también tengo un cementerio de controles el único que me sirve actualmente es el mando de PS1 INCREIBLE NO jaja.

JAJAJAJA los controles pagan nuestra ira recuerdo que una vez un vecino me regalo un juego de carreras no recuerdo el nombre sinceramente no era Need For Speed y me regalo un volante de mando era tan malo manejando con ese volante que tuve que regresar a los mandos normales pero fue una experiencia única y cuando me quedaba sin controles utilizaba el volante.

el amor que le tienes a la play2 se nota en todo el post y mas cuando dices "no sabia el poder que me estaban dando" jaja me gusto mucho tu post , sigue así

Congratulations @mclarenf11! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I too bought the Play Station 2 a long time ago, the only Play Station model I bought.

Sin duda que es toda una obra maestra, recuerdo que todos los jueos que compre de play eran de play 2, y corria muy bien, incluso mis cuñados tuvieron una y hasta le dañamos los controles de tanto jugar PES