Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

First and foremost, I have to thank @hivegc for putting on this fantastic contest. When I saw it, I knew immediately it would be one that I'd have to join in on.

I've been gaming as long as I can remember, and I have so many great gaming memories that picking my favorites is a steep challenge. So I've been thinking on this for several days, trying to organize my jumble of gaming memories and decide what to talk about.

Growing up, one of my very favorite things was spending the summer months with @lacking, his brother, and my sister. Many of those days were spent alternatingly playing in the trails down by the river, or playing videogames and watching movies. Trips to Blockbuster and Family Video were extremely common features of our summers.

Now, of course, there are games that stand out as exceptional in my memory - games that provided us with a ton of fun, and I thought I'd mention a few of those today.

First, I would be remiss to not mention both Perfect Dark, and GoldenEye 007. Both provided us a ton of FPS fun, though of the two it was Perfect Dark that ended up providing us the most fun for the longest amount of time. We would spend a lot of time facing against as many AI Bots as we could on maps like Area 51 and 'Falicity' among others. For me, the weapon options were a key feature of the game, but what I loved a stupid amount was the after-action rankings and statistics that they'd give you, which at that time was the most detailed I'd ever seen.

Image source: www.diffusedion.co.uk

The second game to stand out in my memory is the first Mario Party game. We four kids played the everliving shit out of that game. Multiple controllers would lose their life largely due to the wear-and-tear that they got from Mario Party.

image.png

Now, because of how prolific this series got I'm sure most of you are familiar with the game - but if you're not, there's a Long-Play available to watch on the N64 Archive if you're interested in getting an idea of the style of gameplay.

This was, to me at least, one of the first and only successful replications of a board-game style for a videogame - and we spent uncounted hours playing it (and Mario Party 2 and 3 eventually).

It was the perfect mix of competitive, cooperative, and lighthearted fun. Sitting around drinking soda and eating chips and pizza while playing Mario Party will forever hold a warm place in my memory.

There were many games like this that @lacking and I (and his brother/my sister) would play together. We marathoned through Parasite Eve in a weekend of next-to-no-sleep gaming. We played hours and hours of Phatasy Star Online on a borrowed GameCube. We got our asses beat trying to get through the first level of Ecco the Dolphin. For years, the four of us gamed regularly.

Eventually, life catches up to us all though, and at some point nearing my graduation our 4-person gaming weekends / weeks would end up stopping. His brother was busy with his friends, and my sister was busy with hers. Lacking and I, however, never lost our passion for gaming - and despite his jacked up internet in the frozen north and my busy life with a toddler (and a second baby on the way!), we still find time now and then to game together.

When I sat down to write this, I wasn't going to end it here - but I think, if I'm being honest - this is probably where it should end. Because my best memories, and my most frequent memories, are those of gaming with my best friend and cousin @lacking, and if I'm lucky - we'll still be gaming together 30 years from now when we're both old and retired.

Happy gaming, friends. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

This is a really nice story! For some of us, we really have to 'grow up' from video games because they occupied so much of our younger days. We can still play today but it's so different to a time when we can play without any worries. I hope you still get to play with your cousin when your both older! Cheers!

Never Grow Up.

When you grow up your heart dies. :P

Eventually your kid/s will grow up and our gaming circle will resume! :D AND WE DON'T HAVE TO STOP TO DO THE DISHES! THEY DO! XD

hahahah! Exactly man!

Congratulations @oblivioncubed! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Congratulations @oblivioncubed! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!