Mount & Blade II: Bannerlord - Episode 10

Time Warp!

Everyone loves a time jump in their media, right?! I meant to do this series as an end-to-end recorded adventure but of course, my computer had different ideas and I realized after hours of grinding that I'd produced a blank video! Whoops!

As a result, we return to our Bannerlord playthrough as a level 15 character with a larger army, slightly better gear, and about double the Denars we had. A lot of unrecorded battles contributed to this.

image.png

We start with a Tournament to get things going and win a rockin' helmet that is quite the upgrade compared to prior headgear. It weighs a bit more, but is also 10 points better defence and if we ever need to sell it, it's a cool 15,000 Denars in our pocket. Not bad for a single tournament win.

image.png
image.png

Seriously, I know I say this almost every time: do the tournaments. They're extremely lucrative. High-level smithing will get to be better, but for early and mid-game, or if you don't go down the Smithing tree... it's some of the easiest money you'll make.

One thing we completed off-camera was the quest to find out more about Neretzes' Banner. We managed to talk to the ten lords, each providing their side of the story of the battle and we're at another decision point. Because I've done this before, I know that at this point we're going to be faced with three choices: Go it alone, Side Against the Empire, or Side With the Empire. First though, we need to talk to two former spymasters, and complete the re-assembly of the Banner... and finally in fact become The Bannerlord.

image.png

The Southern Empire which we're signed on with as mercenaries still are currently at war with the Aserai (and getting wrecked) so rather than following up on the quests, we're going to devote some time to harrying our attackers and pitching in however we can.

0 prisoners on our side and 12 prisoners on theirs is not good for us, despite everything else being relatively equal. Men may hold the field, but it's lords who build the armies, and even if there's 2 in every army, that's still 6 full armies indisposed right now.

image.png

First up we take out some enemy mercs:

image.pngimage.png

Pretty good result from the battle in my opinion. One dead and one wounded for me... 39 dead and 19 wounded for them. That's 58 folks who won't be joining the Aserai forces today!

image.png

As a bonus, all this battling also has meant an upgrade to our Leadership levels! Normally I'd pick Authority and grab that sweet +5 party size, but today I'm feeling wild and we're going to go with Heroic Leader instead. Morale penalty is decent, but the real winner here is +1 loyalty per day with owned settlements. We're thinking of the long game here! At some point we're either going to siege a place ourselves or we're going to become a vassal and be given something... and either way, loyalty is going to be an important metric.

image.png

The Aserai are sieging a castle of ours, but since the numbers vastly favour the Aserai, we ignore that problem and instead focus on clearing out a couple of bandit parties before heading into town to sell the garbage we collect from them and take on another tournament.

image.png
Back to back kills, he's on fire!
image.png
Johan gives it his best but... In the end it's down to Nogand and I:
image.png
Nogand, by the way, has an honestly surprising pool of HP right now. Dude face-tanks multiple head shots before going down.
image.png

The new helm isn't great, but hey... It looks cool. Sadly it's not better than what anyone in my part is wearing, so we opt to sell it for the minor 1000 Denars it brings in. It lets us buy a few horses and thus upgrade some of the folks that were waiting on War Mounts to tier up further.

image.png

With all of that housekeeping out of the way, it's time to re-join the campaign and sign on to Serandon's army for some Aserai ass-kicking.

Of course... it does make me a bit nervous when a party that's 140 units weaker than us starts chasing us down.

image.png
image.png

This feels oddly familiar. But hey, we're in the army now, boys! What the hell else are we going to do but try to take down as many of them as we can before we get dropped? It feels like I say that a lot right now, and it's because I do. Like I said in the last post... this isn't the last time I'm going to party wipe.

image.png
image.png

But goddamn it, I'm taking as many heads as I can with me!

image.png

Thanks, Serandon. I'm sure now is a fantastic time to form a defensive line. It's definitely not too little too late. But hey, don't worry, I'll carry us to victory with some horse punching!

image.png

Well, punching horses did not seem to work. Shame.

image.png

We leave today on a familiar note - defeat. It seems like every time we join an army, we're getting our lights punched out and having to rebuild. Something tells me these folks I'm throwing in with aren't exactly the best and brightest commanders out there. But hey, it's all part of the game, right? Try, try again.

image.png

Until next time friends, happy gaming!

Check out the video! The link is below.

image.png

image.png

image.png
Join the Worldbuilding Community!

Sort:  

vaya hace tiempo no veia ese juego recuerdo lo jugaba en la escuela sin internet muy adictivo el juego me parecio

Omg dude, 15k denar for a helmet? Last time I played this game I sold my armors from that tournaments for only 3k. I guess it's changed. I guess you should play more careful and strategic or you will lose again and again hahaha.

:P NEVER RETREAT! I could save some few denars by retreating when necessary but like... what's the fun in that???

No, what I mean is that you never go to war. Leave the army and slowly go to check if there is a tournament in the next city hahaha.

OHHH! hahah yeah, that'd work for sure. War is a fun time, but for purely building character kits and getting Denar... tournaments are the way to go. Leaving my kingdom and avoiding merc work or becoming a vassal would let me purely go from tournament to tournament without much fear. There are some items that go for like 30,000 Denar. I got a horse once that was like 32k immediately! Couldn't believe my luck lol!

You'r definitely so lucky dude. I've never seen things like that. As I said I mostly sold my items for 3k 😂